KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Relativity

Engaged Employer

Relativity

Add a Review

Relativity Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Oct 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 371 reviews

3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Relativity CEO Mike Gamson
Mike Gamson
4 Ratings

What people are saying about Relativity

Join the conversation on

Big Law

1m

an 

Associate

Q about billing for the bowl: do y’all bill for back and forths with the relativity folks, for example, or for back and forths with outside legal services folks? Currently lead associate handling logistics on transcription services and it’s like herding cats. Technically what I’m doing isn’t “law related” but the services provided are helping our case. Same question but for overseeing our paralegal. Do you bill for managing them and making sure they stay on top of their work?

50

20 Comments

Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Relativity and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    A good company with amazing people

    Mar 2, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart coworkers and willing to help Leadership are very transparent Good work life balance Management care about your well being and listen to feedback

    Cons

    Need better processes and tools to fast the speed of innovation As company grows bigger, bureaucracy in working environment are increasing Tech debts and Legacy technology are causing the pains

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Regret Working Here

    Oct 28, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Health insurance - Unlimited time off (Depending on your manager) - Your voice is powerful regardless of job title - if you want to do something and can prove its value with data, you can probably make it a reality - excellent work life balance

    Cons

    - They do not promote based on merit alone. It is mostly a "wait your turn" process. There is a well-thought out system to provide regular feedback on your performance. However, your performance assessment alone won't get you a promotion due to HR's hard limit on how many promotions can happen per cycle. If you believe working hard and delivering huge monetary value should be rewarded, Relativity is not the place for you. - Relativity will not compensate you appropriately unless you fight tooth-and-nail for it. I presented market data showing my team is underpaid and brought it up weekly for several months. It was only until I said I'm interviewing that my comp was adjusted. I don't think any of my teammates' comp was adjusted. This is emotionally draining and cultivates resentment -- not things you want to be dealing with daily. - On-call shifts are disorganized and frequent. (one week per month for a year for me). No extra pay for on-call.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Relativity Response

    Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thank you for sharing your feedback around your experience at Relativity. It’s our commitment to take care of our teams, so I appreciate your thoughts on how you feel employees are valued. Work-life balance is important to Relativity and we want to ensure that all employees, no matter their role, can take personal time off to recharge. In addition to unlimited time off, we also sponsor two weeks of company shut down – so that employees really can decompress and take the time they need. We never want employees to feel underappreciated or feel that our talent processes create confusion or misalignment. Our roles are consistently benchmarked against our market competitors to ensure our total rewards package is competitive, including base salary, bonus, benefits, generous paid time off, and a long-term incentive program for all Relativians to share in our financial performance. Our competency assessment process was designed to create a transparent view into the capabilities expected of our employee’s roles. When done correctly, this provides managers and team members with a foundation to discuss current-state performance in relation to discipline expectations and future-state career goals. I’m disappointed to hear about your experience and we’ll continue to work with managers to ensure we prioritize competitive rewards and a positive work experience. Should you like to share additional feedback about your experience with me directly, I’d be happy to have a conversation. – Beth Clutterbuck, CHRO at Relativity

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great learning opportunity

    Oct 18, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will learn a lot at this company as they are willing to use and try various technologies in order to effectively move their whole offering to cloud. Also people are approachable and friendly. Leadership team is stellar and has great vision.

    Cons

    Pay is not great (comparing to tech giants) and start date is not flexible.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    3% 401k match which is kind of low in Tech Industry

    Apr 19, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO, 10 sick days and one week off in July & one week off in December

    Cons

    They do 401k match but only 3% which is kinda low in Tech Industry

    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Fantastic People and Culture

    Oct 1, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    + Company has a great inclusive culture. Political immoral competitions are rare if any. + Leadership is transparent about the company's progress, goals, and overall vision. + Relativity's response to COVID was perfect, prioritizing health and well-being of employees. + There is a lot of room for career growth and management supports it. Learning opportunities are almost always provided and supported.

    Cons

    - Depending on the team, the work/life balance could potentially be an issue.

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Make or Break Time

    Nov 24, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Good devs still around * Still a market leader * Opportunity to transform an entire cloud platform * Acknowledgement of need to change, culturally and technically

    Cons

    * Tech culture lacks accountability (features at all cost) * Significant and regular incidents * Senior technical roles continue to leave * Excellence is talked about but not demonstrated

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Some good, some bad

    Jan 11, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Community outreach and internal communication set high bars for other companies.

    Cons

    Aggressively mediocre programmers. Promotion structure seems to be intentionally stagnant.

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Typical software company

    May 11, 2014 - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - You can cash in your vacation time, up to 1 week. - Health benefits are fully paid. - Work with the latest and greatest technologies.

    Cons

    - Not many internal folks are promoted. They keep hiring managers from outside. - If you don't know someone, they don't say hi to you. They keep looking at the floor until you pass by. Some say hi, but most don't. - Only 18 days of vacation and sick time. Even if you're a veteran, everyone starts off with 3 weeks off. - No work life balance. Have a kid? Going to school? Have activities planned for the evening? Then don't work here. - You can work from home on some days for emergencies only, but it's hard to get. You're pressured to come in anyways, even when there's dangerous road conditions (snow, flooding, etc) where you live. The managers don't care. -Bonus structure is changing. For the last 3 years, it used to be 5 weeks pay, paid in December, but now they're pushing it out to Jan/Feb. If the company hits 90% revenue, you get 50% of your bonus (10% salary is still the target). If company gets 91%, you get 55%, 92% gets you 60%, etc. If company makes over 100% revenue target, then you get a 1% match. - Next year's bonus will be 50% company revenue target and 50% goal targets. - Some of the engineering managers are useless. All they do is stop by and gossip, complete waste of my time.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best job I've ever had

    Jul 15, 2016 - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bullet points for the TL;DR crowd: * Very competitive pay * Excellent benefits * Exceptional culture; casual dress (like shorts, t-shirts and flip-flops in the summer) every day, a cafeteria with several old-school video games, a ping-pong table and a fooseball table, free fresh fruit, vitamin water, SoBe and soda, once a month there's an all-hands meeting followed by company-sponsored SERIOUS partying... * The people. The people are the substance of the culture, and they're amazing. I've always felt like "the rockstar" almost everywhere I've worked. Here, I feel average at best... and it's AWESOME. Everyone is great at what they do, and not just willing but eager to help each other out. Everyone is HIGHLY dedicated. No slackers allowed, though; you'll be expected to be all these things as well. * The product. It's best-in-class, and challenging as hell to work on... which is a *good* thing, if you consider yourself to be a top-notch IT person. * Guiding principles * VERY feedback-driven; they seek out feedback in every possible way, and make very real changes based on it * Leadership... the CEO of this company is truly inspirational, while at the same time remaining completely accessible and "real". * Rapid growth... the arrow is pointed straight up, here. Now, a bit of backstory for those that are interested... I've worked in IT for 25 years. Granted, a lot of that was contracting, so I wasn't getting the "permanent feel" for the places I worked at... but at the same time, I got an up-close look at what it was like to be an employee, and nobody ever seemed particularly happy with their jobs. No big deal for me, I'd just move on to the next contract. But contracting got old, and I wanted to find a permanent home to grow with. I tried several permanent positions, and I started to wonder if maybe just being happy with doing what I do had to be enough; that I couldn't hope for more than one (maybe two) of good salary, good people to work with, challenging, interesting work with cutting-edge technologies, good benefits, good leadership, and good company direction. I wasn't even job-hunting at the time, I was trying to force myself to stick it out with my current permanent position because I didn't want to be a "job-hopper" any more. I answered the phone on accident, because my policy is to let all numbers I don't know go to voicemail. I was convinced to at least look into kCura on the web, and watch some of the videos the have on YouTube. After that, I was hooked. It was the first interview I'd been on in years where I truly cared about the outcome... and it was also the first interview I actually *enjoyed*. I could tell they cared more about how I thought and problem-solved and what *I* was looking for in a job than if I knew obscure syntactical specifics (that I could look up in a heartbeat with F1 or Google) or "where I saw myself in 10 years". I instantly liked everyone I interviewed with. Getting a job here is literally the best thing that's happened to me, professionally speaking. This is where I originally started bullet-pointing, but I moved it to the top. Bottom line: I look forward to coming to work every day. Even when the work occasionally gets overwhelming, or drags during regression testing... the worst day here is about as good as the best day at most of my other jobs, because of the people I work with.

    Cons

    TL;DR: * Fast pace * Rapid growth * Work/life balance Those three things are all very closely inter-related, of course... and also, they're only cons if they're things you don't like. I happen to like a fast pace, and the challenges associated with rapid growth. Occasionally, the stress can get high and the hours long. However, I think that, for whatever reason, this is to some degree inescapable and inherent to software development, especially when the software in question is the company's lifeblood and thousands of customers depend upon it. But the bottom line here is, if you're an intractable 9-to-5-er and balk at having to work extra-hard from time to time, this is not the place for you. And yes, rapid growth is a pro, but it has some con side effects. If you've not dealt with rapid growth before, it can be disorienting. Policies and procedures have to change (and not in small ways) on occasion to accommodate the different phases of corporate maturation and employee headcount. However, I will say that they are being VERY pro-active and forward thinking by hiring new C-level and upper management that has already been through the exact phases that are in front of us. You have to like an exciting, fast pace, you have to want to constantly learn (and learn a LOT, mostly about the product itself and its codebase), and you have to be willing to step up and put in some extra work at times. You have to be comfortable with feeling overwhelmed for about a solid year. This is simply not a company for the timid or unmotivated. It's still a bit too small for a variance of opportunity at the mid-career level; the possibility of moving from being hands-on to a more managerial track seems limited and ill-defined. If I cared much about that, it's the one thing that would tempt me to move. But I'm in this for the long haul; the long-term vision at kCura overshadows everything else, for me.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Could be great

    Apr 30, 2013 - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1) Company values are at the forefront (not just corporate bs) 2) Some very talented people 3) Learning environment if you're motivated 4) Environment is agile in everything (from process to software)

    Cons

    1) Too many people in roles they are ill suited for and will never be removed from 2) Very little accountability

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

Popular Careers with Relativity Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Relativity? Share Your Experiences

or