KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Relativity

Engaged Employer

Relativity

Add a Review

Relativity Software Engineering Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 372 reviews

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Relativity CEO Mike Gamson
Mike Gamson
4 Ratings

What people are saying about Relativity

Join the conversation on

Big Law

1m

an 

Associate

Q about billing for the bowl: do y’all bill for back and forths with the relativity folks, for example, or for back and forths with outside legal services folks? Currently lead associate handling logistics on transcription services and it’s like herding cats. Technically what I’m doing isn’t “law related” but the services provided are helping our case. Same question but for overseeing our paralegal. Do you bill for managing them and making sure they stay on top of their work?

50

20 Comments

Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Relativity and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best first month ever

    Jan 19, 2022 - Software Engineering Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The onboarding is very well designed and everyone is always willing to help you. The culture is amazing, values and mission are always present in every meeting with the leadership team.

    Cons

    Sometimes you can feel overwhelmed about all the information you need to understand.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good place to build up skills, but not to stay

    Dec 19, 2021 - Engineering Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work-life balance is mostly healthy, but on-call is not pleasant. It's worse than any other company I've been at. They throw teams at every problem and hold you on the call even if you are not impacted or related. The office is fun, and has okay perks. The coffee is good and you sometimes get free food. The technology stack is mostly useful, although the Microsoft stack isn't used much at FAANG. So your skills that transfer will mostly be in sys design.

    Cons

    You will quickly notice how everyone is a slave to their roadmap that is set every year. Teams will openly refuse to unblock your roadmap items that need their support, and will go back on any support they promised to provide. It's unreal and something I do not face at my current company. No one wants to do the right thing for the company, only what's good for them. Relativity promotes people based on things other than performance. Directors and higher give their friends from outside of work the key projects, then use the fact that they led key projects to promote them within a year of their last promotion. They do not offer refresh grants. Your initial grant is what you get and unless you're a favorite of your manager and get promoted that's all you see. They change the rules for certain people. When I onboarded we had a 5 year vesting period. When a certain C level executive was hired she refused that and set it at a 4 year for her and anyone after. What that meant is that people that started within a year before her were fully vested after her, and she did not care.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Software Engineering Intern

    Sep 22, 2021 - Software Engineering Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Culture * Projects - often pushed to production, I saw mine in production * Mentors and Managers * Networks

    Cons

    Fast-paced culture - can be a good or bad thing

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Intern

    Excellent internship experience

    Apr 28, 2021 - Software Engineering 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Structured mentoring during the internship helped keep me on track. There were also great development sessions with access to executive leadership.

    Cons

    Some mentors were more helpful than others

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Great Learning Environment for Interns

    Nov 20, 2020 - Software Engineering Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Everyone eager to help out even outside of my team - Friendly co-workers and managers

    Cons

    - Steep learning curve, onboarding was not sufficient

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Intern

    Best internship experience I could have asked for

    Sep 16, 2020 - Software Engineering Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work, mentorship, and resources in general. They cared about how we were handling the internship experience and communicated very clearly what we could do better

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Company

    Aug 19, 2020 - Software Engineering Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good team environment, great internship experience

    Cons

    I was remote over the summer, wish I was in the office. However, this was only due to the pandemic, so I can't really complain

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Not perfect, but likely as close as you can get

    Mar 31, 2020 - Software Engineering Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Awesome people - Collaborative environment - A ton of opportunity

    Cons

    - Growing rapidly, difficulty in maintaining core values

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent give back culture, experiencing growing pains.

    Mar 27, 2020 - Engineering Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'm given autonomy in my role

    Cons

    Still very much a command and control culture

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    one of the BEST companies to work for

    Dec 31, 2019 - Engineering Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    smart humble people hard working super smart management unlimited vacation modern office healthy competition among the team

    Cons

    the mandatory certification is a tedious and stressful process but worth it considering all other company's benefits

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

Popular Careers with Relativity Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Relativity? Share Your Experiences

or