KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Relativity

Engaged Employer

Relativity

Add a Review

Relativity Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 358 reviews

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Relativity CEO Mike Gamson
Mike Gamson
103 Ratings
Pros
  • "The people at kCura are incredible(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great people: I've yet to meet someone who isn't willing to help(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Depending on the team, the work/life balance could potentially be an issue(in 22 reviews)

  • "There’s an odd cultural divide between those who have been at the company since the Kcura days and the folks hired within the past 2 years(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Relativity

    Join the conversation on

    Big Law

    1m

    an 

    Associate

    Anything that can be automated should be automated. AI software and services can perform between 70-90% of what most corporate junior/mid level associates do (and do it faster and more accurately) and over 80% of what anyone doing large-scale e-discovery does. DocuSign Kroll Relativity

    48

    13 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Relativity and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A Growing Career in a Fast-Growing Company

      Jan 13, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great people - most are very smart and talented in their areas of expertise and I learn a lot every day -We have challenging work that keeps us busy, both to provide a good experience for employees and a good product experience for customers -I have been very pleased with how the leadership team has handled the pandemic - great transparency and communication -I really appreciate the flexibility and am looking forward to continued choice about how I'd like to work in the future -I still see opportunities for career growth here

      Cons

      -Sometimes the compensation increases feel a bit late compared to responsibilities and performance

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Stay away if you are a woman, minority, or want to get paid well

      Nov 9, 2020 - Business Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The one thing that makes this place worthwhile is that there are some great people who work at Relativity - christmas break and summer break

      Cons

      Where to begin with Cons? - IF YOU ARE A WOMAN OR POC, go somewhere else. Relativity will only hire you to meet their diversity requirements and have you pose for their photoshoots, but if you have a voice and want to provide feedback to management or on projects, pack your bags because you will get fired for stepping out of line. Relativity will tell you that your managers will want your perspective and want you to speak up, but the moment you do, and pose some sort of challenge to the boy's club that is Relativity, you no longer serve your purpose. If you want to just smile pretty in pictures and help them look like a diverse "Talent First" organization, then this is the place for you! I, however, would never recommend this company to a woman or a POC. - Working at Relativity is like being in a toxic relationship. It starts off good and you think you're lucky, and then they start treating you like trash and gaslighting you, and then you end up on anxiety medications and strictly talking to your therapists about work because it DRAINS your mental health. This is not only from personal experience, but also from stories others have shared with me, as we all became a support system to each other and shared horrific interactions we had with HR and our managers. Those people have since left Relativity and have shared what a relief getting out of there was, I completely agree, as I can't describe the feeling of weight being lifted off my shoulders on my last day knowing I was getting out of here. Especially in times like these, you do not need to work at a company who so clearly disregards your mental health. - The HR department at Relativity is THE WORST. The whole department is rotten. Few even reach out to the senior leaders in the department for help and there is no assistance on any level. I know many people who reached out with concerns and were told that maybe they should just leave the company. Why don't you consider for a second that people bringing you concerns may be right? They love to say that employees are "fungible" and they will absolutely treat you that way. If you think about challenging any leadership or management in any way, rather than looking into the issues and replacing bad managers, Relativity will kick you out and offer you a pretty penny to keep quiet about your experience. - There is some TERRIBLE management. Some departments are hiring outside of Relativity and those managers are doing great, but others were simply engineers or other random roles and were promoted to director or manager without any experience or qualifications, simply because they know the CEO or someone in leadership. They hook their friends up and don't care about how unqualified leaders who are NOT AT ALL people developers will affect the rest of the company. - Wages are not good compared to industry standards. There is something people joke about known as the "Relativity Promotion" which means that you leave to another company and then use that as leverage to go back to Relativity and ask for more money. That is the best way to get a raise or a promotion. Save yourself the time and go to another company who actually wants you to grow and succeed there.

      Continue reading
      24 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Headed in the right direction

      Dec 18, 2013 -  in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * The place is chock full of intelligent, passionate people who care about doing a good job. * Great environment for motivated problem-solvers: if you see something that wants fixing, you can take a shot at fixing it. There's no punishment for good ideas that don't pan out, which supports initiative and innovation. * The company is growing very quickly. The CEO is cognizant that a larger company requires different strategies and is actively trying to figure out what changes are needed. * Excellent advancement opportunities for early-career developers and analysts. Product Development on-boarding is extensive and positions new employees for success. * I'm a female manager and don't feel my gender has been any detriment (or advantage) to my success here. I haven't experienced the "Old Boys' Club" as described by other posters, so it may be department-specific. * The pay scale, training opportunities, retirement benefits, and PTO are on the high end. * Seriously, GREAT PEOPLE. The vast majority are smart, cool, upbeat, optimistic, friendly, and engaging.

      Cons

      * There are a few individuals who are not well suited for their current positions and cause disproportionate issues and frustration. * Development direction and priorities change frequently and often without insight into the reasoning behind the change. * Teams are often expected to start development work on major projects before high-level planning is complete or the product vision is clearly defined.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Apr 17, 2019 - Engineering Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High energy, great product, great people, bright future

      Cons

      We work very long hours

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      A great place to work, fun, and challenging

      Feb 17, 2014 - Software Development in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, great pay, good work environment, great benefits. The products have incredible potential to help make the world a better place. I think some of the bad reviews are unfounded, as a lot of new employees are straight out of college, and have no reference for comparison. Believe me, I have worked at some horrible places in the past, and this isn't one of them.

      Cons

      Things sometimes change at the drop of a hat. Sometimes the environment is not necessarily geared toward employees who are married, or commute a long distance, but that has gotten better. They need a longer term vision for the product than just the current release. If developers knew what the plans are for the product from 6 to 24 months out, it would help them plan and design accordingly, and possibly make future development faster. Also, with so many young developers, you need more time for testing, as sometimes a lot of bugs get introduced.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Depends on your manager

      Oct 29, 2015 - Product Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, culture, and benefits. Truly is a great company to work for, and with a promising future for those who stick it out.

      Cons

      Very Darwinian culture. If they don't think you "fit in," you can't do anything to change their opinion, even when its demonstrably untrue. They say they want your honest feedback but, trust me, they don't. To be successful you must drink the Kool-aid and not allow any negativity to come to the surface, even when your managers attack you and degrade you in front of the team.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Intern

      Internship Program

      Aug 7, 2017 - Human Resources Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My first corporate internship exceeded my expectations here at kCura. Entering this internship as an HR employer branding intern I wasn't exactly sure if this was what I was wanting to do with my career. I now have experience in various areas of business including HR, PR, Communications, Employer Branding, and Campus Recruitment. I got the chance to collaborate with managers outside of HR that matched my areas of interest including Marketing Communications and PR Managers. This internship helped me find my strengths and what I actually want to do after I graduate. I am SO glad I got the opportunity to intern at a company that has so many cool rooms, free food/drinks, and GREAT people.

      Cons

      There weren't many cons at an internship downtown Chicago in the summertime. The only thing I wish I could have done would be to work from home a few times during my internship.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing Culture, Talent and People!!

      Dec 15, 2017 - Technical Product Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Let's be honest. I'm sure you have been with many companies that had some really great people, but the managers, directors and various coworkers disrespect one another, get defensive, try to make you look bad by making themselves look good, and would never admit when they screwed-up. After the year I have been with Relativity, I have not experienced nor witnessed any fowl behavior. Everyone is super nice, willing to help you and extremely smart individuals!

      Cons

      There are no cons that I could think of other then they feed you way too much here! Free unlimited fruits, juices, coffee and a refrigerator (store-size) filled with premium soft drinks in every corner kitchen and lunch room. Not to mention, after every All-Hands-On meetings, they cater from companies to provide you with free lunches.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent Technically Based Company

      Dec 8, 2017 - Software Engineering Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, great people. Some of the technology we are working are on the cutting edge in the SaaS industry. Managers are big on self-organization, autonomy, and aligning goals to support that.

      Cons

      The company is expanding fast and we are starting to experience some of the growing pains of executing at scale. This usually means communication is getting harder, and you have to learn to compensate.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Fast growing company with some growing pains

      Jun 7, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Nice office perks (free food, good office layout, water/drinks, etc) -Great people to work with -Fast paced, interesting work -Decent yearly training budget -Good insight into the direction of the company

      Cons

      -Cramped space in the office -Poor model for annual reviews that ties directly to bonus -Undefined office roles often leads to confusion -The fast company growth has left a lot of people in management positions without much experience

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Relativity Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Relativity? Share Your Experiences

    or