KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Relativity

Engaged Employer

Relativity

Add a Review

Relativity Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 of over 359 reviews

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Relativity CEO Mike Gamson
Mike Gamson
104 Ratings
Pros
  • "I really enjoyed my time working at Relativity(in 34 reviews)

  • "Great work-life balance as well with plenty of PTO that is encouraged(in 23 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "of Relativity can mean that people receive information too late or with insufficient detail(in 31 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is not a priority of the company’s(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Relativity

    Join the conversation on

    Big Law

    1m

    an 

    Associate

    Anything that can be automated should be automated. AI software and services can perform between 70-90% of what most corporate junior/mid level associates do (and do it faster and more accurately) and over 80% of what anyone doing large-scale e-discovery does. DocuSign Kroll Relativity

    48

    13 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Relativity and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Sep 3, 2021 - Software Engineer Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - care about diversity and inclusion - incredible work life balance, don't have to worry about missing work for appointments or vacation - nice people

      Cons

      - didn't get to work on a large project (ticket work insted, small defects) - compensation isn't comparable to a lot of similarly sized/valued tech companies. still not bad though.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Regret Working Here

      Oct 28, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Health insurance - Unlimited time off (Depending on your manager) - Your voice is powerful regardless of job title - if you want to do something and can prove its value with data, you can probably make it a reality - excellent work life balance

      Cons

      - They do not promote based on merit alone. It is mostly a "wait your turn" process. There is a well-thought out system to provide regular feedback on your performance. However, your performance assessment alone won't get you a promotion due to HR's hard limit on how many promotions can happen per cycle. If you believe working hard and delivering huge monetary value should be rewarded, Relativity is not the place for you. - Relativity will not compensate you appropriately unless you fight tooth-and-nail for it. I presented market data showing my team is underpaid and brought it up weekly for several months. It was only until I said I'm interviewing that my comp was adjusted. I don't think any of my teammates' comp was adjusted. This is emotionally draining and cultivates resentment -- not things you want to be dealing with daily. - On-call shifts are disorganized and frequent. (one week per month for a year for me). No extra pay for on-call.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Relativity Response

      Chief Human Resources Officer

      Thank you for sharing your feedback around your experience at Relativity. It’s our commitment to take care of our teams, so I appreciate your thoughts on how you feel employees are valued. Work-life balance is important to Relativity and we want to ensure that all employees, no matter their role, can take personal time off to recharge. In addition to unlimited time off, we also sponsor two weeks of company shut down – so that employees really can decompress and take the time they need. We never want employees to feel underappreciated or feel that our talent processes create confusion or misalignment. Our roles are consistently benchmarked against our market competitors to ensure our total rewards package is competitive, including base salary, bonus, benefits, generous paid time off, and a long-term incentive program for all Relativians to share in our financial performance. Our competency assessment process was designed to create a transparent view into the capabilities expected of our employee’s roles. When done correctly, this provides managers and team members with a foundation to discuss current-state performance in relation to discipline expectations and future-state career goals. I’m disappointed to hear about your experience and we’ll continue to work with managers to ensure we prioritize competitive rewards and a positive work experience. Should you like to share additional feedback about your experience with me directly, I’d be happy to have a conversation. – Beth Clutterbuck, CHRO at Relativity

    3. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Relativity Software Engineer Intern Review

      Sep 14, 2021 - Software Engineer Intern in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helpful team members and good work life balance

      Cons

      team was often busy and not a lot of time to get help

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      A good company with amazing people

      Mar 2, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart coworkers and willing to help Leadership are very transparent Good work life balance Management care about your well being and listen to feedback

      Cons

      Need better processes and tools to fast the speed of innovation As company grows bigger, bureaucracy in working environment are increasing Tech debts and Legacy technology are causing the pains

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Underwhelming

      Jun 17, 2021 - SWE 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good coworkers. Good work life balance. Dominates its niche.

      Cons

      Underwhelming pay. Tries to be big Tech but doesn't pay like big tech. Will never get the cream of the cream in terms of talent and even if they do, won't be able to retain them.

      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Truly Cares about Career Development

      Jan 25, 2021 - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      From the executive leadership down to my immediate manager, I have been extremely impressed with how much emphasis there is on personal growth for myself. As a newcomer, I was also pleasantly surprised with how supportive my teammates were with getting me up to speed and how encouraging they were. The company is also quite transparent with developments in the company that you may not directly work on, which is quite refreshing. Great work-life balance as well with plenty of PTO that is encouraged.

      Cons

      It's a quickly growing company, and there are some growing pains.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Top down “start up” trying to figure it out still.

      Nov 8, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits. Good transition to WFH during Covid. Transparent executives.

      Cons

      Engineers are overworked - everything’s a priority, work life balance is encouraged, and heroes are rewarded for extra work/sacrifice. All of those are in conflict with each other and leads to a really uncertain, overworked environment. There’s an odd cultural divide between those who have been at the company since the Kcura days and the folks hired within the past 2 years. Not a lot of organization or thought around the working relationship between US and Poland.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Relativity Response

      Chief Human Resources Officer

      Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at Relativity. We do our best to ensure that employees have solid work-life balance from offering workshops and resources to help with stress management as well as our generous time-off policy. All employees are encouraged to take advantage of our unlimited DTO policy to help improve their work-life balance. We recently launched our Global Wellness Initiative to ensure our employees have resources to manage their physical, emotional, financial and social well-being. If employees are struggling to take time off, I recommend they speak with their managers, HR Business Partners or myself to ensure they can take the time they need to reset and refresh. Job architecture is a multi-stage journey and in 2020, we laid our foundation with manager and individual career tracks and our levelling approach. Our next iteration adds a layer that clarifies expectations for each role to aid in more robust career planning. Additionally, regularly receiving direct feedback from our employees is critical so we can focus on the areas that are the most important to them, iterate as necessary and cultivate an environment in which they can succeed and grow their careers. I appreciate your suggestion for more 360° feedback and we’ll keep that in mind as we continue to improve upon our employee review process. Thank you again for your feedback and suggestions. – Beth Clutterbuck, CHRO

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good people, hi stress environment

      Jun 16, 2021 - Senior Security Engineer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are very friendly, company values team work.

      Cons

      Work life balance is not a priority of the company’s.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Fantastic People and Culture

      Oct 1, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      + Company has a great inclusive culture. Political immoral competitions are rare if any. + Leadership is transparent about the company's progress, goals, and overall vision. + Relativity's response to COVID was perfect, prioritizing health and well-being of employees. + There is a lot of room for career growth and management supports it. Learning opportunities are almost always provided and supported.

      Cons

      - Depending on the team, the work/life balance could potentially be an issue.

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Over 4 years here and looking forward to more!

      Dec 23, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A few great things: Work/life balance - we have a new time off policy and two annual company shut downs that allow you to recharge - plus flexibility to work from home occasionally depending on your team. Professional Development - I have attended several conferences and gotten two certifications with our annual training budget - this has allowed me to continue to grow my career at the company and has helped with opportunities for advancement. The people - I have never worked with so many smart and talented people - everyone is feedback-driven and willing to help one another, yet we also hold each other accountable and have a high standard. The future of the company - I am very optimistic about the future of the company and where we are going which keeps me engaged and excited about the work we are doing!

      Cons

      We are growing quickly so there are some of the usual growing pains of team structure, process efficiency, etc. but it is to be expected with the stage we are at. The company tries to collect feedback and make improvements which I appreciate.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 44 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Relativity Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Relativity? Share Your Experiences

    or