KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Relevant Media Group

Is this your company?

Relevant Media Group

Add a Review

Relevant Media Group Reviews

Updated Jan 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 10 reviews

1.6
0%
Recommend to a Friend

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on

Advertising

4m

works at 

Publicis Health

I recently received an offer from iProspect (part of Dentsu) I’ve heard ups and downs about this company. I currently work for a great company and not sure if I should leave. The new opportunity pays a lot more than I currently make. Does anyone have any advice about this company and whether I should take the job or not?

24

18 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
    There are no pros to display at this time.
Cons
  • "If you believe these Glass Door reviews aren’t for you and you won’t be affected by the CEO because your job won’t be overseen by the CEO, think again.(in 4 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Digital Development Director

    Feb 20, 2016 - Digital Development Director in Casselberry, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Freedom to develop solutions how you would like (if you're a developer). Opportunity to get paid to learn new skills on the job, and then use them in future projects.

    Cons

    The CEO can be erratic, sometimes irrational (especially with female employees) and is very stubborn about everything. He is very controlling, and everything must go through him. Often times in the Design department, things are held up because he doesn't provide approval on assets in a timely fashion. He takes long breaks, and often doesn't show up for work. This is disruptive to company fluidity.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Intern

    Okay

    Jan 6, 2021 - Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good pay and great atmosphere for those needing something fast

    Cons

    bad management and was threatened to be fired

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Intern

    This place is a scam

    Oct 2, 2020 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The building is cool and old, parking garage.

    Cons

    Only half a day of training and you're immediately on calls, in bad part of town, super sketchy company, having to cold call people, they basically tell you to be rude or pushy with their product to pressure the customer into accepting, the product is trash, they have fake reviews on their Yelp from a manager, and other employees. You do not want to work here no matter how much you need a job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Know what you're getting into

    Dec 27, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You feel like you're making an impact on the broader Christian community. Access to tastemakers and influencers in this niche market. Great team members who can become lifelong friends.

    Cons

    The pros come at a great, great cost. The mission of the org gets lost in an insanely toxic environment. Employees leave jaded and cynical after emotional abuse from the top. Favoritism is a thing. Lots of fresh grads are hired to keep costs low and they don't know to expect more from their work environment. Friendships are born out of this "in the trenches together" environment. Growth prospects are limited because of severe micromanagement and toxic leadership styles.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Terrible place to work for.

    Apr 6, 2019 - Sales Representative in Ogden, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Schedule. Music. Coffee. Downtown location.

    Cons

    The company is a joke. You have to find your own sources and leads to call, looking through google or your own Facebook page. The base pay wasn’t enough for the struggle of the job. Was hired with no idea that they did a internship for the first 5 days. I quit my position at a different company thinking I was going to have the “training and coaching” that’s advertised to become a great employee to make the “high” salary amount they promote. There was 0 coaching or training. The “manager” talked to you for about 20 minutes, had you listen to 4 calls and threw you on the phone. Was let go after 3 days of putting effort of calling my own sources and leads. Wasn’t worth my time! Now I’m stuck looking for a job after quitting a good job for a job that advertises something completely different than they offer!

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    RUN!

    Jun 23, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The office is nice looking and most of the staff is friendly. You may get to work with some folks who are Christian famous, which can be cool if you're into that kind of thing.

    Cons

    Work culture is the most toxic I've ever worked in. I've never been in a place where people were so unhappy all the time. Turnover is crazy high because of it, and it mostly stems from the fact that the CEO has no respect for employees and isn't accountable to anyone. He loses his temper and insults employees and basically behaves like a spoiled kid. The leadership seems to know this but doesn't seem to care, because there's like an endless supply of young college kids that love the brand and think it's like at Christian Google. Do yourself a favor and run away from this place.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Toxic environment, poor treatment of staff. Don’t judge a magazine by its cover.

    May 17, 2018 - Head of Video Department in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you work here it will unveil the dark side of the Christian profit machine, which is interesting to see at least. God is still good.

    Cons

    Don’t take this review with a grain of salt; I read these reviews before taking the job and chalked it up to unhappy millennials being whiny. I have a wife and three children and have run my own successful business for nine years and took this position thinking I could contribute to the message of Christ in the world, putting my own business on hold. Was I ever in for a rude awakening, and you will be, too, if you feel you are joining forces with any type of ministry. If you believe these Glass Door reviews aren’t for you and you won’t be affected by the CEO because your job won’t be overseen by the CEO, think again. His hands are on everything. This applies to all employee positions. Use caution in an extreme way: I was lied to in my interview about my job responsibilities, salary, and the cost of living in Orlando. I was naive and trusted the CEO because I respected him and what I have seen of RELEVANT from the outside. Unfortunately - The pay offered by RELEVANT doesn’t adequately cover the cost of living locally for the position I took, but I was told it would be more than enough for my family. Having moved countries to live here, I trusted the advice I received. This was a rough start. New hires are coming from out of state or country (like our family) because RELEVANT has built a bad reputation in Orlando. This - and the very high rate of turnover - should have told me something from the start but I ignored it. I met so many locals who couldn’t believe we relocated from so far for this job. Red flags. The CEO has some very worrying behaviors I would strongly suggest avoiding: he brings half-baked ideas that he isn’t sure how to make happen, but expects everyone around him to make things come together, without allocating resources for it. As a result, employees are frustrated. He will have a new “most important thing” every day and re-prioritizing happens daily, so nothing gets done - but then he is upset that nothing ever gets done. He speaks to you as though you are stupid. I can attest that the employees at RELEVANT are not stupid - it is absolutely unhealthy. He will take ideas, change them a bit, take credit for it and make that employee feel stupid for their original idea. It is completely bizarre. I have seen him make people cry multiple times - men and women. Many people who work here are “yes” people the moment the CEO walks in the room - they will literally not stop nodding while he speaks - it is crazy to see so many people living in fear of their boss, and speaking badly about him the moment he walks out of the room. It is so unhealthy. I can’t emphasize that enough. I’m not sure where to pop this in, but in a meeting, the CEO referred to Generation X as “idiots” because they think they can change the world. Personally, I think Generation X can change the world. I think THEY are relevant. Isn’t this the whole point of the magazine? Not behind the scenes, it isn’t. Most troublesome: There is a gross misuse of funds received from RELEVANT partners and if a partner ever reads this I strongly recommend that they ask some hard questions about how their partner dollars are truly being used. I would advise asking hard questions about how large the RELEVANT reach really is. Ask for evidence. Don’t get sold with glossy words and sales tactics. The truth: The subscriber base has dropped by 40% but the advertising cost is the same, and I’m not convinced this drop in readership and listeners has been adequately shared with the partners and sponsors. I believe it has been over-exaggerated beyond what it used to be. I’m not familiar with legal implications but at the very least this is unethical. I know as a fact that contractual obligations are not being fulfilled on the part of RELEVANT. I brought all of my concerns to the CEO directly - this isn’t me posting maliciously. He didn’t want to address the concerns himself and demoted me and put someone else as my oversight as his solution to the issues I raised. I’m not sure he is used to people speaking out and didn’t seem to know how to handle it. He knows I feel this way, though, and he will know who I am if he ever reads this. I wish him well, but dang, I hope this behavior and greed runs out of road.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Head of Production

    Jun 11, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Other than profit participation, not many pros here. I also met and worked with some really cool people with whom I'm still friends today.

    Cons

    Disorganized, unprofessional, delusional, poor work environment. The owners had no knowledge of production processes, nor did they have any business acumen.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Toxicity through and through

    Sep 22, 2019 - Freelancer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Connecting with Christian community

    Cons

    Demanding and erratic CEO, constantly moving goal posts, erratic pay schedule, overstepping of boundaries. Ultimately left feeling so drained and disappointed I considered quitting my industry all together.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    UGH

    Sep 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great friendships made with the staff

    Cons

    The CEO is a nightmare

    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Relevant Media Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Relevant Media Group? Share Your Experiences

or

Relevant Media Group Photos

+ Add Photo
Relevant Media Group photo of: RELEVANT

Have you worked here?

See All Photos