Relief International Reviews | Glassdoor

Relief International Reviews

Updated 31 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Nancy Wilson
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Relief International

    Pros

    Small neat community, most people are friendly and helpful. Good place to be and gain experience in international development right after college.

    Cons

    No opporunities for growth within the company, very low pay and benefits

    Advice to Management

    Pay higher wages and create more opportunities for younger talent

    Relief International2015-11-11
  2. "A great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Relief International

    Pros

    Mission driven with transparant and positive culture. Great people to work with. Very reasonable benefits and time can be flexible. Pay is good. Opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    Some Country leaders do bad program management and some creat tension between field and head office. Some systems need to improve.

    Advice to Management

    You don't have to do everything yourself. That is NOT what management is. You have great staff.

    Relief International2015-08-27
  3. "great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Relief International

    Pros

    - small office so you can gain a lot of experience - flexible - interaction with a lot of other staff members - friendly and comfortable

    Cons

    - workers are usually not in the office due to traveling so not much in-person interaction

    Relief International2015-04-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to grow and break into the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Relief International full-time

    Pros

    RI is a great place to break into the humanitarian sector, you learn a ton and it prepares you well for your future career. They hire a lot from within especially with interns. The staff are kind, hard-working, and dedicated. With the new CEO, there is tons of potential and a bright future for the years ahead.

    Cons

    Staff need more opportunities to travel to the field to see the programs first hand.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the great momentum going!

    Relief International2015-02-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Growing, tons of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Officer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Relief International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    RI spent 2013 and early 2014 doing some soul searching, with a very inclusive process soliciting information from all staff worldwide, which culminated in both the strategic plan and an excellent new CEO. They were always open to innovative ideas, they trust their employees and they hire good people. Their SMT is excellent and there is a concerted, whole organization supported push for program quality and learning.

    Cons

    Because of the competitive landscape of humanitarian response - funding is difficult. RI has to work twice as hard to win opportunities for funding to provide essential humanitarian services around the world. They need an infusion of cash from a private donor to start funding emergency response.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the good momentum that the new CEO brings, I hope you can raise enough money to smooth out your program cycles and to support business development. I wish RI all the best.

    Relief International2014-12-07
  6. "Fantastic Environment for Professional Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Relief International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees are encouraging, friendly, and helpful. Open door policy, someone always available to answer questions. Long history of hiring and promoting from within; many of the higher ups started as either interns or volunteers. Great organizational culture and mission makes the work fulfilling. New CEO brought on board this year, I see only a brighter future for RI.

    Cons

    Very little opportunity for US based staff to travel to field offices.

    Relief International2014-12-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "fulfilling place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Relief International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    All the people are dedicated, and work hard towards the same missions of the organization. I have been working with the organization for over 4yrs and have seen its ups and downs. With new management in place, there is a bright future for the employees at Relief International. Everyone always willing to hear new ideas and implement new changes for the better of employees.

    Cons

    more exposure to field offices for staff based in LA and DC

    Relief International2014-11-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Very humbling and fulfilling to work for an organization with a great mission!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Relief International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Organization has a wonderful mission. It is nice to know and see what contributions they are making all over the world. Very nice colleagues that are kind and team oriented Good worklife balance. Management does not micromanage/ no bureaucracy Creativity and innovation are encouraged

    Cons

    Wish people at HQ travelled to the field to see what the projects are like in the field

    Advice to Management

    With the new CEO in charge, things are heading in the right direction. Mgt keeps staff involved along the way.

    Relief International2014-11-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Friendly staff, open communication, and rewarding experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Intern in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Relief International for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment, and awesome staff.

    Cons

    Sometimes there's not much to do.

    Relief International2014-06-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great intern learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Relief International for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Supervisor was always willing to answer any questions and give me more work if I requested it. Also, extremely flexible in letting me choose my own hours.

    Cons

    For the few months I was at RI there seemed to be extremely high turnover. There was a party just about every week for someone who was leaving.

    Relief International2014-03-29
Found 67 reviews