Remington Arms Reviews | Glassdoor

Remington Arms Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 114 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Anthony Acitelli
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people to work with most of the time(in 8 reviews)

  • "Job Security/Good Benefits/Opportunity for advancement(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "The conversations between upper management and their employees could have been improved quite a bit(in 7 reviews)

  • "Back stabbing HR Department, unqualified HR employees, no work life balance(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Remington Arms full-time

    Pros

    Good Environment, Lots of Overtime, 40 Hours

    Cons

    Parts Quota, Machines are repaired after they break and not preemptively.

    Remington Arms2018-11-18
  2. "remington arms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machinne Operator in Lonoke, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Remington Arms full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great pay, decent overtime, and off for holidays

    Cons

    use seniority for EVERYTHING!! quality is poor and management tell you at the last minute.

    Advice to Management

    tell the truth and hire specialist instead trying to do everything in human resource.

    Remington Arms2019-07-31
  3. "great place to work but has some issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Supervisor in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Remington Arms full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Pay scale clean working environment

    Cons

    upper management mandatory days off that are not holidays

    Remington Arms2019-07-16
  4. "Could be great with mngmt improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Remington Arms full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people on the teams

    Cons

    Financial instability, 3 layoffs in 3 months

    Advice to Management

    Complete Market Analysis studies to better gear your equipment to what customers currently desire

    Remington Arms2019-07-18
  5. "Furlough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNC Machinist in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Remington Arms full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Able to make gun components to help support the military and law enforcement.

    Cons

    Furloughed for 2 months from June to August. Moral is at an all time low. Does not replace employees who quit/laid off/fired, instead workload is put onto employees that are still working. Overworked and underappreciated. Does not listen to employees who might have ideas to improve processes.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure to hire management who are willing to work to improve the company and not bankrupt it. Make quality products and not just ensure that numbers are met for the day.

    Remington Arms2019-06-13
  6. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Remington Arms full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good management, HR, Leadership is honest

    Cons

    Promotions rare, small raises, financially troubled

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused on making profitable guns

    Remington Arms2019-05-02
  7. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Specialist in Lonoke, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Remington Arms full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    decent pay for an easy job when they have the tools/parts for the job, aren't micromanaging, or aren't going through a Furlough.

    Cons

    Constant furloughs, lack of parts, don't listen to workers or make improvements, when there isn't furloughs its 12 hours a day 7 days a week basically, just overall terrible management and just as bad HR, expect your pay to be wrong constantly, and then HR to attempt to blame you, your boss, and then the computer system before admitting it was them, but trying to play it off as not a mess up somehow.

    Advice to Management

    Actually communicate with employees and make an attempt to do improvements, actually have set standards on what is whose job and follow them instead of it just falling on whatever employee is willing to be suckered in to doing someone else's job. Stop punishing employees for the failures of management.

    Remington Arms2019-05-23
  8. "Quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Remington Arms for less than a year

    Pros

    Good comrades, good work pace.

    Cons

    Full time promised after 90 days, not met.

    Advice to Management

    We are people who care about our work.

    Remington Arms2019-04-18
  9. "Good money and lots of overtime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNC Machine Operator in Ilion, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Remington Arms full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good money and lots of overtime, a majority of the supervisors and managers were fair

    Cons

    mandatory overtime ( some of my coworkers didn't like it)...I personally didn't mind it as I rarely refused ANY overtime

    Remington Arms2019-01-31
  10. "100% Disconnect Between Executive Level and Factory Floors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Remington Arms full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Paid time off, company match 401k, medical/vision/dental -Getting to work with a product I am passionate about -Lack of structure can allow one to set their own path, this can be a pro and a con

    Cons

    -Zero company culture or leadership coming from executive management -Although we all work for Remington each factory/executive office feels like it is worlds apart. Each plant has its own set of standards and way of running the day to day operations with almost no consistency between each location. -I listed lack of structure as a pro due to my ability to set my own path, but then again if an employee chooses to exist...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Literally, rewrite your management style that ends in a strong culture that trickles from the top down -Get your executive managers out of the "headquarters" which happens to be located where none of the factories exist and get them on the factory floors where they can SEE day to day operations for their OWN eyes. DO NOT rely on monthly operations reviews to base your opinions off of. Anyone with any decent management/leadership...

    Show More
    Remington Arms2019-02-03
Found 114 reviews