Remington Hotels Reviews | Glassdoor

Remington Hotels Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
72%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Remington Hotels President and CEO Sloan Dean
Sloan Dean
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management lives in an Ivory Tower and only pretends to listen to the concerns of the team(in 11 reviews)

  • "Almost never saw anyone from corporate office(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Exceeds expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Remington Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very progressive organization, great work culture, emphasis on work life balance, solid training and on boarding, highly engaged and approachable executive leadership team. Great growth and pipeline.

    Cons

    None that I have experienced

    Continue reading
    Remington Hotels2020-02-06
  2. "Fabulous Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Remington Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This company is great, In my many years working in the hospitality business, I have never come across a company who has it together like Remington does. CEO and COO are fantastic leaders and invest the time to make the company great. Their leadership should be carbon copied. They treat all levels of associates and management very well and like family. You fell truly like part of a family

    Cons

    None that I have come across nor do I expect to

    Continue reading
    Remington Hotels2020-02-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Remington Hotels full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very competitive driver driven company to work for. Great bonus plan if you achieve your drivers.

    Cons

    Insurance plans are not the best.

    Remington Hotels2020-02-10
  4. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Remington Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been at Remington for about 3 months and have learned so much. They are a great company to work for. Everyone is really nice and helpful. I have received amazing training from my boss and I couldn’t have asked for a better opportunity. Management is great. This industry is changing but you can tell that Remington is willing to make changes that improve the company. You can tell how much the CEO cares about the company, and I really appreciate that as an employee. If you are thinking about applying here, I would recommend it. They have great health benefits and a fantastic wellness program. We even have a gym at the corporate office. I have really enjoyed my job over the last few months, and I am very thankful I get to learn from all the experienced professionals at Remington.

    Cons

    Some of the technology could use some improvement but its a very minor problem that I know we are working on solving.

    Continue reading
    Remington Hotels2020-02-13

    Remington Hotels Response

    February 17, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! This is exactly the type of experience we want all of our associates to have. We strive to truly foster an environment where our associates feel supported and encouraged, so that they may thrive in every way possible. We are so glad you feel at home here at Remington and look forward to providing you with even more opportunities to grow.

    Continue reading
  5. "Worst Professional Experience So Far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Remington Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Hours, Competitive Pay, Different-Ever-Day Atmosphere, Learned a lot about how much stress I could handle. Good Bonus Structure for Sales.

    Cons

    Upper Management lives in an Ivory Tower and only pretends to listen to the concerns of the team. Your hotel will literally be understaffed the ENTIRE time you work there. The company teaches greed, arrogance, & dishonesty as it's core values. Your working environment will never be cohesive and turnover is crazy high - even for the Hospo industry. Also, the bonuses will be good but if you make it to the Sales Awards Trip, don't expect them to shell out more they have to. In fact, don't expect them to shell out more than they absolutely have to for ANYTHING - professional development, staffing, temporary labor, building maintenance, etc. Only one thing matters to Remington and that is profit. No matter the human cost. I could go on about ignoring harassment complaints, upper management's craft way of expecting you to have THE solution in mind when you come to them with a problem, and many others but I won't. I'm sure one or two properties int he portfolio are better than the experience I had...but think twice before you work here.

    Continue reading
    Remington Hotels2020-02-07

    Remington Hotels Response

    February 11, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. However, we are sad to hear that you were dissatisfied with certain areas of the company. We try to be transparent about how the company works, and help managers respond to employees’ concerns and thoughts as they come up. In addition to being tenacious, profitable, engaging and innovative, being ethical is one of our guiding principles; and we rely on the integrity of our associates to report any unethical behavior, especially as it concerns those in leadership positions. We have many avenues to report and share information: local and regional leaders, HR leaders as well as an Ethicspoint hotline (www.ashford.ethicspoint.com ). Given the opportunity, we would like to hear additional details about your experience so that we can turn this around. You can email feedback@remingtonhotels.com, and we will get back to you as soon as possible. Reports can also be made anonymously at the aforementioned website and it will be promptly investigated.

    Continue reading
  6. "Best Company to work for in the Hospitality Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Remington Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best hospitality company to work for. Very dynamic leadership and culture, with many options for career advancement. They also provide great benefits, and hotel discounts !

    Cons

    Not enough time to visit all of their hotels!

    Remington Hotels2020-01-22
  7. "Exciting Company with Emerging Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DVP of Sales & Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Remington Hotels full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice balance of results oriented accountability with employee engagement and recognition. Actively promotes personal growth with opportunities at all levels of hotel and corporate office. New programs in place to support associates wanting to learn and grow within the company.

    Cons

    Some growth pains but progress is made daily

    Remington Hotels2020-01-21
  8. "Almost 3 years and looking forward to many more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Remington Hotels full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to move up due to ongoing growth, very financially stable company, great above property personnel to work with for support

    Cons

    It's the Hotel/Hospitality Industry, yet we strive for Managers to have a good work-life balance.

    Continue reading
    Remington Hotels2020-01-17
  9. "Bad takeover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Santa Fe, NM
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Remington Hotels

    Pros

    I cannot think of any.

    Cons

    They took over a hotel in New Mexico, They fired 20 people the first day, they did not honor anyone’s tenure(people that worked there for 20 years started over as if it were their first day), they waited a month and then rolled out mandatory arbitration agreements(yes, every Remington employee MUST sign an MAA) and the corporate transition team made the controller work 36 hours straight, without sleep, the first month end close because the corporate team “did not want to look bad”. The corporate team don’t listen and don’t think as they are scared of the CEO and the ridiculous, outdated operations review and it’s “inspectors”.

    Continue reading
    Remington Hotels2020-02-12

    Remington Hotels Response

    February 17, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry that your experience is not what you expected. Changes in management occur regularly in the industry and transitions can be challenging. That said, we work hard to retain as many associates and managers as possible that align with our company positions and honor tenure for all those retained. The transition partnered with a month-end close is definitely tough and it isn't uncommon to have to work extra hard during that time, but we never expect anyone to work more than the average number of hours for those occasions. We always encourage open communication when challenges arise so that we can help prioritize during the times when so much is happening at once. And while the timing of the new arbitration agreements may have felt calculated, rest assured they were not. These agreements are common practice across all industries and were issued company-wide. Again, we encourage discussion and open communication to resolve differences and overcome challenges. If you feel that more was not done to resolve any of your concerns or that anything unethical took place, we hope you contact our Eithcspoint hotline at www.ashford.ethicspoint.com so that it may be further investigated.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work! Growing and Changing for the Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Remington Hotels full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great properties, engaged employees, solid compensation and benefits package and leaders that care.

    Cons

    None worth noting at this time.

    Continue reading
    Remington Hotels2019-12-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 299 reviews