Rend Lake College Reviews | Glassdoor

Rend Lake College Reviews

Updated May 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Specialist 

    I have been working at Rend Lake College full-time

    Pros

    Great work culture, co workers, benefits

    Cons

    Office politics play a large role

    Rend Lake College2019-05-08
  2. "Adjunct Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rend Lake College part-time

    Pros

    The pay is very competitive with other colleges in the industry. Everyone that I have had to work and interact with has been extremely helpful and easy to work with. I thoroughly enjoy my current position and play to continue to work with the college.

    Cons

    I have not encountered any Cons yet.

    Rend Lake College2018-05-16
  3. "Records Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ina, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rend Lake College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very nice perks around the Christmas holidays of paid time off

    Cons

    The pay is not very good but it is a Community College...

    Advice to Management

    Increased internal communication

    Rend Lake College2017-11-21
  4. "Rend Lake College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Rend Lake College part-time

    Pros

    Great place to work.

    Cons

    There are no issues

    Rend Lake College2017-11-14
  5. "Typical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at Rend Lake College

    Pros

    Part-time faculty pay is similar to other colleges in the area. Full-timers rave about how great RLC is to work for. I don't see it.

    Cons

    As part-time instructor, I have no input into the curriculum, no investment in the college, and no support to improve my skills. There are too many of us being employed to cut the budget. This can negatively impact the bottom line and, more importantly, students' experiences.

    Advice to Management

    Get off the part-time faculty merry-go-round. Hire and cultivate full-time faculty who can support students the way they need to be. Be aware of local events that can impact the safety of students' commutes.

    Rend Lake College2017-08-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Ina, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Rend Lake College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to design and teach courses the way I choose. A great place to work if you are a "yes-man" and are comfortable kowtowing to the upper administration and their lackeys.

    Cons

    Horrible administration. Little to no communication between upper administration and deans or faculty. Administration refuses to consider creative solutions to problems. Run by an oligarchy of unqualified administrators. Great organizations are obsessed with finding and retaining good people and under-performing organizations drive them out because they fear someone better than them. This is certainly the case at... RLC where good faculty are let go to save a relative pittance of salary at the detriment to students and the entire college.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean house and start over. Listen to your faculty and deans. Support your faculty and put the students and the quality of education that you provide above your pension plans. Don't fear change and hire qualified people. When you value loyalty over talent, you're doomed to fail.

    Rend Lake College2017-02-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Associate Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Rend Lake College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Enjoyed working with students. Flexible schedule. Great co-workers

    Cons

    Ran by a monarchy. Very patronizing leadership. Expect employees to do more with less. No positive feedback only negative.

    Advice to Management

    Replace Curent administration

    Rend Lake College2017-01-18
  8. "RLC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Rend Lake College

    Pros

    I love the work, I have great coworkers, and usually pretty great students. Most of us have pretty flexible schedules.

    Cons

    Part Time instructors are treated very unfairly. You make a lot less than your coworkers with the same qualifications, and there is ZERO job security. It'/ like that at most community colleges, though.

    Advice to Management

    I think most of the problems come down to budget and there is little management could do. But something should be done to make part-time employees feel more valued.

    Rend Lake College2016-11-17
  9. "Part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Former Employee in Benton, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Rend Lake College for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great atmosphere and work ethic; everyone is always working diligently and effeciently

    Cons

    this is the best place ever, they really look out for all their employees and treat them like gold

    Advice to Management

    dont change a thing, no outside influencers to disrupt the well oiled machine

    Rend Lake College2016-06-20
  10. "Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rend Lake College

    Pros

    They give you the opportunity and the ability to have the flexibility to run your program professionally and have great academic support system.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, they do not give the same scholarship packages as the other schools within the conference, which causes an unfair advantage against us in the sports arena.

    Advice to Management

    Would love to see athletic housing and food get provided within the scholarship packages to level the playing field and enhance our ability to play on the national stage.

    Rend Lake College2015-06-09
Found 10 reviews