Renfro Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

Renfro Corporation Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Renfro Corporation CEO Warren Nichols (no image)
Warren Nichols
6 Ratings
  1. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Renfro Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Positive culture of openness, great company that sells great brands, family atmosphere, flexible and allowing of work home balance

    Cons

    Company can be slower to react to change

    Renfro Corporation2017-10-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid Renfro, downsizing is coming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales in Mount Airy, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Renfro Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits. Relaxed Dress Code.

    Cons

    Dysfunctional Upper Management that has no control over process and time management. Closing of facilities will be coming soon, the only warehouse will be in central Georgia. Beware of leaving your current job. Very Political, if you do not agree with decisions being made, they let good people go for voicing their opinions. Case in point, K.Bell division was one of our most profitable and well run divisions, yet some very talented people are no longer with company due to them being threats to those in Mt.Airy, NC.

    Continue reading
    Renfro Corporation2019-06-18
  3. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Renfro Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people, for the most part, were friendly. Pretty chill work environment. Good location

    Cons

    Some departments were hard to work with

    Renfro Corporation2019-06-04
  4. "A very unstable workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mount Airy, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Renfro Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is very relaxed in its dress code, and very open to employee management of time. Indoor walking track and gym are very nice.

    Cons

    The company has been in a constant evolution for 4-5 years. The VP's are constantly changing. As an employee, your job is never on stable ground. It's based on whether or not you fit into that VP's personal direction, not what you can contribute to the company. They hardly stay longer than a few years, then move on. The company overall tries to hire quality people, but then does not listen to them after they are hired. The company outsources jobs that can be done internally, instead of listening to how more could be achieved with less. Often this results in downsizing of the staff. Unstable. Additionally, benefits are twice as expensive as any other company in the area. Finally, there are almost no windows in the entire building. A very dark place to work! Ignore the promises they offer. Analyze the job and the work environment for what it is. It will not change. The warning signs were there when I interviewed, but I chose to ignore them. A decision I regret.

    Renfro Corporation2019-06-04
  5. "overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Specialist in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Renfro Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very stable company. Great place to work

    Cons

    no room for advancement. low salaries

    Renfro Corporation2018-11-07
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Company Currently Bleeding Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Renfro Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    4% 401k matching, annual bonus (usually around 4% of annual salary)

    Cons

    After January layoffs, many people are having to perform multiple job roles which oftentimes far exceed the title and therefore salary of the employee. The CEO told management that there would be no promotions or raises for employees filling in for higher level positions or taking on increased work loads. As a result many people have been handing in their two weeks notice. Why stick around when you’re doing three jobs and have been told upfront you won’t be getting a raise?

    Continue reading
    Renfro Corporation2018-05-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Marketing Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Assistant in Mount Airy, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Renfro Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a new CEO and I *think* he is going to make good changes. He started by sweeping through and doing necessary layoffs and hiring new faces.

    Cons

    The culture is very stuck in its old ways. There was so much gossip and negativity. Upper Management would form a clique and encourage negativity. There is not much room for growth within the company. The pay is also not great for comparative jobs nearby. If you are looking for a job just in Mount Airy, then it may be okay. Otherwise, I would encourage Winston. There also was terrible communication between departments.

    Continue reading
    Renfro Corporation2018-03-13
  8. Helpful (3)

    "SOCK SEWER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sewer in Pulaski, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Renfro Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I heard the Pulaski plant laid off and later heard they closed. Although, jobs were needed badly. No one deserves to work in that environment.

    Cons

    This happened in Pulaski, VA in the 90's. I was pregnant for most of the time I worked there. Had to quit due to high discrimination. They went through my work, the whole box practically one by one, forced me to then go through it again, while I was on production and had very good quality, yelling at me because I had a sick baby and had to leave, another time because my pipes flooded, while their favorites enjoyed getting paid to kiss up, play in the bathroom, take long breaks, given minutes to get their daily pay up to required production pay, while doing the best work, while they stole 5 dozen pairs of socks from other machines without doing the work, saying nothing to them for taking off holidays, while I was forced to work them. They also did this to a black female. We both worked hard, never receiving any downtime. We had very high production considering we had to go through a lot of boxes. Her quality was very good too. The company promoted butt kissers, but only the most attractive women. They were very mean. They also had to fire a supervisor before I started orking there becasue he forced women to have sex with him or they would not make their required production minutes. Another brave women reported the supervisor. He gave her very bad work, that is when she got any, having to ask for it again and again as we did. Luckily, upper management listened to this woman, and they caught the supervisor in a car with a sewer and fired him. That is when the company decided to put women over the sewers which were not nice, played favorites, and harassed others. Typical of factories. May God have mercy on their souls for putting decent women out of work.

    Continue reading
    Renfro Corporation2017-10-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Worst company ever known to man"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Renfro Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They only steal a little of your money from you

    Cons

    Don't ever buy product from these guys

    Continue reading
    Renfro Corporation2017-05-25
  10. "Good Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Renfro Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Renfro is a great place to learn and grow in the hoisery industry.

    Cons

    Restructuring occurs every 3-5 years.

    Renfro Corporation2017-04-19
Found 22 reviews