Rent A Wheel Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Rent A Wheel Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
65%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Rent A Wheel CO-CEOs John Bowlin & Don Sabino  (no image)
John Bowlin & Don Sabino
17 Ratings
  1. "Good Comp[any"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Process is easy, if we all follow it and apply the rules, there is no reason for failure

    Cons

    We can easy be distracted from the goal by many directives from different parts of the organization. our goal is to rent and collect

    Continue reading
    Rent A Wheel2020-01-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company if you work hard you will be rewarded. Excellent benefits and bonus plans for all employees. I really respect a company that judges you off of performance instead of tenure. A pro for me is, with this company your altitude for advancement with the company is based off of your work ethic and attitude so you have the power to determine your own success with this company based off of how hard you are willing work.

    Cons

    It’s no such thing as a perfect job. But with any job it’s what you make of it and the effort that you give. Every job can be stressful and u might not agree with every decision that will be made but at the end of the day this is a company that is built on culture and respect.

    Rent A Wheel2019-11-24
  3. "rent to own"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice schedule, pretty flexible, one late night if at all

    Cons

    pick ups are the worst thing to do

    Rent A Wheel2019-08-15
  4. "Horrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rent A Wheel full-time

    Pros

    Pay is decent if you come into management other than that pay is only good for someone living with their parents. If you get promoted from within however you will get lowballed. ASMs that get promoted to store manager don’t even get the minimum 40k which is the standard THEY put. No raises either. Please.

    Cons

    Where to even start. Company is all about money. There’s a few decent leaders in this company which i can’t even understand how they have lasted that long. They need to take their talents elsewhere. Unless that store is producing money, you’re a replaceable employee and if upper management decides they are on their feelings you will pay for it. They rehire people that are cancers to the store and the overall environment just because they are friends. There’s definitely favoritism. Those making big bucks are “untouchable” and can break the rules as they please. It’s a joke.

    Continue reading
    Rent A Wheel2019-08-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not Just A Job But Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company is hands down the best company I have ever worked for they care about the employees as people they give you the support you need to be successful. Its not like other companies where its all about making them money here they have open bonus plans so you can bonus as much as you want on top of your pay so its up to you how much you make. They don't give up on the people who truly want to have success here. You tell me how many jobs have you worked that the president will thank you for what you do and simply tell you HAPPY MOTHERS DAY

    Cons

    Long hours but what company don't have long hours... Short staffed once again what company isn't ?

    Continue reading
    Rent A Wheel2019-05-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Corpus Christi, TX

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This company is amazing, an growing as we speak, the Bonus is really well, not to mention they treat you like family here at Rentawheel.

    Cons

    There is really no downsides about the job you just gotta ask questions to understand the Job but the training will get you thru it all. Plus we have Tons of mentors that can help with your success

    Rent A Wheel2019-05-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Found a place to Retire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Harlingen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best bonus plan in the industry Employee driven company Career advancement opportunities friendly and motivating upper Managment team

    Cons

    Do not have any cons

    Continue reading
    Rent A Wheel2019-05-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay with an opportunity to Bonus monthly Corporate off ice that supports you upper management helps you to progress in your career Work in a friendly upbeat environment

    Cons

    Long hours, goes by very fast Health insurance is expensive

    Continue reading
    Rent A Wheel2019-05-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "UNCAPPED BONUESES & EXCELLENT PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in Baytown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    UNCAPPED BONUSES Matt Seaburn and Chris Woodmansee have been understanding over the past 8 years about time off due to my special needs daughter's emergencies. I never had to worry about still having my position when I needed to be at her bedside. Excellent business to work for.

    Cons

    Would love to work less Saturdays.

    Rent A Wheel2019-05-09
  10. "Two stars because its not minimum wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rent A Wheel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was above minimum wage.

    Cons

    However pay still below the bar of what it should be for all the work involved. I was basically the fulltime tire tech, while simultaneously being a manager, sales person and repo guy. I understand there is a responsibility to fill the gaps and help out. However, I did more than the store manager for 27k less a year. -Healthcare is unaffordable @ 875 for a family plan with a 5500 out of pocket max. -Management gives no power to the assistant manager -zero work life balance, I worked overtime almost every shift, open and closing -Racist incident with management, store manager and district manager.

    Continue reading
    Rent A Wheel2019-04-30

    Rent A Wheel Response

    May 6, 2019Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Rent A Wheel is proud to offer very competitive bonuses and rate of pay (we're glad you agree)! Additionally, in some stores, a bit of overtime is needed here and there - most employees like the extra pay. We are also proud to offer multiple insurance plans. You referenced one of our top-tier plans but we definitely have more affordable plans to choose (for Medical, Vision and/or Dental!) . Regarding a "racist incident" you experienced, racist behavior is absolutely NOT tolerated. We have a strong, responsive support team ready to assist any employee who has a concern about anything that occurs in their store. We consider diversity to be fundamental to our success at Rent A Wheel and value every employee. Again, we appreciate your feedback!

    Continue reading
Found 38 reviews