Rent A Wheel Reviews | Glassdoor

Rent A Wheel Reviews

Updated May 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
John Bowlin & Don Sabino
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "This company has good pay and benefits(in 7 reviews)

  • "Best bonus plan in the industry(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management Does not listens to employees(in 4 reviews)

  • "Stores are usually understaffed due to the high turnover (most people don't make it to the next year) and the new employees are not properly trained(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Not Just A Job But Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company is hands down the best company I have ever worked for they care about the employees as people they give you the support you need to be successful. Its not like other companies where its all about making them money here they have open bonus plans so you can bonus as much as you want on top of your pay so its up to you how much you make. They don't give up on the people who truly want to have success here....

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours but what company don't have long hours... Short staffed once again what company isn't ?

    Advice to Management

    If you are open to being told how to become better then you will make it with this company if your the type to find every reason on why your not able to do something then you will never make it here.

    Rent A Wheel2019-05-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Corpus Christi, TX

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This company is amazing, an growing as we speak, the Bonus is really well, not to mention they treat you like family here at Rentawheel.

    Cons

    There is really no downsides about the job you just gotta ask questions to understand the Job but the training will get you thru it all. Plus we have Tons of mentors that can help with your success

    Rent A Wheel2019-05-09
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Found a place to Retire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Harlingen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best bonus plan in the industry Employee driven company Career advancement opportunities friendly and motivating upper Managment team

    Cons

    Do not have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing!

    Rent A Wheel2019-05-09
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay with an opportunity to Bonus monthly Corporate off ice that supports you upper management helps you to progress in your career Work in a friendly upbeat environment

    Cons

    Long hours, goes by very fast Health insurance is expensive

    Advice to Management

    Create a field training department

    Rent A Wheel2019-05-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "UNCAPPED BONUESES & EXCELLENT PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in Baytown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    UNCAPPED BONUSES Matt Seaburn and Chris Woodmansee have been understanding over the past 8 years about time off due to my special needs daughter's emergencies. I never had to worry about still having my position when I needed to be at her bedside. Excellent business to work for.

    Cons

    Would love to work less Saturdays.

    Rent A Wheel2019-05-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Riverside, CA

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to learn, will work with you

    Cons

    didn't give me all the information on what my position dictated

    Rent A Wheel2019-05-04
  7. "Two stars because its not minimum wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rent A Wheel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was above minimum wage.

    Cons

    However pay still below the bar of what it should be for all the work involved. I was basically the fulltime tire tech, while simultaneously being a manager, sales person and repo guy. I understand there is a responsibility to fill the gaps and help out. However, I did more than the store manager for 27k less a year. -Healthcare is unaffordable @ 875 for a family plan with a 5500 out of pocket max. -Management gives...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Hire General Managers who actually lead the ship -affordable healthcare -Invest more in your employees and treat them like they are valued.

    Rent A Wheel2019-04-30

    Rent A Wheel Response

    May 6, 2019Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Rent A Wheel is proud to offer very competitive bonuses and rate of pay (we're glad you agree)! Additionally, in some stores, a bit of overtime is needed here and there - most employees like the extra pay. We are also proud to offer multiple insurance ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (2)

    "I absolutely love what I do. I started as a tire tech , now I'm the assistant manager. Great opportunity's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A company you can grow with and move up the ladder.

    Cons

    It's a 10am to 7pm

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good hiring!!!

    Rent A Wheel2019-03-05
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Company where hard work is appreciate it and reward it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    For someone that has worked here for 15 plus year and started as a manager in training when the company had few stores, I appreciate the support of my supervisors each step of the way.

    Cons

    Entrepreneur foundation of our company can sometimes feel to some as a burden since we are asked to "run it as we owned it". The company is performance oriented and the pressure is on to accomplish it.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support us and guide us

    Rent A Wheel2019-01-25
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Supportive Comapny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All the Rent A Wheel employees make me feel welcomed and supported. This is the job where your hard work is rewarded. The benefits are amazing and pay is good as well.

    Cons

    Learning curve. Coming from a different industry (different products) I had to refocus and learn the Rent a Wheel way!

    Rent A Wheel2019-01-22
Found 77 reviews