Rent A Wheel Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Rent A Wheel Store Manager Reviews

Updated May 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
50%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Rent A Wheel CO-CEOs John Bowlin & Don Sabino  (no image)
John Bowlin & Don Sabino
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Not Just A Job But Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company is hands down the best company I have ever worked for they care about the employees as people they give you the support you need to be successful. Its not like other companies where its all about making them money here they have open bonus plans so you can bonus as much as you want on top of your pay so its up to you how much you make. They don't give up on the people who truly want to have success here. You tell me how many jobs have you worked that the president will thank you for what you do and simply tell you HAPPY MOTHERS DAY

    Cons

    Long hours but what company don't have long hours... Short staffed once again what company isn't ?

    Continue reading
    Rent A Wheel2019-05-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Corpus Christi, TX

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This company is amazing, an growing as we speak, the Bonus is really well, not to mention they treat you like family here at Rentawheel.

    Cons

    There is really no downsides about the job you just gotta ask questions to understand the Job but the training will get you thru it all. Plus we have Tons of mentors that can help with your success

    Rent A Wheel2019-05-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "UNCAPPED BONUESES & EXCELLENT PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in Baytown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    UNCAPPED BONUSES Matt Seaburn and Chris Woodmansee have been understanding over the past 8 years about time off due to my special needs daughter's emergencies. I never had to worry about still having my position when I needed to be at her bedside. Excellent business to work for.

    Cons

    Would love to work less Saturdays.

    Rent A Wheel2019-05-09
  4. "Two stars because its not minimum wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rent A Wheel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was above minimum wage.

    Cons

    However pay still below the bar of what it should be for all the work involved. I was basically the fulltime tire tech, while simultaneously being a manager, sales person and repo guy. I understand there is a responsibility to fill the gaps and help out. However, I did more than the store manager for 27k less a year. -Healthcare is unaffordable @ 875 for a family plan with a 5500 out of pocket max. -Management gives no power to the assistant manager -zero work life balance, I worked overtime almost every shift, open and closing -Racist incident with management, store manager and district manager.

    Continue reading
    Rent A Wheel2019-04-30

    Rent A Wheel Response

    May 6, 2019Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Rent A Wheel is proud to offer very competitive bonuses and rate of pay (we're glad you agree)! Additionally, in some stores, a bit of overtime is needed here and there - most employees like the extra pay. We are also proud to offer multiple insurance plans. You referenced one of our top-tier plans but we definitely have more affordable plans to choose (for Medical, Vision and/or Dental!) . Regarding a "racist incident" you experienced, racist behavior is absolutely NOT tolerated. We have a strong, responsive support team ready to assist any employee who has a concern about anything that occurs in their store. We consider diversity to be fundamental to our success at Rent A Wheel and value every employee. Again, we appreciate your feedback!

    Continue reading
  5. "Stress filled micro management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Riverdale, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity lofty goals high energy required

    Cons

    Long on hours no life poorly developed bonus

    Continue reading
    Rent A Wheel2019-02-25
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Unlimited opportunity for every employee!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This job is truly what you make it. If you work hard there is unlimited opportunity for promotions and most importantly big bonuses.

    Cons

    Very fast paced work environment. Not the place for slackers. Stores need more staffing to better take care of the customers.

    Continue reading
    Rent A Wheel2018-04-08
  7. Helpful (4)

    "working hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am working harder than I ever have but it is worth it to me to have an opportunity to build a career. I came from a similar company but the opportunity was not there . I worked hard to go no where. I feel like this company will give me the opportunity and it makes working worth it. if they believe in my I will believe in them. I feel like my store is actually my store. I run it like its mine. I care about it.

    Cons

    The hours for a manager can be long. There are not guarantees.

    Continue reading
    Rent A Wheel2017-12-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Don't Work At Rent-A-Wheel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is no Pro's... horrible work environment!

    Cons

    Poor communication from the top down. The Human Resources Department is a joke! They are quick to dismiss a employee without fact finding and hire any warm body to work there. They rip customers off by adding accessories to their account without them knowing. That will add another $500.00 to the customers account. Employees get the so-called bonuses taken away because of all the skip accounts. The customers are total thieves and have no intent on paying for the wheels and tires. Customers will verbally and physically attack you and will even pull knives and guns on you! Don't waste your time at Rent-A-Wheel, they under pay for what they expect out of you. You can't live on $12.00 - $13.00 an hour and don't get me started on the broken promises and dangling carrot... all lies!

    Continue reading
    Rent A Wheel2017-12-07

    Rent A Wheel Response

    December 12, 2017Director, Human Resources

    We understand it is difficult for an employee when they are let go from a company. And while we appreciate feedback, we adamantly disagree on many points. Rent A Wheel's HR department continuously seeks the best interests of our company AND our employees because we understand the success of one depends on the success of the other. Our employees are our greatest asset; dismissal is usually the last resort when other approaches have not worked. Rent A Wheel has loyal customers and we try our best to give them the celebrity-like service they deserve. Of course customers sign agreements listing all items they are purchasing. We are not sure what you are referencing when you mention weapons. Lastly, so many reviews on this site conflict with your claim regarding rate of pay - our company is proud to offer competitive pay and a fantastic bonus program!

    Continue reading
  9. "Store manager/ District Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Fresno, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours of operation are 10-7, sundays closed, customers are great, great no credit check program, not Much to day to be honest

    Cons

    Low pay, no benefits, salary employees are expected to work minimum 60 hours or your viewed as you don't care about your business, poor training program, negative corporate influence, franchise owners do not know operations, but ascot like they are experts in the business, no organization, no structure, overall leadership is poor!

    Continue reading
    Rent A Wheel2017-09-27

    Rent A Wheel Response

    October 29, 2017Director, Human Resources

    THIS IS NOT A RENT A WHEEL EMPLOYEE. Rent A Wheel offers competitive pay and a great benefits package to 100% of our employees (please read the many reviews confirming this)! We are proud of our comprehensive training, impressive leadership team and supportive, responsive corporate office. About a dozen independently owned and operated franchise stores do exist; franchise stores are separate from the close to 120 Rent A Wheel/Rent A Tire stores throughout the country. Rent A Wheel cannot control what franchises offer their employees. We highly encourage franchise employees to review their franchise on a different Glassdoor page. There are a few accurate comments in this review though: Most employees really do like our hours of operation (especially being closed on Sundays), often say we have great customers and feel rent to own (RTO) is a fun and profitable industry – come grow (and have fun) with Rent A Wheel!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rent A Wheel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Unlimited bonus potential based on your desire and ability to run a profitable location.

    Cons

    You are paid on your ability to bring profitability. If you do not like to work and learn this company is not for you.

    Continue reading
    Rent A Wheel2016-09-01
Found 14 reviews