Republic Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Republic Services Reviews

Updated April 21, 2018
1,384 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

1,384 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work/life balance lacks at times (in 41 reviews)

  • Long hours are a standard for everyone (in 66 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    It's the truth working here.

    Cons

    Stuff happens, not all necessary good.

    Advice to Management

    More communication would be lovely!!!

    Republic Services Response

    Feb 27, 2018 – Area Recruiter

    Thank you for the feedback!


  2. Helpful (3)

    "You want to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I have always felt that I have had the resources to succeed and excel in my position. I feel this company really gets it, and creates a friendly, yet fulfilling work environment. I heavily recommend it.

    Cons

    It's a large company, and as such, big structural changes such as promotions have to occur by very specific HR-set timelines and with very rigid requirements which do not always correlate with the rigors of the position

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 17, 2018 – Sr Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback! We are glad that you like working for us!

  3. "Lead Heavy Equipment Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    Great company with a great view on employees and their safety.

    Cons

    I didn't find this job sooner.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 17, 2018 – Sr Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback! We take employee safety very seriously.


  4. "Amazng Supervisor Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    #BIGMONEY
    The supervisor training course the company provides is by far the greatest experience I’ve ever had.
     The instructor has both awesome skills and killer sideburns.

    Cons

    No coffee drinks available during training.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 17, 2018 – Sr Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed Supervisor training. We strive to create an environment where our supervisors have the tools and skills necessary to successfully lead their... More


  5. "Ego and Drama in the shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanic in Stillwater, OK
    Former Employee - Mechanic in Stillwater, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Insurance is good,tool allowance is phenomenal, pay is comparable to experience, immediate boot allowance

    Cons

    Shop space is limited, hours of operation ambiguous at best, with 15 vehicles in the fleet there’s no reason 4 mechanics on nights and 2 on days should be there 14 hours each.

    Advice to Management

    Always tell the truth about sign on bonus, hours of operation and if the night shift differential that republic doesn’t have that isn’t part of the hourly wage and is not on any check stub.


  6. "Great company with advancement opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager, Waste Removal and Recycling Specialist
    Current Employee - Territory Manager, Waste Removal and Recycling Specialist
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Ability to maintain and manage your own book of business. In charge of your own success! Manager is great and technology is superior to competitors.

    Cons

    Handling large amount of tasks and responsibilities

    Advice to Management

    Possibly hire more inside representatives to handle paperwork and smaller tasks, allowing Sales team to focus on customer relationships and new business.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 17, 2018 – Sr Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback. We are glad you enjoy working with us!


  7. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Evansville, IN
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fast pace always challenging

    Cons

    Always equipment issues not enough mechanics

    Advice to Management

    Update the fleet

    Republic Services Response

    Mar 28, 2018 – Sr Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback.

  8. "My Opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    Pays well, great people, good benefits, strong company, Safety focused. Good leaders. Profitable industry. relaxed environment. Customer focused. transparent business updates.

    Cons

    Operates like a small company, travel is relentless. Work/life balance lacks at times. Processes are lacking. Communication is poor. Need to update infrastructure. Stuck in a lot of old school ways.

    Advice to Management

    Need to focus on becoming more of a learning culture. Not a lot upward mobility in some areas. need better communication around changes.

    Republic Services Response

    Mar 28, 2018 – Sr Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We take your opinion seriously, and appreciate the comments.


  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Melrose Park, IL
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Melrose Park, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great company to work for! Awesome hours good benefits.

    Cons

    The point system for attendance.

    Advice to Management

    Greatest company ever!

    Republic Services Response

    Mar 28, 2018 – Sr Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback!


  10. Helpful (6)

    "Proceed with caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Interesting work, opportunities to move up due to turnover

    Cons

    Lots of turnover which can be a good thing when trying to move up in the company, bad thing if looking for a stable work life. Don't be fooled by the positive reviews written by HR, and avoid any position related to finance or accounting in corporate

    Republic Services Response

    Mar 28, 2018 – Sr Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback.


Showing 1,384 of 1,403 reviews
Reset Filters