Cover image for Republic Services
Logo
See All Photos

Republic Services

Engaged Employer

Republic Services

Add a Review

Republic Services Reviews

Updated May 30, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 2,780 of over 3K reviews
3.5
59% Recommend to a Friend
Republic Services CEO Jon Vander Ark
77% Approve of CEO

Found 2,779 of over 3K reviews

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Republic Services CEO Jon Vander Ark
Jon Vander Ark
357 Ratings

What people are saying about Republic Services

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Republic Services? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Republic Services employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

What are your colleagues talking about?

Find your private company bowl on Fishbowl, join the hottest conversation with your colleagues anonymously.
Join the Conversation

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Benefits are good and not a hard job(in 307 reviews)
  • "Good pay and you earn every red cent.(in 227 reviews)
  • "awesome place to work the people are great the company really cares about its workers whether your temp worker or not(in 154 reviews)
  • "Great employee's to work with and for.(in 53 reviews)
  • "Great opportunities if you work hard and want to move up.(in 30 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Republic Services and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Great place to work truly family oriented!!!!

    Jan 9, 2023 - Rolloff Driver in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good room for growth at republic!!!!

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Overview of the past year w/ Republic Services.

    May 30, 2023 - General Laborer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy schedule with hands on training.

    Cons

    Being hired on with this company takes poise.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Republic Services team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    I am 45, Republic was the worst co I worked for

    Apr 27, 2023 - Trash Truck Driver in Tyngsboro, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There was always plenty of work. Not too difficult to speak with upper management.

    Cons

    Treated awful! I worked for JRM for years. Republic bought them out. They cut our pay 38% but told us not to worry, the 1st year we will get bonuses (as long as we stay) that will keep us at the pay we were used to. I got the 1st bonus (few hundred dollars). Never got the others. I inquired and was told I was not eligle because I worked overtime. My overtime pay did not touch what I was used to making. I spoke w/upper management and was offered a lateral move to sales. (I wanted nothing to do w/that). I can't make my mortgage payments. There goes college for my daughter. Nothing but lies. And, we went from great (free) health insurance to expensive and awful insurance. Mail order pharmacy only. My daughter never got her meds on time. My wife was on the phone daily fighting them. HR did nothing to help. Barely enough staff to work. Running employees into the ground. Broken trucks. I was 5 years with JRM who turned into Republic for almost 1 year.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good place to work

    May 30, 2023 - Account Manager in Toledo, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The division I worked for had exceptional service so that made the job easier.

    Cons

    The pay range for my job title.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Growing constantly

    May 27, 2023 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Huge company, acquires multiple companies a year. Which means plenty of opportunities.

    Cons

    New leaders constantly, it is a big job to take on as many organizations as they do. There is push back all over the place. Departments do not work as well together as they should. No tuition reimbursement, benefits are ok (expensive) so much turnover.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Co

    May 21, 2023 - Division Sales Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are great and they care. Compensation and benefits were great. Training was good and regularly updated/distributed. It seemed to be a well run company, overall.

    Cons

    Typical waste company shortcomings made customer retention difficult: (1) Operational failures due to down trucks or low driver staff (2) Regular price increases often pulled forward in time to meet a short term revenue objective.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Operations

    May 28, 2023 - Operations Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very well ran company from all leaders

    Cons

    Non that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Employee First Company

    May 13, 2023 - Corporate Trainer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company truly cares about their people and will do whatever they can to help them succeed. I have yet to have a poor manager, they check in and ensure we have the opportunities to improve (as long as you take initiative and ask for development opportunities, nothing is handed to you).

    Cons

    Things change often. You need strong change management skills and be willing to take them head on.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    May 25, 2023 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits great 401k options

    Cons

    Low pay unorganized , hard to understand pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Employee

    I'd wholeheartedly recommend Republic Services but would not recommend working at the Southwest cite

    May 16, 2023 - Lead Heavy Equipment Operator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Core values, commitment to safety, benefits, all excellent

    Cons

    the southwest cite doesn't push, share or enforce the company's core values, thus, our parting ways after 19+ yrs

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,779 Reviews
</>Embed

Republic Services Reviews FAQs

Republic Services has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 2,848 reviews left anonymously by employees. 59% of employees would recommend working at Republic Services to a friend and 60% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Republic Services employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Republic Services. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

59% of Republic Services employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Republic Services 3.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.3 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Republic Services to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be work life balance, culture, management.

Popular Careers with Republic Services Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Republic Services? Share Your Experiences

Republic Services logo
or

Get Community Insights About Republic Services

Candid workplace conversations with real professionals.

Job Referrals!
165.5K

Job Referrals!

Best way to get your foot in the door with your favorite company! Plus employees won’t mind getting that referral money!

Interview Tips
162.5K

Interview Tips

Feel free to post any interview questions you might be asked and I’ll help you compose an effective response :)

Salary Negotiations
170.5K

Salary Negotiations

A community to ask questions and seek advice on negotiating your salary, compensation, etc.

Republic Services Careers

Cover image for Republic Services

Republic Services is a leader in Environmental Services, partnering with customers to create a more sustainable world. We are...More

  • Our Purpose
  • Community
  • Careers
  • College Programs
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Republic Services

603 days ago

Company News
Republic Services, Inc. (NYSE: RSG), a leader in the environmental services industry, today unveiled its Technical Institute, the industry's first-ever diesel technician training program. As the need for skilled workers continues to increase, this investment offers best-in-class training, fully compensating students during the 12-week program. Graduates will immediately begin full-time work, joining Republic's 35,000 employees at one of its 180 local business units. The state-of-the-art, 76,000 sq. ft. facility is located in Dallas.
Shared image - Republic Services Opens Industry's First Technical Institute
Republic Services Opens Industry's First Technical Institute
www.kwtx.com
See all

Republic Services Photos

+ Add Photo
Republic Services photo of: Driving through the neighborhood
Republic Services photo of: Employees
Republic Services photo of: Fun with our Drivers
Republic Services photo of: Who doesn't love our drivers
Republic Services photo of: Taking Care of our Customers
Republic Services photo of: Customer Photo
Republic Services photo of: Driver
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Republic Services Job Seekers Also Viewed

WM

3.6

3,403 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 2,848 Republic Services reviews submitted anonymously by Republic Services employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Republic Services is right for you.