Republic Services Reviews

Updated May 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Republic Services CEO Donald W. (Don) Slager
Donald W. (Don) Slager
1,018 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Nothing. It is a great company to work for.

    Republic Services2020-02-05

    Republic Services Response

    April 22, 2020Sr Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback! We are so happy you enjoy working with us!

  2. "Organizational Excellent!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispatcher in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A culture that welcome professional integrity.

    Cons

    I would have to say the culture is so uniformed that it hard to discovered CONs.

    Continue reading
    Republic Services2020-05-08
  3. "Pays well with room for growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    Fellow employees are nice and supportive of each other, I never encountered anyone otherwise. All my supervisors were supportive and really cared about us and our success in the company.

    Cons

    Some supervisors micro manage, others don't. Most people work best when not micro managed (thankfully none of my supervisors were micromanagers). Sometimes the metrics seemed impossible to meet.

    Republic Services2020-05-30
  4. "Overall Good"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior BI Developer in Phoenix, AZ

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    Good Work. Nice Team dynamics.

    Cons

    Less flexibility around work hours

    Republic Services2020-05-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Truly grateful to have been part of the Republic Services' work culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work culture and work life balance. The top leadership genuinely cares about the employees. They always seem to have the best intentions of the employees in their minds. The company is undergoing a digital transformation, and as such, has highly desirable projects to offer to the employees. The nature of the work is highly satisfying during most of the times.

    Cons

    Some technologies within the company might seem archaic, and therefore, if you end up working in it, it could become challenging to keep yourself motivated and continue to learn. The middle management could improve in people management.

    Continue reading
    Republic Services2020-05-06
  6. "Trash man"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Driver 

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    This place has great benefits

    Cons

    Somedays are long hours and you are picking up people's nasty trash

    Republic Services2020-05-24
  7. "Eh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Operations Dispatcher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    good people, fun environment, lots of ot money

    Cons

    bad management ran the company into the ground and eventually was bought out by a competitor.

    Continue reading
    Republic Services2020-05-20
  8. "Loved working there!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Workforce Management Analyst in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome company to work!! They are always showing appreciation towards employees in general.

    Cons

    Some of management isn’t so great. Some of the managers aren’t so great. But it’s only a handful of bad ones.

    Continue reading
    Republic Services2020-04-24

    Republic Services Response

    April 28, 2020Sr Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback! We are so happy you enjoyed working with us.

  9. "Solid company!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    National player in the industry!

    Cons

    Corporate policy and politics don’t always align with regional market places.

    Continue reading
    Republic Services2020-05-04
  10. "Most ethical company? I think NOT"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some nice co-workers and relaxed work environment

    Cons

    Corporate lays out a plan that guarantees account managers are set up to fail before they start. If the service team fails - which is a daily occurrence - and your account cancels because of that failure, guess who takes the hit? That’s right! The account manager is held accountable for that loss and that loss counts against your commission. Doesn’t matter if you’ve ever even touched the account. If it’s assigned to you, it’s your loss. Pretty nifty way to make sure commissions paren’t paid! Trash trucks are broken down more often than not. Commercial customers are skipped if the union drivers run out of hours, the truck is broken down or for any other reason then charged overages when they are finally serviced. Be prepared to spend most of your day being screamed at for service failures. Inter-department communication is the worst I’ve ever experienced. The stress is not worth the low income.

    Continue reading
    Republic Services2020-05-23
Found 1742 reviews