Republic Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Republic Services Reviews

Updated February 19, 2018
1,352 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends

1,352 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (18)

    "Great Company, Great People, Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Sales Director in Richmond, CA
    Current Employee - Area Sales Director in Richmond, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Stability, people, pay, education and advancement.

    Cons

    No cons... the company takes care of it's people and the best people appreciate being recognized and compensated for their efforts.

    Advice to Management

    Find the best talent elsewhere and bring them in; this is a company where the best people should work...

    Republic Services Response

    Mar 17, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fleet Maintenance Supervisor in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Fleet Maintenance Supervisor in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This is a corporate company so there are set rules and regulations, you follow the rules and regulations and you're set. There are daily meetings which are the key times to bring up good bad. Constant training to move all individuals forward and expand areas of knowledge/skill. Great people to work with. Vast amount of oppertunities within the company nationwide!! including Puerto Rico

    Cons

    I was brought into a "REHAB" location, all new management, with that being said I work a lot of hours to get ahead to eventually get the trucks and crew to the company standards, I knew this coming in so I am not complaining rather exspressing my one and only con

    Advice to Management

    know that there are always ripples, we are human, but also listen to what your people tell you, especially the ones you never have issues with.

    Republic Services Response

    Feb 16, 2018 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.

  3. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Detroit, MI
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits. Company provides tools necessary to do the job. They care about their employees.

    Cons

    Have to work Saturday following a holiday.

    Advice to Management

    Area management needs to spend more time at local levels.

    Republic Services Response

    Feb 16, 2018 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback. Our people are the key to providing a great experience to our customers


  4. "Operations Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Bridgeton, MO
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Bridgeton, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Company that really believes in creating opportunities for employees to grow

    Cons

    Company is a little behind in technology

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your employees

    Republic Services Response

    Feb 16, 2018 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback and yes providing opportunities for growth is key to our success.


  5. "Operations Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, company really cares about it's employees

    Cons

    Training and technology are behind the times

    Advice to Management

    More diversity at the corporate level

    Republic Services Response

    Feb 16, 2018 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback. Quite a bit happening in the learning and technology space.


  6. "In the weeds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I love the people, the industry, and the responsibilities I am getting given. It’s very satisfying work and I am excited to add harder challenges to my plate as I grow into this industry more. I am only 7 months in.

    Cons

    My business unit was very backlogged due to some turnover and as the sales coordinator I am working on that backlog and it takes some time. Training and proper delegation is tough when people are too “in the weeds” to get out of the backlog. Better training on actual delegation could help, though!

    Advice to Management

    Give one on ones to sales coordinators and not just the sales reps because we need to know what to focus on as well. Have a mentor program for females who are interested in how to move up in the company. Take a step back to breath and really see how to get out of the backlog before putting more work on the table.

    Republic Services Response

    Feb 16, 2018 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback. We will share with the Sales team.


  7. "Manufacturing & Environmental Services Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing & Environmental Services Executive in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - Manufacturing & Environmental Services Executive in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Provides the tools needed to be successful

    Cons

    Poor Customer Service and proper leadership within Southwest Louisiana

    Advice to Management

    Buy new trucks

    Republic Services Response

    Feb 16, 2018 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.

  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits for employees

    Cons

    Bad sales leadership in great lakes

    Advice to Management

    What takes so long to make a change?


  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great Benefits - Healthcare, Dental, Vision, 401(k), ROTH 401(k), Paid Holidays/Vacation/Sick Time
    Great People - Republic emphasizes finding the best people to do the best job. The atmosphere is very friendly. And the number of employees who spend a good part of their careers with Republic is notable.

    Cons

    Salary could be a little bit more competitive, hiring new talent can be difficult because of this.

    Republic Services Response

    Feb 16, 2018 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.


  10. "Diesel Mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Diesel Mechanic in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Diesel Mechanic in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Overtime, 401K, insurance better then many other jobs

    Cons

    Promotions are more of a kiss up.

    Republic Services Response

    Feb 16, 2018 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback and keeping us safe on the road.


Showing 1,352 of 1,372 reviews
Reset Filters