Republic Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Republic Services Reviews

Updated April 25, 2017
587 reviews

Filter

Filter

Current Employees

4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Republic Services President, CEO, and Director Donald W. (Don) Slager
Donald W. (Don) Slager
342 Ratings

587 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Work/Life balance could be a con if you let it (in 22 reviews)

  • Long hours but worth it in the end (in 45 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Great People, Great Opportunities"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Sales Director in Richmond, CA
    Current Employee - Area Sales Director in Richmond, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Stability, people, pay, education and advancement.

    Cons

    No cons... the company takes care of it's people and the best people appreciate being recognized and compensated for their efforts.

    Advice to Management

    Find the best talent elsewhere and bring them in; this is a company where the best people should work...

    Republic Services Response

    Mar 17, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  2. "May 2017"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Division Manager in Boone, NC
    Current Employee - Division Manager in Boone, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Improve work life balance to reduce hours

    Advice to Management

    Improve work life balance


  3. "Dispatch"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispatcher in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Dispatcher in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Co-Workers
    Great Management
    Great Benefits and employee events.

    Cons

    I havent experienced any negative experiences that I would consider Cons.

    Advice to Management

    Dont Change, or become like Waste Management...

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 22, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "My honest opinion"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Morganton, NC
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Morganton, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Corporate really cares for all employees, Good 401K and company matching your dollars, Good health and dental ins., certain amount of free life ins for each employee. Competitive wages.

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times but at the end of the day its rewarding!

    Advice to Management

    There are too many changes to processes and procedure, and it gets really hard to wrap your head around these things because they are forever changing to new ways, so it gets really hard to be an expert on policies and procedures short of carrying a handbook around with you!

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 22, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  6. "Shift Maintenance Supervisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Maintenance Supervisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Shift Maintenance Supervisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services (More than a year)

    Pros

    At Republic Services, we’re guided by five essential core values – to be Respectful, Responsible, Reliable, Resourceful, and Relentless in all we do, every day. Our highly passionate, professional team is reminded of these principles every time they see the five R’s joined together to form the Republic Services Star. It’s what makes us who we are, reminding us to keep our customers at the heart of it all.

    Cons

    As a supervisor I see Republic services as being under staffed in that the requirements for salary employee to work in excess of 10 hours a day.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 15, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback and service.


  7. "Always busy"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milpitas, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Constant interactions and great place to learn and hone leadership skills

    Cons

    Not all shifts have the ability to meet with their direct reports before they clock out

    Advice to Management

    While working under a CBA it would be great to have face to face check outs with our drivers to ho over any mpu's, blocked and no serviced items. By having them explain their actions everyday we can reinforce positive behaviors or change bad behavior quickly. The team will know they should do it right or be ready to explain why they weren't able to, in a face to face setting.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 15, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  8. "Management needs love too???"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Safety is not just talked about safety is truly the culture. I think it is a forward thinking company. Recommend it.

    Cons

    Pay and compensation is lacking. They Pay Employees Well But C or get about front line management. They don't stand up to the CBA, always giving in even if the employee is wrong

    Advice to Management

    Protect all of your employees not just the drivers and loaders but your management. Think of solutions even if you have a bad contract.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 15, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  9. "Driver Tyngsboro Ma"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Tyngsboro, MA
    Current Employee - Driver in Tyngsboro, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    These days there are not many positives. We still get our vacation and uniforms.

    Cons

    Tyngsboro drivers are under paid & treated badly! A very toxic work environment. equipment is also in very bad shape.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your drivers fairly and reevaluate those in management roles.


  10. "Management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Fresno, CA
    Current Employee - Manager in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, company durability, national company.

    Cons

    Too many projects and new initiatives dropped down to field management. Space changes more apart to leave managers free to focus on managing.

    Advice to Management

    Less changes or space further apart

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 15, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  11. "A dedicated company to safety and sustainability for our employees, our customers and the environment."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I have worked for Republic Services for 8 years. The waste and recycling industry is a very dynamic and complex industry. My only regret is not working in the industry sooner. Our company is focused on the right strategies to differentiate Republic Services from the other providers. Republic is a great place to work with many opportunities to develop a sustainable career.

    Cons

    Frequent change, with reorganization of leadership every 3-5 years.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on providing our customers with a superior product and experience.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 15, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


Showing 587 of 907 reviews
Reset Filters