Republic Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Republic Services Reviews

Updated May 21, 2017
237 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Republic Services President, CEO, and Director Donald W. (Don) Slager
Donald W. (Don) Slager
137 Ratings

237 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Residents Driver"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Driver in Little Rock, AR
    Current Employee - Residential Driver in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The upside working for the Republic Services,is you have to be safe, can crosstrain, and make a good living.

    Cons

    The equipment is a little overworked.

    Advice to Management

    Work as at team at all times.


  2. "Account Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    Positive Environment and a really helpful team!

    Cons

    None so far but I just started in March.

    Advice to Management

    Again, none so far :)

    Republic Services Response

    May 21, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.


  3. "Account Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The company values its employee's and their opinions. They offer great benefits. Also offer a nice retirement plan . They reward hard work and safety.

    Cons

    The amount of work load can be overwhelming.

    Republic Services Response

    May 21, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Recruiter"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunity to learn and develop

    Cons

    Poor management, favoritism, and low salaries.

    Advice to Management

    Improve salary for entry level recruiters, treat all equally and offer more opportunities to develop.

    Republic Services Response

    May 15, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.


  6. "2017 Review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chandler, AZ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Competitive pay / overtime opportunities / career advancement

    Cons

    CRC training is not as in-depth as expected & some leadership do not have full knowledge of the business and its practices.

    Advice to Management

    CRC supervisors should take a separate training course to ensure they have a complete understanding of the CRR processes and the most effective way to support team members.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 30, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.


  7. "May 2017"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Division Manager in Boone, NC
    Current Employee - Division Manager in Boone, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Improve work life balance to reduce hours

    Advice to Management

    Improve work life balance

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 30, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Shift Maintenance Supervisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Maintenance Supervisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Shift Maintenance Supervisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services (More than a year)

    Pros

    At Republic Services, we’re guided by five essential core values – to be Respectful, Responsible, Reliable, Resourceful, and Relentless in all we do, every day. Our highly passionate, professional team is reminded of these principles every time they see the five R’s joined together to form the Republic Services Star. It’s what makes us who we are, reminding us to keep our customers at the heart of it all.

    Cons

    As a supervisor I see Republic services as being under staffed in that the requirements for salary employee to work in excess of 10 hours a day.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 15, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback and service.


  9. "Always busy"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milpitas, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Constant interactions and great place to learn and hone leadership skills

    Cons

    Not all shifts have the ability to meet with their direct reports before they clock out

    Advice to Management

    While working under a CBA it would be great to have face to face check outs with our drivers to ho over any mpu's, blocked and no serviced items. By having them explain their actions everyday we can reinforce positive behaviors or change bad behavior quickly. The team will know they should do it right or be ready to explain why they weren't able to, in a face to face setting.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 15, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  10. "Management needs love too???"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Safety is not just talked about safety is truly the culture. I think it is a forward thinking company. Recommend it.

    Cons

    Pay and compensation is lacking. They Pay Employees Well But C or get about front line management. They don't stand up to the CBA, always giving in even if the employee is wrong

    Advice to Management

    Protect all of your employees not just the drivers and loaders but your management. Think of solutions even if you have a bad contract.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 15, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  11. "Management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Fresno, CA
    Current Employee - Manager in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, company durability, national company.

    Cons

    Too many projects and new initiatives dropped down to field management. Space changes more apart to leave managers free to focus on managing.

    Advice to Management

    Less changes or space further apart

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 15, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


Showing 237 of 981 reviews
Reset Filters