Republic Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Republic Services Reviews

Updated May 25, 2017
964 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

964 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The company treats its employees with a lot of respect.

    Cons

    I have no complaints. I left at the time of a family crisis and the company treated me fairly and accommodated my needs.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Republic Services Response

    May 15, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  2. "Customer Service Rep"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Csr1 in Chandler, AZ
    Former Employee - Csr1 in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent pay, overtime allowed, Job advancement, bonus and other incentives.

    Cons

    Lack of training, overload of work.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "customer service center"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Chandler, AZ
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    the management, the pay, the dress code, the over time, the learning period, how we can advance, my own desk, free fruit, coffee, ice machine, games.

    Cons

    I hope that how it looks right now doesn't become a lie. I hope that it is as amazing as it looks but I really wont know till my first 6 months is over.

    Advice to Management

    I hope that the supervisor I get knows more than me because I need someone to help guide me not know as much as me and not know the answer just like me. I know everyone is new here and that's part of starting out a business but to me a supervisor should be someone who leads and is above me who does know what I don't and can help in every aspect.

    Republic Services Response

    May 4, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback and being a part of the RS team!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great Company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Division Controller in Asheville, NC
    Current Employee - Division Controller in Asheville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I have been with the company for 20 years. This is a great place to work, the company really cares about the employees and offers a lot of advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    Need to upgrade some of the technology to get a little closer to the "curve" we do lag behind on some of the systems we use.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure all new supervisors and managers go through the leadership fundamentals training. The employees that were promoted from the field to a supervisory or management position could benefit from the training.

    Republic Services Response

    May 4, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback and being a part of the RS team!


  6. "2017 Review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chandler, AZ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Competitive pay / overtime opportunities / career advancement

    Cons

    CRC training is not as in-depth as expected & some leadership do not have full knowledge of the business and its practices.

    Advice to Management

    CRC supervisors should take a separate training course to ensure they have a complete understanding of the CRR processes and the most effective way to support team members.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 30, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.


  7. "Management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Michiana Shores, IN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Michiana Shores, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good Pay, Good People, Company is trying to change the culture. Strong safety culture.

    Cons

    Overworking employees, old world leadership at GM and above levels. HR department not supportive to change in upper management, unrealistic expectations

    Advice to Management

    Adopt the leadership skills needed to build engagement with employees. Work together to solve problems, do not require excessive hours as an expectation. Get enough people to support each BU, treat maintenance on the same level as operations

    Republic Services Response

    May 15, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Appreciate your feedback, we will share with the leadership team.


  8. "Dispatch"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispatcher in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Dispatcher in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Co-Workers
    Great Management
    Great Benefits and employee events.

    Cons

    I havent experienced any negative experiences that I would consider Cons.

    Advice to Management

    Dont Change, or become like Waste Management...

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 22, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  9. "May 2017"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Division Manager in Boone, NC
    Current Employee - Division Manager in Boone, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Improve work life balance to reduce hours

    Advice to Management

    Improve work life balance

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 30, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.


  10. "My honest opinion"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Morganton, NC
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Morganton, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Corporate really cares for all employees, Good 401K and company matching your dollars, Good health and dental ins., certain amount of free life ins for each employee. Competitive wages.

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times but at the end of the day its rewarding!

    Advice to Management

    There are too many changes to processes and procedure, and it gets really hard to wrap your head around these things because they are forever changing to new ways, so it gets really hard to be an expert on policies and procedures short of carrying a handbook around with you!

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 22, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Shift Maintenance Supervisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Maintenance Supervisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Shift Maintenance Supervisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services (More than a year)

    Pros

    At Republic Services, we’re guided by five essential core values – to be Respectful, Responsible, Reliable, Resourceful, and Relentless in all we do, every day. Our highly passionate, professional team is reminded of these principles every time they see the five R’s joined together to form the Republic Services Star. It’s what makes us who we are, reminding us to keep our customers at the heart of it all.

    Cons

    As a supervisor I see Republic services as being under staffed in that the requirements for salary employee to work in excess of 10 hours a day.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 15, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback and service.


Showing 964 of 981 reviews
Reset Filters