Republic Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Republic Services Reviews

Updated February 22, 2017
643 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

643 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • A lot of micro managing from upper management to make themselves look good without recognition for the hard work at the local level (in 27 reviews)

  • Bad work life balance with 55-60 (in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "office/billing"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    daytime hours, health benefits paid for employees

    Cons

    too many managers and little communication between them

    Advice to Management

    actually make changes instead of just talking about changing later

    Republic Services Response

    Jan 23, 2017 – Talent Relations Specialist

    We are sorry to hear that your experience didn’t meet your expectations. We strive to create great experiences for our employees and we’re always seeking feedback. If you’d like to discuss this ... More


  2. "Meh"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The people for the most part are great. Especially at the divisional level.

    Cons

    The further removed from the division , management lost sight of the value of the employee

    Republic Services Response

    Jan 20, 2017 – Talent Relations Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback.


  3. "Horrible training, inept low-level mngmt, waste of time and talent. It's managing garbage, not brain surgery!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account in Detroit, MI
    Former Employee - Account in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Weekly pay. Free food sometimes. I wish that immediate supervisors were pros at something, anything. So much gross incompetence. One or two decent coworkers.

    Cons

    Forced to take a one hour lunch, training consists of watching videos all day, people who train you (on a DOS-based acctg system, DOS!!) don't even know how to do their own job, huge waste of time, energy, resources and talent. If you don't achieve ninja-level mastery of this archaic system by the end of your first week, They just don't have time for you. Doesnt matter that they've given you no real training and no tools to do what is obviously not a hard job. Immediate management is woefully inept and frankly a little slow. If you enjoy trying your best and doing a good job yet still being told that you don't do it fast enough after 10 days on the job, then this hellscape is the place for you!

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes to the extreme shortsightedness, ignorance and waste at the local business unit level. So many employees are criminally undervalued yet others are put so high up on a pedestal they can't see the forest for the trees. Glad that I didn't have to spend anymore time spinning my wheels for a pretty crappy hourly wage.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    Exposure to some of the latest technological innovations

    Cons

    Growth via Mergers and Acquisitions can cause growing pains for any company

    Advice to Management

    Will comment at later date

    Republic Services Response

    Jan 17, 2017 – Talent Relations Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback. If you'd like to discuss this further, please email us at recruiting@republicservices.com.


  6. "Payroll/benefits Clerk"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Benefits Specialist in Corpus Christi, TX
    Former Employee - Payroll Benefits Specialist in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    good benefits, people good to work with

    Cons

    too much paperwork, corporate tended to complicate procedures

    Advice to Management

    Policy should be across the board - no exceptions

    Republic Services Response

    Jan 3, 2017 – Talent Relations Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback. Your comment has been shared with the appropriate team.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Stressful"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Account Manager
    Current Employee - Account Manager

    Pros

    PTO, PTO, PTO, PTO, PTO

    Cons

    No cohesiveness amongst Departments (Sales, Billing, Ops, Customer Service).

    Republic Services Response

    Jan 9, 2017 – Talent Relations Specialist

    Thanks for reviewing us. If you'd like to discuss this further, please email us at recruiting@republicservices.com.


  8. "Sales Represenetative"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fellow sales reps and developing friendship's

    Cons

    I was fired the same day a gave my 2 weeks notice , effective that instant, thus negating 3 weeks of pay. Republic Services did not even have the dignity to tell me in person they just stopped all my access, and sent me a letter. This prevented me from even turning in my monthly personal expenses, which was hundreds of dollars. I have been in business development for over 20 years and this was the worst treatment of sales reps I have ever seen.* Discriminatory language used on a daily bases towards certain customers , charging more or not being flexible with customers based on race or religion.* Very poor time management. * Micro management which evolved completing upper management tasks other jobs that were not in the job description( knocking on doors collecting money, site visits for other business units endless recording of activity's that were completely meaningless just to satisfy upper management , reporting the same material in multiple locations to make other members jobs easier , spending 60-70% of ones day reporting activity verses actually doing activity

    Advice to Management

    Decide to either have a sales team or not, The position is designed to last 2 years


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great company. Wonderful work environment

    Cons

    None, They are a great company to work for.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Republic Services Response

    Dec 20, 2016 – Talent Relations Specialist

    Thanks for reviewing us!


  10. "Good Place To Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    Benefits were okay and pay was decent

    Cons

    Seemed to lack future direction

    Advice to Management

    No to be mentioned here

    Republic Services Response

    Jan 3, 2017 – Talent Relations Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback.


  11. "Department now closed"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits good benefits

    Cons

    Pay is low. Racism. No advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Get new diverse management

    Republic Services Response

    Jan 25, 2017 – Talent Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. This information has been shared with the appropriate team members for follow up. If you’d like to discuss this further please email us at ... More



Showing 643 of 659 reviews
Reset Filters