Republic Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Republic Services Reviews

Updated September 21, 2017
1,191 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

1,191 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "lead truck driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Commercial Driver in Corsicana, TX
    Current Employee - Lead Commercial Driver in Corsicana, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There are many opportunities that a person can achieve if he puts his or her mind to it. There are great benefits to look forward to and great people to work with.

    Cons

    There can be some rough work and long hours but always try to look on the bright side if possible.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to others and sometimes things might look a little different.

    Republic Services Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  2. "Republic Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    Currently, there is a push to establish a new culture at Republic Services. Historically in the trash industry, employees are promoted from truck drivers to supervisors, supervisors to managers, managers to general managers, etc. Now, Republic is making a concerted effort to increase the talent level both within its current employees and hiring outside talent.

    Cons

    There is a lot of experience at various management levels within the company - both good and bad. Those managers who have been in their positions for 10+ years with no chance of further promotion are more than happy to ride out the rest of their careers at Republic in their current roles, and frankly the company lets them. Experience is a fantastic thing, but those that don't use it to teach those around them and improve themselves have a tendency to become crusty and complacent within their positions. Such is the case of many employees who fit this bill at the majority of business units within this company. "Get up or get out!"

    Republic Services Response

    Aug 29, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!

  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people. Regardless of the company you spend most of your day interacting with people within your organization. Republic makes it a priority to hire people that others want to be around, creating positive work environment that allows employees to be successful.

    Cons

    It is not a glamorous job, but I have no regrets.

    Republic Services Response

    Aug 29, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  4. "6mo in to my role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    While the company is still working to form cohesion, they are heavily investing in employees they feel will promote "the republic way." I feel really supported by management and welcomed by my peers.
    The work is meaningful and urgent. I feel like what I do actually matters.
    Very stable industry.

    Cons

    Trash is not sexy, the field offices are a blue collar environment that are not always the cleanest, most fresh smelling places.
    Certain positions have long hours and are not always thanked regularly.

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach. If environmental responsibility is actually a pillar of the company, then recycle in your offices and promote it to your customers. Be on the forefront of organics recycling.

    Republic Services Response

    Aug 29, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  5. "Great company to work for. Just don't slack off on the prospecting!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Chula Vista, CA
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Chula Vista, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Money is good. Paid time off is ok. Hard to sell but if you get out there and generate enough leads you should be ok.

    Cons

    Data entry SUCKS. At least in the SD market. You are expected to acquire new business, and that is extremely difficult when your data entry ladies love to make life difficulty for you to process your sales

    Advice to Management

    Quit the micro manage. It doesn't help. Get new people in data entry that know what they are doing and that actually like their jobs

    Republic Services Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  6. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Boise, ID
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Steady employment, multiple lines of business to learn and grow

    Cons

    Republic like most company's is working to catch up to the large amount of growth it is experiencing.

    Advice to Management

    continue to invest in the future.

    Republic Services Response

    Aug 29, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  7. "Republic Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, opportunities for advancement and benefits

    Cons

    Nothing to report as a con

    Republic Services Response

    Aug 29, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!

  8. "Unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    Good and loyal hard working employees.

    Cons

    Very unorganized and no set processes and procedures.

    Advice to Management

    Train employees.

    Republic Services Response

    Aug 29, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  9. "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Technician in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, good company

    Cons

    I get dirty, is hot, stinky, schedule

    Advice to Management

    Better trainer , more fans, more time for lunch

    Republic Services Response

    Aug 29, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for taking care of our trucks and drivers and for your feedback!


  10. "Management leaves much to be said"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits, fair pay, accommodating

    Cons

    If you are a salary employee be prepared to work anywhere from 10-14 hours day, 5 days a week sometimes 6. Management is truly a wonder in what they say and do. In other words, do what they say not what they do. They will not stand up for you in anytime and will not support you. If you planning on working in Seattle or Kent I will tell you now, watch your back. Watch what you say and who you say it to. The HR is nothing nor will they assist the employee other then seeing that they support the managers in firing someone and telling them how to go about it.

    Advice to Management

    Take a long deep look at your management teams. When I was going thru hard times at work, the HR didn't even lift a finger to assist me. My manager was allowed to berate me in front of other employees and to other managers.

    Republic Services Response

    Aug 29, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    We are sorry that you did not have a good experience with us and will pass along the feedback.


Showing 1,191 of 1,210 reviews
Reset Filters