Republic Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Republic Services Reviews

Updated April 22, 2017
879 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

879 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Work/Life balance could be a con if you let it (in 22 reviews)

  • Long hours but worth it in the end (in 45 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Operations Supervisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Lynchburg, VA
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    We care about the safety of our people.

    Cons

    Need to improve in the area of training.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.


  2. "Great place to work depending on leadership"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Church Hill, TN
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Church Hill, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    In my 3 years here I have had good leaders and poor leaders. When you have a strong, structured leadership team, then it works well.

    Cons

    Too many departments are dumping things on Operations. These departments should be SUPPORTING the operations not looking to add more work to them...If Republic wants to the "UPS" of the garbage industry then they need to build their infrastructure to mirror Big Brown. To start with I would look at creating an Industrial Engineering department to create true standards instead of just replicating past performance and expecting a Supervisor to have the time to go and do lock in rides to truly set the standards.

    Advice to Management

    TECHNOLOGY!!!!!! I know that there are plans to implement tablets in the upcoming years. But I have had 3rd eye on trucks in other locations and it is an AWESOME piece of tech. It takes ALL of the guesswork and speculation out of what the customer is asking and can get from other companies out there.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.


  3. "Supervisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Miami, FL
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good training and good benefits

    Cons

    Time it take to get training

    Advice to Management

    Should have a stronger training program

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "CRR"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CRR in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - CRR in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very friendly, positive, happy and supportive atmosphere to work in. Lots of room to learn and grow as well as promote.

    Cons

    The CRC (call centers) being so new, there is still a lot of bugs and kinks to work out... mostly computer and system related.

    Advice to Management

    Just be friendly, kind, understanding and supportive. MORE than you already are.

    Republic Services Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service - Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Chandler, AZ
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Republic services is great, they actually care about my happiness out side work. The environment inside of the CRC center is awesome everyone is like a family friend to me. the best part is and always will be the amount of support and helpfulness from management and other employees. No matter what my question is of need they deliver. This company is nothing like my past employers.

    Cons

    Honestly it's still a call center, and you wouldn't think that people would be so serious about their trash. But you would be VERY wrong people are very, very passionate about their trash and want to make sure that it gets done on time & correctly and in the way they ask.

    Advice to Management

    If I were to ask them to change anything it would be to have a larger sized headset because I'm a pretty big guy and the head set doesn't fit correctly so it makes my ears hurt after a few hours of use.

    Republic Services Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "focused on employees and safety"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Safety is number one, and their focus is on employees. Everyone is intent on getting things done and working well together. Lots of collaboration, very little politics. A high trust environment.

    Cons

    Still working to standardize processes across the company, so communication and teamwork are sometimes challenging.

    Republic Services Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  8. Helpful (1)

    "New Employee Review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chandler, AZ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Ergonomic chairs, Standing desks, Benefits, PTO, Staff is like family, Clean/New Facility.

    Cons

    The contact center is a new concept, so they are still working out some of the bugs, but it's a great company so far.

    Republic Services Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "CRC"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CRC in Chandler, AZ
    Current Employee - CRC in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The opportunity to grow within the company

    Cons

    In 3rd week of training. None

    Advice to Management

    none

    Republic Services Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  10. "Required from Leadership training class"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Very fair company and we all make SAFETY our number one priority.

    Cons

    Leadership skill of some leaders is really in question.

    Advice to Management

    Always think of the little guy.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.


  11. "Info from the inside"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Overall good company to work for. A lot of employee engagement from banquets, cookouts after goals as a team are met. Technician and driver Rodeo competition. Fed during safety meetings along with addressing any issues

    Cons

    Time should be set aside for each supervisor and manager to be sent for proper training. To take that knowledge and be able to use daily. Besides that, great company.

    Advice to Management

    If you are a manager, let your team know when they are doing a good job. As a team or individually. It goes a long way. Don't just let them know when they make a mistake. In return, your team will always go the extra mile when they feel important and noticed.

    Republic Services Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.


Showing 879 of 896 reviews
Reset Filters