Republic Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Republic Services Reviews

Updated October 18, 2017
1,221 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

1,221 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "No advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Fair benefits. Some of the people are very hard workers

    Cons

    No room for middle management to grow. Senior management very disconnected from what the lower level workers do. Too fast getting out of industry talent in so now there is little management that knows the business. Just push higher fees and cost to the customer. Told to love it or leave. Long hours. No reward for extra effort. Advancement by who you know not your talent

    Advice to Management

    Spread to thin. Start doing what you say not just say it. Just told to beat the budget stop looking at spreadsheet management

    Republic Services Response

    Sep 20, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  2. "Division Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Division Accountant
    Current Employee - Division Accountant
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits
    Fair compensation
    Great opportunities for growth within company

    Cons

    Work life balance is sometimes difficult.

    Republic Services Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!

  3. "Very poor training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class B CDL Truck Driver in Anaheim, CA
    Current Employee - Class B CDL Truck Driver in Anaheim, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The pay is ok,and the benefits are not bad. Medical ,Dental and vision are through the union. Dental insurance is not great. People seem friendly. The equipment is ok. Although they seem to be getting in some newer equipment.

    Cons

    I applied for the Roll Off Driver position online and got hired for Roll Off. But,I have yet to see the inside of a roll off truck. They have me training in a front loader for commercial. The training at Republic Services in Anaheim is not great. Very unorganized group of supervisors that don't seem to have any experience in the waste and recycle business. The supervisors seem lost at times. I came to Republic Services because I thought it was a first class company,only to find out the grass is not greener on the other side. I'm very disappointed with my experience so far.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more training and better training to employees. Hire people in management that know the business. Also, be honest with people when you hire them. Don't hire them for one position and train them for something else. Republic Services has the potential to be a great company to work at. But, it's not at the GREAT level yet. It still has a lot to work on. Sad to say

    Republic Services Response

    Sep 28, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback. We will pass this along to the management team.


  4. "Scale Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scale Operator in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Scale Operator in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I work with the most AMAZING group of people who give 100% everyday at work. Our boss James McConnell supports us as individuals as well as a team. He encourages us and motivates us to be the BEST and take pride in what everything we do.

    Cons

    There are no downsides to working at MRT.

    Advice to Management

    I enjoy working for someone that I can respect.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Republic Services is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Major Account Executive in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Major Account Executive in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The company adheres to and supports the stated values pertaining to safety, people, ethics and compliance, and customers.

    Cons

    No complaints! The people and facilities are first class.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and commitment to excellence!

    Republic Services Response

    Aug 29, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  6. "Outside Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Quincy, IL
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Quincy, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The base and the commission are good. There are a lot of nice perks. Great training program. Local management and team were great.

    Cons

    High turn over rate in sales. Monthly goals are unrealistic. I was expected to bring in the twice the monthly average of both of the two previous sales people combined. Plus inside sales can take your business.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so greedy. Get out there yourself and experience it.

    Republic Services Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback. Will pass this on to our Sales leadership.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Room to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work and upper management is easy to access and communicate needs for the facility.

    Cons

    no mentor or anyone to show you the roles of your position

    Advice to Management

    Have a mentoring program to guide new management through the "Republic Way" of doing things

    Republic Services Response

    Aug 29, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!

  8. "Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    People and benefits location relaxed atmosphere

    Cons

    Hard to advance and pay

    Advice to Management

    Better pay and make it easier to advance

    Republic Services Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback. Please reach out to your HR contact for career path suggestions. Thanks


  9. "Always room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Benefits Administrator in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Senior Benefits Administrator in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great team members, flexible work schedules, comfortable work environment

    Cons

    Limited career advancement, no educational reimbursement. no recognition for a job well done

    Advice to Management

    Treat all employees fairly and give them the same opportunity for career advancement as you do the few select, take the time to understand what is important to your employees and guide and assist them.

    Republic Services Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  10. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Republic Services full-time

    Pros

    okay to work for this company.

    Cons

    lot of long hours and some weekends.

    Republic Services Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


Showing 1,221 of 1,240 reviews
Reset Filters