Republic Services Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Republic Services Sales Representative Reviews

Updated September 7, 2017
40 reviews

Filter

Filter

Sales Representative

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Outside Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Quincy, IL
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Quincy, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The base and the commission are good. There are a lot of nice perks. Great training program. Local management and team were great.

    Cons

    High turn over rate in sales. Monthly goals are unrealistic. I was expected to bring in the twice the monthly average of both of the two previous sales people combined. Plus inside sales can take your business.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so greedy. Get out there yourself and experience it.

    Republic Services Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback. Will pass this on to our Sales leadership.


  2. "Great company to work for. Just don't slack off on the prospecting!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Chula Vista, CA
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Chula Vista, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Money is good. Paid time off is ok. Hard to sell but if you get out there and generate enough leads you should be ok.

    Cons

    Data entry SUCKS. At least in the SD market. You are expected to acquire new business, and that is extremely difficult when your data entry ladies love to make life difficulty for you to process your sales

    Advice to Management

    Quit the micro manage. It doesn't help. Get new people in data entry that know what they are doing and that actually like their jobs

    Republic Services Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!

  3. "New Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Kalamazoo, MI
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    A great training program in place to truly inspire and provide employees with the right tools to feel knowledgeable when performing their job.

    Cons

    Training could have happened sooner but lots of changes within the company have slowed down the process. The key is changes are being made and this is a sign that the company is working to put a better plan in motion.

    Advice to Management

    More direct messages from higher ups. Speeches from Tom and Mark at headquarters were truly inspiring.

    Republic Services Response

    Aug 4, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback!


  4. "Republic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fair and Honest company with endless possibilities. Great people as well.

    Cons

    No cons so far in my short time at Republic

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Republic Services Response

    Jul 2, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback.


  5. "Team work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The best reason for working for republic services is the sales training,Alice bender is a great trainer.she is caring, knowledgeable and very patient with her student.

    Cons

    The con is that its not enough time spent with her for it to leave a huge impact in tools you need to be successful.Some of us learn different and some of needs more time to really catch on to what it is to utilize while working on our responsible task.If given more time in the training i believe we would be that much stronger in our job responsibility.

    Advice to Management

    BUILD A TEAM ENVIROMENT.

    Republic Services Response

    May 21, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback... will share with Alice! :-)


  6. "Don't Do It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GROWTH SALES REPRESENTATIVE
    Former Employee - GROWTH SALES REPRESENTATIVE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There can be some fun people to work with.

    Cons

    Sales Management will set unrealistic sales expectations that you will never hit so after your year probationary period you will be let go within 3 months. Once you start to make too much money they will use that reason to hire someone new for less. If your a rep that likes to be out in the field you will spend 80% of your time in CRM logging activity so your managers look good to their bosses. You have no time to sell because of the busy office work.

    Advice to Management

    Set realistic goals for sales reps. Let them sale instead of using all of your metrics in CRM that obviously don't work.


  7. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Phila, PA
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Phila, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Republic Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fortune 500 company is the only saving grace.

    Cons

    The company is dysfunctional and does not care for the customer.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the turn over.

    Republic Services Response

    May 4, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback. We will share appropriately.

  8. "Growth sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GROWTH SALES REPRESENTATIVE in Midland, TX
    Former Employee - GROWTH SALES REPRESENTATIVE in Midland, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Loved working with clients. Great sales tool, easy to use and track customers and future customers, good amount of training.

    Cons

    At the end of the day it was hard to sell a trash can when the customer just sees a trash can to hold trash and they're not willing to pay when we say they need to pay. Lots of favoritism, if your a partier you get whatever you want.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "USE YOU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good work/home life balance. Good colleagues. Good pricing tool. Nice car/phone package. Good training

    Cons

    Poor base salary. Poor career advancement. A lot of time wasted on meaningless tasks

    Advice to Management

    Don't lead on your employees. Empty promises.

    Republic Services Response

    Feb 24, 2017 – VP Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your feedback. It sounds like we may have some work to do in your area. If you would like to speak more please contact us at recruiting@republicservices.com. Thanks


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Represenetative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Republic Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fellow sales reps and developing friendship's

    Cons

    I was fired the same day a gave my 2 weeks notice , effective that instant, thus negating 3 weeks of pay. Republic Services did not even have the dignity to tell me in person they just stopped all my access, and sent me a letter. This prevented me from even turning in my monthly personal expenses, which was hundreds of dollars. I have been in business development for over 20 years and this was the worst treatment of sales reps I have ever seen.* Discriminatory language used on a daily bases towards certain customers , charging more or not being flexible with customers based on race or religion.* Very poor time management. * Micro management which evolved completing upper management tasks other jobs that were not in the job description( knocking on doors collecting money, site visits for other business units endless recording of activity's that were completely meaningless just to satisfy upper management , reporting the same material in multiple locations to make other members jobs easier , spending 60-70% of ones day reporting activity verses actually doing activity

    Advice to Management

    Decide to either have a sales team or not, The position is designed to last 2 years