Restaurant Opportunities Center United Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
1.7
26%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Receptionist

    Feb 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility with hours, more like a family than co workers.

    Cons

    None that i can think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Review of Event Planning Internship

    Jul 14, 2020 - Event Planning Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Passionate and inspirational leader and cause, learned a lot about event planning and time management

    Cons

    My internship was remote and we were never really made to feel like we were a part of the organization.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Terrible Organization

    Mar 24, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The organization gives you a lot of flexibility to do your job how you want

    Cons

    The organization is not ethical or moral, and there is no leadership or structure

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    lots of flexibility, disfuctional workplace

    Dec 27, 2019 - Finance Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility, allowed to work from home and flexibility within each role

    Cons

    The organization is dysfunctional. It is poorly managed and they're financial practices are at best, shady, at worst, illegal

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    ROC is tokenizing, transphobic, anti-black, anti-poor, and ridiculous

    Jul 8, 2019 - Organizer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will get A LOT of experience, mostly because it's likely you'll be responsible for 2 or 3 jobs outside the very vast and very vague job description. Some staff are eligible for the union, but they're kind of union busting (they promoted someone to a management position so they wouldn't be eligible for the union, then fired them WEEKS later) This organization has an absurdly talented staff who, without their female president would flourish (purposely not mentioning her name in case people thinks that's aggressive).

    Cons

    The other reviews here are SO TRUE! This place has a ridiculously large operating budget that they continue to squander because their finance team is grossly under staffed and upholds racist ideologies about POC organizing. Be prepared to be constantly $1000 out of pocket and wait months for reimbursements. Be prepared to be talked down to, disrespected, and condescended by their golden girl president (who has NO restaurant experience). Be prepared to see tens of thousands of dollars flushed down the toilet and then told you won't be getting reimbursed for your phone bill or parking. Be prepared to maybe not even have an office, or go long periods of time without one. If you have an office, be prepared to up and move it all the time (depending on city). If you organize memberships from working class communities, prepare for an onslaught of respectability politics. Don't work here if you're trans or speak Spanish either. They will tokenize you in seconds. Be prepared for unrealistic expectations and then when you step up and meet them, prepare to have management cancel everything last second. Prepare for major staffing transitions monthly and a consistently low staff morale. Prepare to work for a woman president who openly supports known/documented sex offenders. Be prepared to beg months for basic organizing needs; be prepared to never see them. Be prepared to get paid the bare minimum for your position, never get a raise, and have (some) management act like that's fine.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    if you care about your well-being, avoid!

    Mar 19, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunity to work remotely, certain colleagues are very experienced and talented in their fields

    Cons

    It's actually traumatizing to work here. You would expect an organization that champions workers' rights to care more about workers' rights and welfare. Most staff work ridiculous hours that don't reflect the pay. Management is very top-down, and there's just a lot of tension even among decision makers. Leadership is very condescending, and you will most likely not get trained for your position. Expect to be on call for all hours, and to get yelled at for not meeting expectations and goals that shift on management's whim. You will get constant emails and phone calls even on weekends and your days off. Discouraging work environment with few opportunity for advancement because no one cares about you. The org itself has been challenging to win campaigns for a few years despite its huge operating budget and it has to do with the low morale and constant turnover. Most people do not stay here for long, and the org actually isn't very effective in organizing on a grassroots capacity. Another reviewer shared there isn't as much of an emphasis on fieldwork, and it shows. Leadership doesn't seem to care about their staff, and most people will try to deflect blame onto each other. Most structural issues stem from the leadership and their mismanagement of their staff, how unrealistically they view org capacity, and their overall horrible attitude toward their own teams. There has been constant restructuring in the org due to vacancies and internal frustrations about it not working. It's a very toxic work culture for again, what is supposed to be a worker center. There are other non-profits, worker centers, and unions that do comparable work for worker and gender justice that don't necessarily subject you to the type of emotional humiliation, duress and abuse that you might encounter here.

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Lead Coordinator

    May 11, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work is very meaningful and important.

    Cons

    Wages are very low. Management is constantly changing. Extreme staff turn over.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Exploitative. Disorganized. Mismanaged. No mission focus.

    Oct 23, 2017 - Affiliate/Chapter Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The mission is good on paper.

    Cons

    This is the most dismal and disorganized place that I've ever worked. Priorities, goals, and assignments change frequently. We berated for not meeting ever-changing goals, even though no affiliates have resources, budgets or time to deal with competing priorities. Worse, we are not actually helping any restaurant workers. I've been bullied by my current manager to fudge numbers, and I've witnessed the top executive/spokesperson be repeatedly dishonest. Turnover is very high. All the talented people are quickly run out of the organization. The worst part is that the organization is very top heavy - there is twice as much national staff than field staff, even though we are supposed to be a field-based organization. There are no resources whatsoever for affiliates. None. We have no budgets and there is no opportunity for promotion. The organization is run by conference calls, and no one, except for the top leaders, are allowed to give input. Every year we waste our time on Organizational Culture exercises. Every other year, the top leaders completely reorganize the organization, but the result is always the same: exploitation, disorganization, mismanagement, and low morale. Without a doubt, it is the most toxic environment because you're beaten down for wanting to do your actual job. There is no work life balance at all because we are asked to do a ton of last-minute one-off things that don't build power. We are always given marching orders at the 99th hour and never included in the planning process. Overall, it's not a good place to work. Morale is very low. Seemingly everyone, except top management, openly grumbles about their low pay, lack of reimbursement, poor work conditions, disrespectful management and dim prospects.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fake worker rights?

    Jun 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can work from home. Some extremely talented people on staff.

    Cons

    This organization has an extremely toxic and unprofessional environment. The management even revealed personal medical information of other employees to staff. As soon as I joined, I felt a the tension and anger of my colleagues. People were looking to get angry and blame long-term organization wide issues on whoever they could. In my first days I was yelled at over the phone by the leader of the organization, and received angry/aggressive text messages from colleagues who I had just met. It's interesting that the organization externally speaks so much about the plight of workers (restaurant workers), but internally has no consideration for its own workers. The leaders of the organization seem disconnected from the community they are supposed to represent and from the rights of workers overall. I'm not sure how an organization that is so internally disorganized, disconnected and treats it's employees so poorly could ever achieve it's mission to enhance the rights of workers in a completely different sector. The leader of the organization often speaks about how poor treatment of restaurant workers first poor experiences set the tone for their careers, especially since people often enter restaurant work quite young. Perhaps she should reflect on how this is also true within her own organization, for the careers of all the campaigners, organizers, admins etc. who work for her.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Mission, Poor Organization

    Sep 12, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Compelling mission and passionate colleagues.

    Cons

    Not an empowering work culture. Authoritative leadership stifled creativity, problem-solving and impact. Too many yes-people because the boss makes your life terrible if you disagree with them.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 English Reviews

Work at Restaurant Opportunities Center United? Share Your Experiences

or