Restoration Hardware Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
35%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Restoration Hardware Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Gary Friedman (no image)
Gary Friedman
374 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, Nice Company Values(in 48 reviews)

  • "Gallery managers are easy to work with for the most part(in 36 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Enjoyed Company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    enjoyed the people and management, product and overall experience

    Cons

    can get really busy while trying to sale product

    Restoration Hardware2020-01-12
  2. "Grounded in Values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gallery Leader in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    An amazing company to work for and grow within. They stand true to their company’s values and beliefs.

    Cons

    I have nothing to add here.

    Continue reading
    Restoration Hardware2020-05-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "FAVORITISM"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Tracy, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Values Meeting tried to build teamwork

    Cons

    FAVORITISM is so obvious with management

    Continue reading
    Restoration Hardware2020-05-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Leader"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Values, People Service Quality and Innovation. Attracts great people

    Cons

    Does not value work life balance. Talks a good talk but no follow through!

    Continue reading
    Restoration Hardware2020-05-26
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Please read before you consider working at RH troy."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Consultant in Troy, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay for a retail position.

    Cons

    This position is not what they will market it to be. You will feel like you are joining a design role where your design and creative opinions will matter but the truth is you are just a glorified retail employee. You’re not an interior designer. The managers are not flexible with scheduling and the hours you work will begin to weigh on your mental health. You will never get overtime, you will never be promoted unless you spend multiple years sucking up to the main manager. This position is great for someone in between professional careers looking to put money in the bank while you search for your next REAL opportunity. Management uses their “value” to manipulate and control their employees. If you don’t fit what they want you to be, they will start verbally harassing you. Telling you, you aren’t a fit and that you need to be more on brand.

    Continue reading
    Restoration Hardware2020-05-21
  6. Helpful (7)

    "This Job Has Grown Me"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gallery Curator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Despite my negative experience with this company, I don't see it as an absolute dump. I think it very seriously is in need of major adjustments, but it truly has so much potential to be good. I can only speak to my own experience with my local gallery and the few interactions I've had at other locations across the US, but I would actually recommend this job to young adults and recent graduates in the Interior Design field that are looking for their first "real" job. If you are not one of those two, I couldn't recommend this company to you in good faith. With that being said, to the students and young people looking for work, the experience you get by working on projects here (even as a Design Consultant) is invaluable in building your own portfolio. Use your time here wisely to increase your experience in what you want to do with your life. Put your all into each and every project and take notes on the lessons you learn from each of them. Stay for 6 months to a year, then leave. Do not remain with this company past your stay. It is not a healthy environment and the habits you pick up could be a potential threat to the rest of your career. Pay attention to the work ethic of your coworkers here and keep it in the back of your mind. The conflicts you experience will prepare you with questions and things to look out for with your next employer. Again, please don't stay longer than a year. This job is, at best, a stepping stool in your own professional career. Do not subject yourself to toxicity that will drastically lower your quality of life over time. There's a reason this company has such a high turnover rate and why the people that stay for longer periods are either burnt out and running on fumes, or fully blinded to the morale of their "team" and aloof to how their actions hurt the people around them. 6 months to a year. Get in, get your experience, and get out. If you get the opportunity to work on huge international projects, that's GREAT, but please don't get trapped by feeling obligated to your coworkers and jeopardize your happiness. Take the time to pause and really think about what you're committing to by staying with this company.

    Cons

    Where the head goes, the body will follow. I truly wish this company and each of its leadership tiers would come down off of their high horses, take a long look in the mirror, and accurately assess how their actions impact the entire company. Skewing reality to validate a lie is not ok. Consistently giving conditional answers to concrete questions is not acceptable. Reprimanding employees because of unmet expectations that were never properly communicated is wrong. I don't need to meet the senior leadership team or overhear comments (again) about how they're treated by the CEO to know their position isn't much different than mine: full of gossip, insubordination, understaffed, and lots of disrespect amongst their peers. I am absolutely positive that they are just as confused, exhausted, and frustrated as the rest of us are -- except for the privilege to work in sunny California. What I have learned from working here is that "luxury" typically means classism and exclusivity. The sentiment of feeling better or less than others because of social and economic class is something that can be traced down through the entire company, even to the temporary hires. It reveals, in my opinion, that the company as a whole is doing nothing more than parading itself around as an interior design firm, full to the brim with its luxurious peacock feathers, when in reality, it is nothing more than a glorified furniture store, running around like a chicken with its head cut off and its feathers on fire. You're not better than any other retail store because you call your couches, "sofas". Catch up with some of us in the 21st century and let go of your classist ideations. This company has so much potential to truly be good, but without adjusting how it looks at the world around it, I'm not sure it will ever be more than subpar.

    Continue reading
    Restoration Hardware2020-05-11
  7. "Great workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    None That I have seen so far

    Restoration Hardware2020-04-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Desktop Support Analyst in Corte Madera, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are free snacks every day at 3pm.

    Cons

    Too many middle managers clog up the works. Too many senior managers that are complacent and do not want things to change or get updated/upgraded. Executive team is delusional. CEO and Chief “Design” Officer have no concept that the company not as well known as they think and that they are not famous. Chief Retail officer and the retail side has daily cult like meetings where everyone must praise the leadership team. You are not allowed to be yourself. Everything must be gray and bland and boring. An official communication was sent to everyone that stated “your work station is not your work station” meaning no personal items like a picture of a spouse, kid, or pet. Benefits are trash. CEO doesn’t believe in 401k match “I pay them to work it is on them to save for their future” problem is they pay below market value in most categories.

    Continue reading
    Restoration Hardware2020-05-14
  9. Helpful (9)

    ""Don't Do It!" (our mantra when seeing people come in for interviews)"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    50% Employee Discount off regular priced items

    Cons

    While initially thrilled to be hired at RH, joy soon turned to frustration and stress. Training is non-existent...unless you count learning the "Company Values". I agree with all the other reviewers who said this is a "cult-like" atmosphere. If you are a follower who loves to drink cool-aid, then this would be a good fit for you. Otherwise, you will find it nothing short of hectic, unorganized, showing blatant favoritism, fear-based motivation, and so on. RH leadership tries hard to come across as amazing, team-oriented players, but you'll find yourself wondering why you don't end up feeling like part of a happy team at all. It's almost a form of gaslighting to make you think that you can never do good enough, all while employees spend endless time "thanking each other" with "REPLY ALL" emails that clog up everyone's inbox. It's all a facade and attempt to seem like you're being a team player. I witnessed leaders speaking poorly about employees to other employees which is very unprofessional. They criticize in public which is also not good leadership. They talk about "fast is as slow as they go", however, to me going fast was because leaders are control freaks who have to double check and critique everything ...putting way too much work on their plate and not having time to do what should be their normal functions. Thus, not only might they be late or absent due to overbooking their schedules, but then they have to rush to get things done that they promised. It makes the whole team stressed out. Can be a damned if you do, damned if you don't environment....("you're sending me too many emails!" "Why didn't you copy me on those emails?!") This company is a female employee majority with plenty of gossip, back stabbing and jealous competitiveness. Want a mentor and a place to grow? This isn't it. Very cliquey, (think junior high) Can only speak of my manager, but there was NO human aspect or interest whatsoever. All business, all the time....almost like they don't want to think of you as human. Never worked anywhere like it. Can't trust this company to be loyal either, which makes every day a stressful day. You'll never be "good enough". Childish, impulsive behavior by leadership: for example, apparently an employee, somewhere, did something that management didn't like. Suddenly the entire company was scheduled for a mandatory conference call to be berated, belittled and take punishment for this individual when the rest of us had no idea what was going on. It was basically a temper tantrum aimed at all employees. Very weird. Bottom line, the human aspect is blatantly missing by design. I know it's work and a business, but I think that's where the cult like environment comes in.....to redirect you to somehow think you should be so honored to work there that no one has to care about you as a person one iota. They want to think differently....they do.

    Continue reading
    Restoration Hardware2020-04-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable Specialist in Corte Madera, CA

    I worked at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast-paced purchase order environment, lots of moving parts.

    Cons

    Corporate culture, no opportunities for advancement

    Restoration Hardware2020-04-01
Found 813 reviews