Restoration Hardware Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Restoration Hardware Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Dec 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
42%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Restoration Hardware Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Gary Friedman (no image)
Gary Friedman
35 Ratings
  1. "I loved working for this company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in La Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A true team effort every day that produced results.

    Cons

    The schedule was not steady.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Restoration Hardware2019-12-18
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Underpaid, not valued, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Vacaville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, some customers are fun to work with

    Cons

    Very rude customers, poor management who don’t respect or value you. Get paid a lousy salary.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more and you’ll keep them. This is why you keep losing great people. You can get paid more working at even Walmart or McDonald’s. How can you call yourself a luxury company when you don’t pay well or value your people?

    Restoration Hardware2019-06-10
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Nice company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I dont know about every location, but mine is awesome. The people are great. It is a pleasure to be associated with the people i work with.

    Cons

    Raises are not good. After 7.5 years I only make 13.35. I started at 10(2 dollars above minimum wage at the time, and the minimum wage where I live is now 12 an hour.

    Advice to Management

    You need to take a look at the value of your employees and the dedication of them. Your front line is your business and people who have stuck with the company for many years deserve respect and to be compensated for their loyalty, knowledge, service and effort.

    Restoration Hardware2019-04-06
  4. "love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Restoration Hardware part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great teamwork got to be creative great leaders

    Cons

    pay was not the best

    Restoration Hardware2019-04-02
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Do NOT join the CULT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pro is for some reason, RH finds some amazing people that work the floor.

    Cons

    Pay is not consistent and secretive. Each person is given a “secret” different amount that they must not discuss. It’s a cult environment that shames people for not drinking the cool aide.... employees are supposed to prompt RH as a design boutique of sorts and let’s be honest.... they sell furniture (most made oversees) that are designer knockoffs. Communication with upper management (CEO’s) is disastrous and Gary should just be compared to Jim Jones.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This company should just go under. I am shocked that in this day and age RH is successful.

    Restoration Hardware2019-03-27
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Stock/Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Stock 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met lots of designers and people who work in the design industry Gallery managers are easy to work with for the most part

    Cons

    Upper management was out of touch with the concerns of the galleries I didn't receive training until months after I was hired and at that point, it was a bit of a moot point

    Advice to Management

    more communication with the people on the ground floor

    Restoration Hardware2019-01-24
  7. "Great intro to home-furnishings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wide variety of fellow employees; Fair Pay; Knowledgeable management, Fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Cliquey. Not a wide enough age variant of employees.

    Advice to Management

    Don't isolate individuals due to lack of understanding and creativity.

    Restoration Hardware2019-01-24
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Restoration Hardware for Dummy's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount on items. Faucets are the best item of value at RH.

    Cons

    -Management restrictions, a poor hiring process -little design creativity, -lack of enthusiasm in the work environment, -core values do not line up with practices - Have not seen any opportunities to help the company grow come from the collaboration. -Managers follow cookie cutter plans on how to run the store -no consistency in pricing or how it is done - customers to buy somewhere else if not satisfied with pricing o - employees discouraged from thinking on their own- restricted opportunities -not empowered to grow within the company -employees are not trained to sell, (features, benefits, the customer's needs, and wants, colors and no background on product knowledge). -Design job for Dummy's- anyone can do it as long as they don't think creatively.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    be honest lead by example practice company values encourage growth encourage creativity encourage ideas to better the company be proactive

    Restoration Hardware2019-01-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Part Time Sales Associate in Dawsonville, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They offer many incentives to working there.

    Cons

    Not much room for growth in the company.

    Restoration Hardware2018-03-04
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Awful management no training discount is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Aurora, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Honestly, the only reason to be employed here is the discount. 50% off outlet pricing 50% regular gallery pricing 30% sale items from the regular store

    Cons

    Unfortunately management can not agree on anything. They constantly change policies and half of them barely work. They are more interested in hanging out with each other and being on their phones. Most do not care about their job and it shows with how the employees act. There’s no training. A sales associate showed me how to fill out the paperwork once and that was it. Every manager is willing to do different things for customers so there is no consistency. A lot of the younger employees are very petty and constantly fight. There is no recognition for a job well done.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Come up with common policies through out the store. Don’t say one thing then do another. Put some effort in at work then maybe your employees will work hard for you don’t just put everything on a few people. There’s a reason you’re in charge and they are not. Properly train employees. Someone else showed me how to fill out a furniture form once and that was it. Have pride in your store and work. It shows that no one cares.

    Show More
    Restoration Hardware2018-02-14
Found 96 reviews