Restoration Hardware "gallery" Reviews | Glassdoor

Restoration Hardware Employee Reviews about "gallery"

Updated Oct 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
35%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Restoration Hardware CEO Gary Friedman (no image)
Gary Friedman
363 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great training program and great people to work with(in 46 reviews)

  • "Gallery managers are easy to work with for the most part(in 35 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "gallery"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Gallery Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Gallery Associate in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware

    Pros

    Growth with new larger galleries coming soon.

    Cons

    long work weeks and time off freeze

    Restoration Hardware2016-01-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Decent, but not Ideal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Lead 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They had great benefits, 401k, heath, dental, vision, etc. Also, it was pretty easy job, not very demanding. Shared a decent sized office with my manger. Also, my manger was a great laid back guy. I knew that he always had my back, but not everyone one else there was like him!

    Cons

    The wharehouse was 10000 degrees in the summer. The job was very seasonal and only the top management was given salary as compared to hourly. People were barley hitting 25-30 hours during the summer, but in the winter (almost all of Q4) we were asked to work about 55-65 hours a week 6 days per week. The normal work week was Tuesday-Saturday. When I first started I was promised a raise after 6 months (6 months from... when I started was when every employee received there yearly reviews), however the manger then told me that I wouldn't receive a raise, or even a review for that matter. I heard from others that their raise was only around $0.50 per hour. I was NOT about to stick around for 18 months for an extra $0.50 per hour. There were also minimum opportunities for growth unless you start near the top. The corporate ladder at RH is a steep one. I will say that if you are passionate about beautiful furniture, and you think that you can dedicate your life to just one company then it might be for you. Also, the warehouse that I was in didn't even have a scanning barcode system for incoming furniture. We had to make checklists and record the location of each piece manually. Then we would save the info on excel....as you can imagine, a majority of the day was spent looking for lost pieces. The fact the executive team did not see this investment in its own warehouse a necessity, while they were out spending MILLIONS on massive prime real estate galleries really didn't sit well with me. We could have been 10x more efficient. I worked there in 2017, so I can only hope that the guys there now have it better than me.

    Show More
    Restoration Hardware2019-10-31
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (8)

    "Practice what you preach!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company values, values meetings, gallery-level leadership team, encouragement of feedback from the leadership team, autonomy in the role, physical environment (the gallery is beautiful), client installs, schedule, company aesthetic, diverse group of coworkers

    Cons

    Toxic culture of gossip and nepotism, promotion of field leaders to oversee NGG (next-generation galleries) when they have never worked in one - leads to lack of understanding and unrealistic expectations, broken systems (SIGNAGE, corporate communication methods, allocation process, mapping systems), receiving less than a 3% raise after an "exceptional" review, zero growth opportunities within Curate, lack of... concern from corporate partners in regards to understanding that what works well for a sunny, California gallery with 10,000 square feet (plant types, large floor set updates, huge signage deliveries, etc.) is not as successful in a 65,000-square-foot gallery with heavy rain & moderate sunlight, outdated/irrelevant visual presentation resources, poor product quality

    Show More
    Restoration Hardware2019-08-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good benefits but high instability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Lead 

    I worked at Restoration Hardware full-time

    Pros

    Pay rate. Benefits. Galleries. Discount. People.

    Cons

    Instability. Management. Culture. Downsizing. Hypocritical.

    Restoration Hardware2019-08-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, high pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Gallery Leader 

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company culture. Pays well. Learned a lot.

    Cons

    Tough being a leader at such a high profile gallery. Crazy hours.

    Restoration Hardware2019-07-11
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great team to work with. This could vary by gallery."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Current Employee 

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team to work with.

    Cons

    Seems to be more interested in Wall Street and the Next Gen Gallaries and not legacy galleries/

    Advice to Management

    Corporate is not in touch with what happens in the gallery. Policies/procedures issued that are difficult to implement. Corporate needs to get out in the field - and not Corte Madre, NYC, or a next gen gallery.

    Restoration Hardware2019-06-23
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Nice balance of good & bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, amazing people with inspiring energy and values/morals, beautiful environments & there is growth potential.

    Cons

    I don't believe experience/education is taken as seriously as it should be. There is a lack of appreciation when it comes to being educated in interior design and having such a background. Its all about the sales at the end of the day, and if it means working your team to the point they no longer have a life, they can make that happen. If you treat people right and let them do they job they were hired to do? The... money comes in naturally with happy employees. They have wonderful values, but contradict them constantly. They say RH wants people with point of views, and to challenge the overall perspective, but shut down anything that isn't to their already composed views. One day they are for something and have a plan in action for improvement, the next day they are back a step. One day they have a larger vision in plan, the next day its forgotten. Not one single leader is on the same page, especially the field leaders. CEO has a great vision.. just not the right team of leadership to make it happen. Interview process is not completely honest. Be prepared to work retail hours, in which ever position you land on, and be expected to be a sales person, a curator, a house keeper for the gallery, on top of being an interior designer (if you find the time to do so).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Live and breathe the values that is asked for employees to do as well. Lead by example. Be bold, and daring, don't be so scared to stand up for your team, when what your team is standing for usually is about "what is right, rather than who is right." Listen. Innovate. Provide true Quality IN EVERYTHING & EVERYONE.

    Restoration Hardware2019-05-01
  9. Helpful (12)

    "TOXIC - RUN AWAY!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Lead in Corte Madera, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were some genuinely professional, good people at the Galleries and in CM. Salary appeared to be a bit higher than industry standard...however now I undersatnd why.

    Cons

    Toxic CULT environment! Be prepared to work all hours of the day or night, and always on weekends!! Management at corporate was laughable, absolutely ZERO management skills! Intimidateing tactics and beyond BAD leadership. Managers would openly berate employees on conference calls and in the middle of open office space in front of co-workers. Zero training or onboarding, be prepared for self-learning on your own... time. Everyone seems to be under the strange narcissist spell of Gary Friedman. Seriously, I understand the attraction if you are a fan of the RH style (as I was, and Failed to look at Glassdoor prior to taking the job) But if you want to maintain your health and continue to spend time with your family, RUN AWAY from this Toxic company!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Seek some management skills and learn how to treat people with respect.

    Restoration Hardware2019-03-28
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Stock/Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Stock 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met lots of designers and people who work in the design industry Gallery managers are easy to work with for the most part

    Cons

    Upper management was out of touch with the concerns of the galleries I didn't receive training until months after I was hired and at that point, it was a bit of a moot point

    Advice to Management

    more communication with the people on the ground floor

    Restoration Hardware2019-01-24
  11. Helpful (5)

    "Disappointed with potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good team. Decent pay. Beautiful ambiance to work in. Great brand.

    Cons

    The Scottsdale gallery has so much potential to be great and maintain amazing employees, but due to poor management i watched dozens of quality people, who clients loved come and go. It felt as though the gallery leader went out of her way to make us unhappy which is very unfortunate. It really took a toll on the energy. It almost felt like a mean girl system where we were picked on, whether it was what we wore, our... hair or our makeup. It was an uncomfortable, judgmental place to work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees. Make them feel valued. Actually live by the values and not pretend to.

    Restoration Hardware2019-01-15
Found 55 reviews