Restoration Hardware "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Restoration Hardware Reviews

Updated Jan 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
39%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Restoration Hardware Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Gary Friedman (no image)
Gary Friedman
371 Ratings
  1. "Planning Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planning Coordinator in Corte Madera, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, and positive work environment.

    Cons

    Limited movement out of departments. Once you are in one department i.e. planning it is difficult to move to the creative services department.

    Advice to Management

    Look further than immediate department when promoting from within.

    Restoration Hardware2014-09-30
  2. "Great Coworkwers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great People to work with

    Cons

    No growth opportunities within the company!

    Restoration Hardware2014-08-01
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Love/hate Relationship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, fun work environment, inspiring products with a huge product line. I met some great people that have become good friends.

    Cons

    Low pay and the only benefit is high health insurance. Ever since I started all I hear are the career opportunities. I'm always told exactly what I want to hear, but nothing ever happens. They claim to live and breath core values, but it's all talk.

    Advice to Management

    Stop dangling a carrot. Show your employees you care and want them to stay.

    Restoration Hardware2014-08-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware full-time

    Pros

    Values based culture, innovative & dynamic company who isn't afraid to take risks, casual atmosphere, great people, and beautiful office spaces with RH furniture & accessories.

    Cons

    This is a really dynamic environment that isn't for everyone, but the right people will find it to be an amazing company to work for. It's very fast paced and because we are so innovative, things change quickly. You need to be flexible and adaptive as it's not the most structured company. The lack of structure is what allows us to move so fast and integrate new ideas easily.

    Advice to Management

    More all - associate meetings, business updates. More company events.

    Restoration Hardware2014-06-30
  5. Helpful (3)

    "A reputable company that treats their employees as if they are easily replaceable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Advocate in Tracy, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -My Peers. I have met some of my best friends while working with RH. In fact, it is the only reason that many of us stay with the company. Great people work here. -Scheduled raises. A "step-up" program makes for set-raises for the first year of employment, and continued raises based on the quality of your work take place each year thereafter. -Health Benefits. RH contributes far more than many other companies, leaving our portion affordable. There are also 3 benefit plans to choose from.

    Show More

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the negative far outweigh the positive. If it wasn't for my peers, I would definitely be working somewhere else, along with many of fellow co-workers. -Management. Many of them do not understand the basic job, and look to their team for help. Then they continue to micro-manage as their main daily activity. In addition, policies change so often that can be difficult to keep track of. -Cleanliness. Our buildings have had major bug infestation problems. We get bug bites often, and cockroaches are visibly seen daily in our office and lunch room. Half the building stays sick at all times. -Work-life balance. 5-8 times per year the company require overtime for 2 weeks. This is about 16 weeks of the year, and it always occurs during major holidays, such as Christmas. Although many employees want the overtime, they require every single employee to partake. Vacation time is accrued at a very slow pace, and you cannot request time off unless you have the vacation hours already accrued. You are allotted 5 minutes per day to use the restroom. Use it any longer, and you are written up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on learning the job yourself and helping your teams provide exceptional service to our customers, and worry less about micro-managing the small things (I.E- bathroom breaks).

    Restoration Hardware2014-05-01
  6. "Great Retail Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware

    Pros

    Pay and company values. Great people to work with. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Heavy lifting at times. Long hours at holidays

    Restoration Hardware2014-03-30
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Restoration Hardware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Tulsa, OK
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The area the store is located in is really nice. The store hours are a lot better than mall hours. There are some great people on the team. I love, love, love the design world and this is part of it.

    Cons

    Core Value meetings in the morning are 20-30 minutes long and very unproductive. Answers are subjective and associates answers get publicly praised or reprimanded depending on the leader's mood. Hours are cut based on the needs of the business but also as retaliation. Scheduling is not done based on position. Full time hours may be cut, well liked part time employees might get full time hours. Not a good environment to express a differing opinion. At this location, the new gallery leader is very emotional and will often belittle associates in front of others. I was very excited to come to work here but it turned out to be a very negative environment. Other employees told me it used to be great. It was hard to watch how some of the sales people were treated by the store manager, also called a gallery leader. I'm glad I was in a position where I only needed a part time job for extra money. There are several unhappy people there who just can't quit.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be kind, live the values you are talking about over and over. Don't rule with fear.

    Restoration Hardware2014-03-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Stock Assocciate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Restoration Hardware part-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    None really that I could think of

    Restoration Hardware2013-10-29
  9. "Completely different than any other retail job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Leader in White Plains, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people with great culture in most stores. If the location you are part of is run by true and proper leaders you will never look for another job.

    Cons

    The new company direction is very new and has not achieved a strong structured environment. The back order dates on furniture and quality issues (broken furniture being delivered) need to be remedied.

    Advice to Management

    Don't let egos get out of control

    Restoration Hardware2013-08-23
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Egomaniacal executive team sets a very negative culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Restoration Hardware full-time

    Pros

    Some of the people who work there (the ones who do all the work, really) are great people.

    Cons

    The (former) CEO Gary Friedman set up a culture of ego that has trickled down throughout all departments.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of Gary once and for all.

    Restoration Hardware2013-06-20
Found 47 reviews