Retail Properties of America Reviews | Glassdoor

Retail Properties of America Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Retail Properties of America CEO Steven P. Grimes (no image)
Steven P. Grimes
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "It’s all about attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Manager in Renton, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Retail Properties of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people. The better your attitude the easier it is to get things done. The CEO and CFO aren’t hesitant to talk directly to the low man on the totem pole and provide direction, encouragement or seek answers to issues as the situation warrants. The department heads usually pick up the phone and are happy to assist. My direct supervisor has always expressed appreciation for the job I do and I have always felt... that this was a sincere statement.

    Show More

    Cons

    I’ve enjoyed quite a bit of anonymity in my position. However, that seems to vary from office to office. Some people express feeling micromanaged by their supervisors and express discontent when they are held accountable for actions they were instructed to take. I believe a consistency in this regard would allow employees to feel a sense of ownership in what they do and prevent people from passing the buck and... finger pointing. Teamwork needs to be all encompassing. Not satellite offices versus corporate or Leasing versus Property Management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No system, hardware or SOP changes during budget season. Seriously throws us off our game. I would also suggest moving away from the current goal system as a standard of measurement for employee compensation. Or if you are to continue, the goals should be scrubbed for feasibility. An employee trying to accommodate a goal only to be told by another department that the goal is unachievable creates frustration and... sometimes resentment. Otherwise I have enjoyed every moment spent with RPAI.

    Show More
    Retail Properties of America2018-09-24
  2. "great summer houre, NO FLEX TIME or appreciation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lease Administrator in Oak Brook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Retail Properties of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Summer hours, good team and 20 days off

    Cons

    no flex time or work from home, oy yearly increase

    Retail Properties of America2019-02-25
  3. "Property Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Retail Properties of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and full benefits

    Cons

    Demanding impersonal leadership and long work hours

    Retail Properties of America2018-11-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Excited about the future of the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oak Brook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Retail Properties of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Summer hours, flexibility with work when needed, jeans everyday! Small leadership team that slimmed down intentionally to forge the way ahead for the rest of the company. Management that obviously and honestly cares about every individual.

    Cons

    So much change going on (albeit positive) but the pace is a mile a minute! You have to be OK with constant change to work at RPAI. Also, the company has many remote offices so it's tough for employees in field offices to feel connected.

    Advice to Management

    "Keep transparency in communications - your continued efforts haven't gone unnoticed. We believe in the vision so keep doing what you're doing!"

    Retail Properties of America2018-09-19
  5. "On shakey ground"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Retail Properties of America full-time

    Pros

    Nice people in Texas to work with. Great Properties.

    Cons

    Didn't do enough to she EVERYBODY how important they are. Just the few "big earners" (for the company, not themselves.)

    Advice to Management

    I've heard since leaving that things are getting better. You have some great people and some not-so-great. Stop pushing-out the good people and keeping the trouble-makers.

    Retail Properties of America2018-05-18
  6. "Property Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Retail Properties of America full-time

    Pros

    Favorable working conditions, summer hours

    Cons

    Company is quite frugal

    Retail Properties of America2017-12-14
  7. "And another one bites the dust....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Retail Properties of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In my opinion, summer hours only.

    Cons

    Miserable environment. Oppressive and creatively stifling.

    Advice to Management

    They've lost another senior executive. How many is that now in 4 years? Too many. I think that in and of itself makes a statement. Can't keep talented, industry known execs...... One has to wonder why.

    Retail Properties of America2017-11-13
  8. "Opportunity knocks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Retail Properties of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Summer hours - fantastic! Good benefits. Open communication between departments if you ask questions. Annual goals are realistic and achievable. Upper management appreciates quality talent and strives to acknowledge and develop those individuals allowing opportunities for advancement. RPIA is constantly working to streamline processes to increase proficiency and thereby ease the workload of its team members.

    Cons

    Remote offices often feel disconnected from corporate.

    Advice to Management

    We're a very "nose to the grindstone" type of group. Find a way to increase the energy both at the corporate level and in the satellite offices. The most memorable meetings when I've retained the most information are those that are lighthearted, have a few comedic moments thrown in and engage the group.

    Retail Properties of America2017-09-23
  9. "Past employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investor Relations Specialist in Dunedin, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Retail Properties of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Young forward thinking results oriented senior leadership team and many talented employees. The benefits are great and the company culture is good.

    Cons

    Company is beholden to institutional investors they dismiss long term employees rather than empower them to mentor across the different disciplines.

    Advice to Management

    Get real with mentoring employees yearning to learn more, really care about furthering the futures of your employees so they will continue to add to your company's value

    Retail Properties of America2017-09-06
  10. "Unstructured company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Retail Properties of America

    Pros

    My co-worker was made the experience less painful!!

    Cons

    Total lack or organization, responsibility and leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Hire qualified people!

    Retail Properties of America2017-04-05
Found 22 reviews