Retail Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor

Retail Solutions Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Bert Clement
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "Great People who invest a lot of time and energy to make the company successful(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "RSi procrastinates too long on eliminating toxic employees(in 6 reviews)

  • "As I said in Pros Section, new leadership is trying to make the necessary changes(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Senior Application Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Applications Consultant in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Retail Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome (smart, hard working, no drama) people. Interesting projects. Free snacks & drinks. High profile clients who keep you up in the game.

    Cons

    Depends on your role, your priorities may change quite often. It’s exciting for some people, but could be stressful for some as well.

    Retail Solutions2019-05-28
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success 

    I have been working at Retail Solutions full-time

    Pros

    great people, will learn a lot if you ask questions, everyone is willing to help

    Cons

    coffee, the training could be better if they did it one on one

    Retail Solutions2019-06-09
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to grow skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Retail Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A very challenging and demanding work environment that has forced me to grow and develop my skills more in the last 12 months than almost a decade at larger Enterprise SAS company. While others find high expectations too challenging and perhaps would consider this a negative its important to realize that if the job was easy than they could hire anybody (more pool of people) to do it. Supply and demand would take...

    Show More

    Cons

    Being challenged can be overwhelming and the feeling of being mentally exhausted can sink in, but this is not necessarily a bad thing as it can lead to great results.

    Advice to Management

    Faster personal reviews on goals

    Retail Solutions2019-04-03

    Retail Solutions Response

    April 17, 2019Senior Director, HR

    Thank you for your feedback. Since we are a Big Data SaaS company on all of the latest technology stacks, employees can expect to learn and grow!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Solution Architect in Fayetteville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Retail Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture at Retail Solutions is the best of any company I've worked for. The people I get to work with are great; I tell people that I don't have coworkers, I have friends. Our leadership team is also top notch and has set a course for the future that is very exciting. RSi is an industry leader and is constantly developing new and innovative ways for CPG companies and retailers to leverage POS and Inventory...

    Show More

    Cons

    I wish we could bring new products to market a little more quickly

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you are doing!

    Retail Solutions2019-04-03

    Retail Solutions Response

    April 17, 2019Senior Director, HR

    Thanks for your feedback. I expect your wishes will come true! In an Agile environment, we have been making progress on launching software releases faster and more frequently.

  5. "Cutting edge Technology Company- good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Retail Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - All new technologies like microservices, K8s, HA proxy, Ansible, Spark, Hadoop, Scala, tableau, PowerBI, Azure cloud, HDInsight, Robot framework, API test automation, Mobile test automation and so on. - Enthusiastic team - Very good work environment - Friendly atmosphere - Supporting Management - Lot of Test automation

    Cons

    - sometimes late communication from Management

    Advice to Management

    None

    Retail Solutions2019-04-03

    Retail Solutions Response

    April 17, 2019Senior Director, HR

    Thanks for the feedback. Drop me a note to let me know where we can improve on communication. Our CEO has been great about holding All Hands meetings in every location almost every month.

  6. "Great things are definitely happening at RSi"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Retail Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Being in an ever changing industry like data requires the right mix of experience and fresh ideas. The CEO has created an environment that encourages, develops, and values both. * All global departments continue down the path of communicating and working in harmony with each other. * This is not just a job ... it's a career with an exciting upside

    Cons

    * Changing in real time like we have to is sometimes difficult for everyone to get their mind around

    Retail Solutions2019-04-03

    Retail Solutions Response

    April 17, 2019Senior Director, HR

    Thanks for your feedback. The dynamics are definitely changing in our customer's industry, and we have to be quick to adapt. Change is part of our environment, so I am glad you are enjoying the challenge.

  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Operations Engineer in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Retail Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Retail Solutions is very competitive in the Walmart market. -The work atmosphere is relaxed but purpose driven. -Great people and benefits -All employees are engaged with all levels of leadership.

    Cons

    -Small company so personal growth takes time.

    Retail Solutions2019-04-03

    Retail Solutions Response

    April 17, 2019Senior Director, HR

    Thanks for your feedback. You are in a smaller office so you might experience some growth limitations, but be sure to reach out to your manager. We are a global firm, so there might be opportunities outside of your office. Let me know if I can help.

  8. Helpful (11)

    "RSi is a Sinking Ship- poor career move"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Retail Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    RSi has/had some great people, and generally hires smart people who work hard and are knowledgeable about CPG Analytics and Big Data. There is always an opportunity to learn at RSi, and additional responsibilities can easily be picked up.

    Cons

    Unfortunately the company has been suffering a slow painful death for years: RSi has been underfunded by late stage VCs for nearly a decade. Meanwhile the industry has been changing rapidly- data sharing is easier and more transparent than ever, modern analytics architecture requires drastically less overhead, and the number and quality of competitive offerings has grown considerably. Internally the company is a mess...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees more ethically: when positions are being closed - try to find ways for people who have invested themselves into RSi to stay; pay a competitive wage and promote from within; and be more visible about major strategic changes.

    Retail Solutions2019-04-03
  9. Helpful (6)

    "New Executives Not Addressing Inherent Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Retail Solutions full-time

    Pros

    One of original players in space, technical expertise. Fun people.

    Cons

    New executives are ignoring product delivery problems and customers and employees are fleeing the sinking ship.

    Retail Solutions2018-12-23

    Retail Solutions Response

    April 2, 2019Senior Director, HR

    Our employee turnover is below average at all of our global locations.

  10. Helpful (8)

    "Management Lacking in Values and Ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Retail Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    HSA contributions are about the only thing good this company has going for them.

    Cons

    No accountability among executives and underlying racism and sexism in many interactions. The environment is extremely hostile and uncomfortable for anyone not in a position with a lot of leverage. Nepotism runs rampant in hiring and promotion choices. There is a lot of talk about tying actions to the company's core values, but many things that are said and done fly in the face of everything RSi should stand for. If you...

    Show More
    Retail Solutions2018-12-14
Found 52 reviews