Rev.com Reviews | Glassdoor

Rev.com Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Jason Chicola
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love that I have the capability to work from home in addition to my day job(in 150 reviews)

  • "Community Forum of fellow Rev Agents(in 44 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay, lots of difficult audio(in 92 reviews)

  • "They are now promoting people to be graders without giving them any training(in 68 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love it!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rev.com part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, fun and consistent. I love working for Rev

    Cons

    Sometimes people take jobs to quickly

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you guys are doing.

    Rev.com2019-05-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Captionist 

    I worked at Rev.com part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You do get to pick when and for how long you are going to caption.

    Cons

    It's not worth the pay. Please be aware that they pay you per minute of captioning regardless of how long it takes you to get the captioning finished. Lots of work and meticulous details for low pay.

    Rev.com2019-05-16
  3. "Good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rev.com part-time

    Pros

    It was nice to work when I wanted.

    Cons

    1. You had to wade through hundreds/thousands of poor audio quality files before finding a decent one to transcribe. 2. Pay is breadcrumbs. A one hour clip takes a good deal of time to get through. To get not even a half dollar per minute of audio made it less satisfying. 3. They change policy, promote a bonus for extra pay, and then give ya the axe for one file. One file dropped my accuracy enough to boot me.

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent in grading. Perhaps go through the audio files and if they are clear, good, if they are garbage, don't make us dig through and waste time to find work.

    Rev.com2019-05-15
  4. "It's what you make it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Transcriber in Asheville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rev.com part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I love learning from each job I transcribe, there's some very interesting stuff out there. I work from home when I want and as much as I want. I do not view this as a career, but more of a side hustle that I enjoy. Gives me an opportunity to use an editing certificate I got a few years ago. It is clear how long every job is and how much it pays and the money is in my PayPal account every Monday, never a problem.

    Cons

    Some of the jobs do have terrible audio quality, but you have the opportunity to listen to segments before you begin, so it's on you if you choose one that is hard to decipher.

    Advice to Management

    I guess if possible beg the freelancers to use optimal placement for their recording device. I have no doubt this is in their instructions. I really enjoy this as a part-time money maker.

    Rev.com2019-04-21
  5. "Good side hustle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Transcriber 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Rev.com part-time

    Pros

    Always jobs to transcribe Can work at your own pace/set your own hours

    Cons

    No cons I can think of so far.

    Rev.com2019-04-18
  6. "Amazing People & Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rev.com full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Rev honestly hires some of the most intelligent people I have had the pleasure of working with. It is so inspiring to see all departments in Rev: Sales, Engineering, Product , HR, and Support all working collaboratively towards the same goals. The culture is transparent and genuine and everyone truly wants the best for Rev, our customers, and our freelancers. (Revvers) The mission at Rev is to create great work from...

    Show More

    Cons

    I have been at Rev over 4 years and there aren't many cons. If I had to pinpoint it now I would just say, adjusting from being a startup to being a thriving growth stage start up. There are growing pains associated with any company at this stage, but we work through them collaboratively and effectively.

    Rev.com2019-04-29
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Fast growing company, lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Team Lead in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rev.com full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Almost always internally promotes. This means that you're working for most responsibility and ownership. There's a lot of room to grow as a younger engineer - Meaningful work. Your work helps employee tens of thousands of freelancers. - Amazing team. Rev was started by a group of MIT grads and continues to only recruit the best.

    Cons

    - It's a startup. Company processes can have some rough edges as policies and procedures are developed. Hours can be long and expectations higher.

    Rev.com2018-12-10
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Great place but 0 job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rev.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fun place, decent management, interesting office, food?

    Cons

    Company seems to be directionless, they restructure and fire whole sales teams and claim your "just not part of the start up moving forward" saw 3 people get let go in my first week who were not only skilled but tenured.

    Advice to Management

    be more honest in your 1v1s sales people at this level have financial obligations. No one wants to coast week to week hoping they dont get let go.

    Rev.com2018-11-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rev.com full-time

    Pros

    Engaging work, good coworkers, functional office, freedom to move.

    Cons

    Below-market wages targeted at college hires

    Rev.com2018-10-23
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Representative 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rev.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team is small and very close-knit, great collaboration and teammates are always willing to help one another. Set hours, but requesting time off is flexible.

    Cons

    I felt like I was treated unfairly in comparison to other team members, and double standards existed with senior team members versus new team members. Sometimes the amount of work coming in is unmanageable and team leads have unreasonable expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more support reps per shift so the amount of work coming in does not get overwhelming. Treat all employees fairly in terms of requesting time off, amount of work accomplished, et cetera.

    Rev.com2018-08-29
Found 46 reviews