Revature "2 year contract" Reviews | Glassdoor

Revature Employee Reviews about "2 year contract"

Updated Mar 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Revature Chief Executive Officer Ashwin Bharath
Ashwin Bharath
106 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work culture at revature is very good(in 28 reviews)

  • "I was in a 10-week training program for full-stack java (microservices)(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay during training is almost minimum wage when it should be at least(in 32 reviews)

  • "You don't have a lot of control over where you end up during your 2 year contract and being a contractor is worse than being a full time employee(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "2 year contract"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company to start your career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Revature full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You learn about a lot of different technologies, their insight into the professional spawn is on point and they have a lot of resources to help you during your contract

    Cons

    You don't have a lot of control over where you end up during your 2 year contract and being a contractor is worse than being a full time employee.

    Revature2020-02-19

    Revature Response

    February 21, 2020

    Thanks for your feedback! We're happy to hear you've enjoyed the training, and it sounds as if it's already paying dividends to jumpstart your career. Part of what makes our training so impactful is our demand-driven model, which allows us to work in partnership with our clients to understand the tools and technologies needed for our employees to hit the ground running. The combination of the model, training, and our employees' aptitude is why 85% of our employees convert to full-time employees within 15 months while they're on the client site. We're excited to see the great things that you're going to accomplish. Please keep in touch with us at ceo-feedback@revature.com!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (146)

    "Fantastic kick start to my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Revature full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I graduated with a degree not even remotely related to Computer Science, but had always had a knack for programming. I applied to the boot camp on a whim and ended up being a top performer in their classroom-like training setting. I specifically requested being in a C# training "batch" and they were able to accommodate my request, although a lot of my classmates were upset because they were led to believe they were training in Java technologies. After training (which is very much like a full college course load) there is a process called "Staging" in which you study for certifications and continually take interviews with different companies. This was a grueling and stressful process for me, as I was slated to be placed at multiple companies without the need for interviews, but the contracts fell through, which led to me waiting around the office twiddling my thumbs for a month before being bombarded with interviews one after the other once my managers realized the deals were off. I was eventually placed at a very large and prominent company, however, so I was pretty happy with the result. I did end up moving half way across the country though. They will send you to any client in the continental United States, and you have no choice, so realize that it is a possibility! My contract included a right-to-hire clause, which means the client has the ability to buy out my contract from Revature and I would become an associate at the client company, no longer under my Revature contract. I was also a little different in the sense that my contract was only one year when most people have two year contracts. This was great because I had the opportunity of becoming an employee directly under my client company quickly. Unfortunately, there was a snafu with my client company's fiances and I ended up staying on with Revature for longer than my contract stated. I was okay with this, however, because Revature offered me a significant raise for my second year of employment which was an unexpected, but welcomed surprise. Once on the client's site, I had very little to no contact with Revature. I went two to three months at a time having never spoken to a Revature manager or HR. They kept sending me paychecks and I was doing well at my client company, so I suppose everything was in order anyway. There was also a large amount of other Revature employees at my client company so I didn't feel like I was alone. Coming from a person with a non CS degree, I would say the boot camp is hard but certainly doable for someone who has a basic understanding of programming skills, and more importantly, the ability to learn quickly and a willingness to learn new technologies. This was exactly what I needed to get into the Software Development industry. Had I not gone through Revature, it would have been personally impossible for me to be working as a Software Engineer at the company I am today, and I mean that sincerely.

    Cons

    - 2 year contract - Underpaid for the industry standard. If you have a CS degree and the relative skills to land a position, you're probably better off finding a job on your own. - I never had an issues with my paycheck, clients, or other business, but there is a lack of HR support across the company for employees on projects. They are working to improve this, but I've seen colleagues struggle with HR problems that should be easily addressable. - Until you finish training and start making money for the company, you are very much treated like an expendable commodity. If they don't think you'll be a desirable employee for a software company, they'll cut you loose during training.

    Continue reading
    Revature2019-05-19
  3. "My Experience at Revature"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Revature full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Like many that are looking at Revature, I too was skeptical. You read all these things about them that it can really make you think twice about working here. But let me tell you, joining Revature was a very good life decision. They are very up front of you in your recruitment call. Yes, there is a 2 year contract, but the prospect of getting that experience is the main factor when deciding if you want to join them. The skills you learn are invaluable and prepare you for your future endeavors for software development!

    Cons

    The management can be very hectic, planning and organization can be all over the place.

    Revature2020-03-20

    Revature Response

    April 1, 2020

    Thank you for your valuable feedback and for choosing us to help launch your career!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Decent Place to find your first job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Revature full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid to learn. Housed to learn. Set up for success as long as you are willing to learn. Great benefits. 2 year contract with buyout clause.

    Cons

    Minimum Wage. Huge salary cut for the first year of contract. 2 year contract with buyout clause. Could be placed anywhere in the US after graduation from training (can negotiate depending on the client...and negotiation skills).

    Continue reading
    Revature2019-12-17

    Revature Response

    December 30, 2019

    Thank you for your review. We're pleased to read your positive experience! We understand that pay during training is lower than desired, however, due to the upfront training investment on our end with no monetary cost to the employees, it's the best we can offer at this time. However, thanks to feedback like yours, we are continually assessing how we can improve, so thank you for sharing. If you would like to share anything more, please reach out to us at ceo-feedback@revature.com. Thanks again, and keep in touch!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to start your IT career with, but frustration will happen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Business Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Revature full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great start to your career in IT if you have no experience. They will push you a lot, but it is so worth it. A lot of great skills. Meet a lot of new people. Company is growing so much. Culture is getting better, heard they are starting to pay more to new trainees. Overall, company is on the rise and may mean something 3,5, even 10 years down the road.

    Cons

    Pay will be below industry average. Benefits are okay. Paid Time Off is not much, have to accrue over time. 2 year contract is not ideal. Sometimes employees (HR, Acct. Managers) don't do their job well.

    Revature2019-11-12

    Revature Response

    November 21, 2019

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We're always working to improve our workplace and culture, and we're excited to see it's catching on! We'd love to hear more of your thoughts - shoot us an email at ceo-feedback@revature.com.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Intense for very little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Revature full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The course work is very intense and you will learn a lot if you dedicate all of your time.

    Cons

    You get paid very little during the training months especially after subtracting living costs. If you do not dedicate all of your time or have been exposed to the course work prior to getting here you will have a hard time keeping up. Individual help from trainers is minimal as there are so many people per batch it is really difficult for them to provide proper guidance. The 2 year contract and not being able to have any say in where you will be going are also cons.

    Continue reading
    Revature2019-11-01

    Revature Response

    November 6, 2019

    We appreciate your feedback and will reconvene as we're always looking at ways to improve our experience for our employees. As a quick explainer on our training, it's purposely accelerated to help our employees fill in their skills gap by teaching the latest technologies. Often, our employees and corporate partners site the quality of training as something that separates them from their peers and enables our employees to advance farther, faster. Thanks again for your feedback, and if you think of anything else, please let us know at ceo-feedback@revature.com.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (21)

    "Good Starting Point, Bad Price Point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - .NET Developer 

    I worked at Revature full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They provide exactly what they say, quickly bringing up a fresh college grad to a competent professional level. This is under the assumption that you are keeping up with the bootcamp course load as they will cut you if you can't keep up. I learned more about development/coding in the bootcamp course, then over 4 years in college. After the 2 year contract is up, you should have the confidence and experience to be able to get nearly any job at your level of experience.

    Cons

    You are SEVERELY underpaid during your mandatory 2 year contract. I was being paid a $50,000 a year salary (with a 10% raise after year 1) when I started, but now I know that people are being started at $45,000 a year (with a 15% raise after year 1). I was placed in the DC Metro area and that place has an extremely high cost of living. If you have any other job offers/opportunities I would suggest take that instead. You'll get paid more and have better benefits HR is trash. They are either late on responses or don't even send the correct paperwork when asked

    Continue reading
    Revature2019-09-19
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Training Bootcamp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Revature full-time

    Pros

    Minimum wage to get trained

    Cons

    2 year Contract no say on where you get contracted to

    Revature2019-10-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Extreme but new doors opened"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Revature full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay you to train you up from the bottom. Discounted boarding. Paid parking passes. Limited paid moving expenses. 2 year contract. Become close with your training team members. Just need a bachelors without any experience.

    Cons

    Extreme boot camp training. Can be let go without notice. No say in where you end up working after training. 2 year contract.

    Continue reading
    Revature2019-09-09
  10. Helpful (196)

    "Brutally honest full review of Revature"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Java Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Revature for more than a year

    Pros

    You are being paid to learn! $500 relocation fee to get there, $500 relocation when they send you to a job site. You pay $110 a week to stay in their housing (apartments). Minimum wage full time for roughly 10 weeks plus however long they stage you (try to place you with a client). While considering a lot of the shade being thrown at Revature, they make this very clear what your earnings are, and they don't understand that Revature is paying you to invest in you. This company profits on training you then contracting you out to mostly other contracting companies. With that being said, the training is excellent. Fully submersive, the trainers are great. 9-5, every day. You'll be constantly going from whiteboard learning, to hands on coding, to doing a homework assignment or project over it on a weekly basis. You will also be expected to memorize and have an in-depth understanding of everything you're doing and have done. You will have an interview, quiz, a quality control session every week, and either homeworks or projects to work on. I consider myself fairly lazy, you will not survive that way. I would say I studied roughly 5 hours a week outside of class and worked on assignments anywhere from 5-20 hours a week outside of class. If you slack, you will be sent home. As they are investing in you, if they don't view you as profitable, they will cut ties with you. This constantly puts pressure on everyone to perform. Once you've completed training, you will move to 'staging' where essentially you're just studying for the OCA exam which they encourage you to take, or prepare for interviews (everyone secretly just plays games). A handful of people usually get hired right out of training, and for my batch in particular, everyone was placed on a client within 3 weeks; although I've heard stories of people waiting almost 3 months. You're given a week to relocate. They mainly have clients on the east coast, but essentially they can send you anywhere and you don't have a choice. Excellent training/trainers Software engineering batch learned an indepth foundationally sound full stack They want you to succeed! (They don't make money off of you if you don't) Met a lot of interesting people and some friends You get a chance to explore, I trained in one state, and worked in another state You will be placed on a big name client Your career should be looking excellent after a 2 year investment with Revature It's essentially like going to the military, get shipped off, make ends meat, but you're set for the rest of your life afterwards They allow for clients to buy you out of contracts (quite a few people end up getting bought out) They allow for government contracts with clearances You will sign a contract that allows for employers to not work you more than 40 hours, and you have to agree to overtime if you want it

    Cons

    Minimum wage to train to essentially work 40 hours, yet you will spend anywhere from 5-30 hours outside of class a week to study or do work. It isn't easy, they work hard to filter out the people that companies won't want.. even down to appearance. You will be wearing a suit at least once a week. They give you $500 to relocate to a client, very difficult to move all of your belongings and find a place to live off of that 2 year contract with 19k penalty fee for breach, you can't leave them and work for a similar job or company 50k a year is well below industry standard, but you knew that when you signed up for it HR is a joke, many people were screwed around. Told they would be getting their own bedroom, ended up 2 people to a room. Placed in hotels with bed bugs and cockroaches when they ran out of apartments. Good luck with your money, the HR team will manage to screw up your paycheck at least a dozen times while you work for them, they are however, diligent on fixing mistakes

    Continue reading
    Revature2018-03-30
Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews