Reverb Reviews | Glassdoor

Reverb Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Reverb Founder/CEO David Kalt (no image)
David Kalt
31 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I'm proud to say that I work at Reverb."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reverb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - excellent benefits package - work-life balance - monthly lunch and happy hour - rockstar employees My experience at Reverb has always been positive because I work with amazing people. I've never felt more challenged within my role and I feel respected as a woman within a growing tech company. Receiving consistent praise from David Kalt is one of the reasons why I feel that my job is important and what my... team does is important.

    Show More

    Cons

    Product and engineering teams have a lot on their plate that it may affect other teams who are striving to improve their internal tools -- timelines for product and engineering to implement are slow.

    Reverb2019-07-22
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Room to learn and make cool stuff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reverb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with smart people who want to make the site work. It's nice arriving at 9am and leaving at 5pm sharp with little exception. There's a lot of potential to grow in Engineering simply because there's a lot of good ideas and sharpening of current features yet to do. It's nice to have the opportunity to share what you know and have people listen.

    Cons

    Software projects flip-flop without a lot of transparency. Reverb is shifting from being a small company to being a part of a larger org.

    Advice to Management

    Decide what a coaching culture means and how it works in practice. Connect high-level goals to actionable engineering projects.

    Reverb2019-08-30
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (13)

    "Seriously, the worst."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reverb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some smart, genuine people here.

    Cons

    I've never been more stressed out, anxious and depressed over any other job in my life. Sexism and clickyness run rampant in the company. When harassment is reported, it's basically shrugged off or you get blamed for it. The CEO is the worst leader I've ever seen. He loves to scream at your fellow coworkers in public and humiliate them. His attitude reeks of entitlement. Basically everything that everyone... else said has been true for me too. I'm glad other people are finally speaking up about all the issues that are going on in this company because I thought I was going crazy.

    Show More
    Reverb2019-06-03
  5. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY

    I have been working at Reverb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work I recommend it, friendly staff.

    Cons

    Not many cons to write about for this bit.

    Advice to Management

    Can't really think of much to say

    Reverb2019-04-28
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Exhausting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reverb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've really enjoyed the friendships I've made here so far, there's a lot of good people. The benefits are pretty par-for-the-course for tech but good. Work/life balance is good.

    Cons

    I'll start by saying, I've been around the block in the tech industry and, while tech has a certain degree of unhealthy idiosyncrasies, and I've never experienced the degree of unhealth in any of my previous companies that I've experienced at Reverb. Between the constant course correcting and "disruption", it's exhausting. Lots of back talk, lots of gossiping. Often feels like half my job is doing my actual job... description and the other half is just navigating the ever-changing moods of the leadership.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There's a fair bit of manipulation that goes on behind the scenes. Stop putting so much effort into controlling the narrative (whether in meetings or even on Glassdoor). Actually put the effort into changing things

    Reverb2019-03-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reverb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All the standard tech perks: free medical, generous PTO, snacks, ping pong etc. The Company also really embodies the mission of making the world more musical. We work hard but there is an emphasis on work/life balance too. Most importantly, there’s lots of opportunity for growth. As a result, this is one of the most rewarding professional experiences I’ve had.

    Cons

    Typical tech growing pains. We could use more structure and process while not sacrificing growth and creativity.

    Reverb2019-03-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place, hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reverb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reverb is building a fantastic product and has employees who are engaged and care about what they are doing. Great benefits, office space, people and leadership.

    Cons

    We work hard. That isn't really a negative, but there seems to be a perception that we all sit around and play guitar. This is a product and mission driven team that is working hard to make the world more musical.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing forward while ignoring the noise.

    Reverb2019-02-13
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Lol come on dawg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Reverb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I mean I guess if you like to make alright money in an EXTREMELY cut throat, fast-paced, intense as all hell, everybody trying to up the next guy, chatter behind your back about you, 1 am emails of how you better shape up or you're out, everybody keeping a smile but probably going effing nuts inside like the rest of us from how demanding this job is for the money, then yeah it's perfect!

    Cons

    Love getting yelled at on the weekly. Essentially you're expected to be one of two things: perfect, or a machine.

    Advice to Management

    Lol this place was hilarious

    Reverb2019-02-18
  10. "Great Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Engagement Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reverb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office is full of very smart, driven young people. Really easy to communicate between departments. Benefits and PTO are great.

    Cons

    Some members of senior management can be intimidating and cliquey.

    Reverb2019-02-04
  11. Helpful (11)

    "Good work, dangerous culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reverb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many interesting problems to solve. The company works at a face pace. There is an emphasis on trying something and learning from it. Peers enjoy working with each other and often make it fun. All teams try hard to improve the lives of Reverb's users. Work/life balance is healthy. You pull late hours here and there for a big effort or if there's an issue, but the company understands that families and lives come... first. No chasing of VC money just to chase it. You will be challenged, learn, and grow.

    Show More

    Cons

    Reverb has been built on a foundation of abuse. When you interact up the org chart, there is a good chance you will be yelled at, swore at, disrespected in public, or criticized without being listened to. Those that don't mind this culture thrive. Those who do leave. Opinions outside leadership are not valued. In public, they say they want to hear the best ideas. But what matters is what they say. If there was... a clear vision for the company, it'd be less concerning. There is an imbalance in how tech workers are treated vs non-tech. Engineers and designers get conference budgets and are protected from routine work. Not unique to Reverb among tech companies, but worth knowing. The pros must be balanced with an experience that, if you aren't on leadership or tech, can devalue you as a person.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You can't change a culture without breaking it.

    Reverb2019-01-26
Found 38 reviews