Rex Healthcare Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Rex Healthcare President Steve Burriss
Steve Burriss
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "It was a great place to work and management was always good to me(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and good scheduling(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great hospital!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rex Healthcare part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management is organized and helpful. I love the community feel of the hospital.

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Rex Healthcare2020-04-29
  2. "Great pay expensive benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Surgical Scheduler in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rex Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and daycare for employees

    Cons

    Benefits were very expensive and so was the daycare

    Rex Healthcare2020-02-18
  3. "Worst place that I've ever worked!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rex Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New H&V building and a lot of new renovations

    Cons

    Low pay for an awful job at an awful hospital. I've never seen such disregard to staff and patients. They make cuts left and right and not in the right places. There are WAY too many Chiefs and not enough Indians. For a place that hypes up being a "Magnet Facility" and having "Top Leap Frog Scores" it is a total joke. The reason they get away with it is because the place is run by new graduates who don't know any better. These new "know it all" nurses are at the beginning of their career and will put up with anything to try and get ahead. The charge nurses and "team leaders" have 1-2 years of experience... and think they know everything.... it's sad. The medical care is lacking and behind. When suggesting evidence based practice it is shot down because "well that's how we've always done it. "

    Continue reading
    Rex Healthcare2019-12-28
  4. "Going down, people leaving in droves"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rex Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love my patients and my co-workers but things have been rapidly declining in the last 1-2 years even faster in the last 6 months.

    Cons

    Big changes in leadership and in what leadership holds as the most important thing. People and our patients used to be the most important, and always doing the right thing. Now it is money. Plain and simple. Resources have been slashed to the point that every department is struggling to keep their head above water. This applies to entities beyond main campus as well where the effects are being felt tremendously. I loved working at Rex because I felt like I was working towards the greater good and making a difference. Now that feeling is no longer there. Many co-workers have voiced that they feel they are on a “sinking ship”. Things just keep getting worse and there is no support from management or leadership other than the constant threat that more cuts are coming. I also want to speak to a culture of lack of accountability. No one seems to want to take control or responsibility for anything. The people that get promoted or offered advancement seems random or that they may have personal connections. Co-workers who work hard are not rewarded and those who don’t are not reprimanded. Very sad things have gone this way.

    Continue reading
    Rex Healthcare2019-11-10
  5. "Great Place To Wirk"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Revenue Cycle Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rex Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Workplace culture is awesome and I love my teammates and the relationship that we have established through the years! ❤

    Cons

    The growing pains of merging with Unc Health System has been challenging within the my department but it is getting better every day.

    Continue reading
    Rex Healthcare2019-09-12
  6. "Rex hospital"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rex Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent growth opportunities for some

    Cons

    Depends on who you know

    Continue reading
    Rex Healthcare2019-09-18
  7. "Great wages"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA in Raleigh, NC

    I have been working at Rex Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great wages and good atmosphere

    Cons

    Sometimes work load is overwhelming

    Continue reading
    Rex Healthcare2019-07-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Attrition is the new status quo"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rex Healthcare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Tight-knit team with family oriented company culture.

    Cons

    Applicants beware, the hospital admins have dropped the ball on a huge venture and are scrambling to make up the loss in revenue with a policy of planned attrition. This policy is having a snowballing effect for some departments, where staff have been minimized such that operational capabilities are severely hampered, lowering staff morale which then leads to more team members leaving. The frustration and resentment is palpable in the hallways of the hospital, where I regularly hear nurses urging one another "don't leave me here, you have to take me with you if you leave!" This policy of attrition will also (in my humble estimation) have a meaningful impact on patient satisfaction metrics, as staff shortages will likely lead to more dangerous conditions for patients as well as significant delays in care. For example, a relative of mine was recently admitted and had to wait 5 hours to have a simple blood draw for her labs, which were given a STAT order, before she could be discharged. The phlebotomist rushed in the door, visibly flustered and very apologetic, claiming that she was the only one working that evening for the entire hospital. Rex has however approved a myriad of "analyst" positions recently. Some of these positions consist of individuals peering over the shoulders of front line staff and HCP's in an effort to target inefficiencies. Meanwhile, that same frontline position is relegated to the back burner when an individual resigns. In other words, Rex is hiring people to *watch* people work, but won't hire someone to *perform* the work. I'm not sure if these developments have more to do with UNC's acquisition of Rex Healthcare or the new COO and CFO for Rex, both of whom appear to have adopted a policy of slash and burn to improve metrics in the short run. My inclination is that many of the changes these individuals are implementing will NOT be good for our organization in the long run. Aside from these issues, Rex struggles with career development paths for high performing individuals. Good performance is rarely rewarded and poor performance is rarely reprimanded, which is great if you are one of the "clock in, clock out, do the bare minimum and collect a paycheck" folks. But if you are a motivated young professional, don't expect for many doors to open for you here, especially with positions being eliminated ad nauseam.

    Continue reading
    Rex Healthcare2019-08-16
  9. "Overall great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Holly Springs, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rex Healthcare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall family like team environment. Compensation/benefits are as good or better than other facilities in the area.

    Cons

    Since the merge with UNC, upper management feels distant. Budget is overextended with new hospital projects.

    Continue reading
    Rex Healthcare2019-06-29
  10. "Great for pursing your nutrition long term job goals"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nutrition Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rex Healthcare part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, chose holidays to work.

    Cons

    Have to work weekends, work in small office space

    Continue reading
    Rex Healthcare2019-06-18
Found 135 reviews