Reyes Beer Division Reviews | Glassdoor

Reyes Beer Division Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
Reyes Beer Division CEO Tom Day (no image)
Tom Day
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free beer is the only thing I can say(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great co-workers, great company values, free beer down at the company bar once you're "off the clock"(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "The work life balance is not where it should be(in 7 reviews)

  • "long hours (minimum 48hr work week) with no overtime pay for salaried non-bargaining employees(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Management Policy Improvements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Manager in Summerville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reyes Beer Division full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The most recent management policy implementation has been a huge success. We have gravitated to a more hands off approach which allows the sales team to organize their schedule as they see fit. We are able to manage our account base as if it were our own business. Like any business the more time and energy you invest the greater the outcome. This new style of management has done wonders for morale and has... alleviated the pressure to follow strict guidelines to achieve success. For many employees it has been a game changer. We are seeing employees (both old and new) unlock their potential and flourish. The management team acknowledges and appreciates feedback.

    Show More

    Cons

    This job is not for the faint of heart. Thick skin and a strong work ethic is a must in this industry. Working 6 days a week and 12+ hour work days are not uncommon. The work life balance is not where it should be. However, we are slowly but surely headed in the right direction.

    Advice to Management

    Communication and trust have improved greatly. Continue to give/receive feedback. We have a fairly young management team and we are learning from each other daily and finding new ways to grow the business and fine tune day to day operations.

    Reyes Beer Division2019-04-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Rosemont, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reyes Beer Division full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work in beer industry, sales experience, set hours know what to expect

    Cons

    stressful, unorganized accounts, dated CRM

    Reyes Beer Division2019-08-08
  3. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reyes Beer Division full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work and continuous change.

    Cons

    Pressure from Sales. Service. Life balance

    Reyes Beer Division2019-07-11
  4. "Pleased with this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Rosemont, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reyes Beer Division full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly culture, great building and promote from within.

    Cons

    No sick days, only PTO. Would appreciate an increase in PTO. Need a better tuition reimbursement plan and in job training.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Reyes Beer Division2019-05-06
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Embarrassing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reyes Beer Division full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Unique industry, good co-workers, free beer.

    Cons

    HR driven. useless initiatives that interfere with workday i.e. POET, Cheers Cards, endless committees, "voluntold" for company event participation, weak management regionally (Mike Vaca)& locally (Dean McMillan). Employee Engagement & local surveys are coached to ensure the "correct" answers are submitted. 55-60 hour weeks so no work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Remove HR from the operational direction. Employees need to be led rather than appeased. Too many good employees frustrated by HR & corporate interference. Stop making numbers on the backs of your supervisors. Bring Duke Reyes back to the west coast to replace the current brother who makes people uncomfortable when he speaks.

    Reyes Beer Division2019-04-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Sylmar, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reyes Beer Division full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not many pros here except that I am leaving the company

    Cons

    Lack of communication skills Favoritism Lack of advancements unless you are a brown noser, Benefits are good but not great Took away tuition reimbursement Took away employee discount plan Need to train management and terrible HR Threats made to employees by management Shall I keep going?

    Advice to Management

    My advice to corporate office, is to be more involved in your businesses and not allow management treat us employees like you currently do. Train management and HR

    Reyes Beer Division2019-02-28
  7. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Professional in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reyes Beer Division full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    such a fun culture and a great organization to grow with, greta benefits and great team members

    Cons

    no cons at this time

    Reyes Beer Division2018-09-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Logisitic Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reyes Beer Division full-time

    Pros

    cannot think of any. if even has any

    Cons

    Poor core and management Hr poor STAY AWAY!

    Advice to Management

    build up your management and hr.

    Reyes Beer Division2018-08-11
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Unprofessional & inexperienced!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reyes Beer Division full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay decent people work there

    Cons

    Professionalism? HR department is a joke. Management is obviously inexperienced. This company in San Diego is obviously scared of conflict and lacks leadership skills. Grow a pair and handle your business! Any feedback to employees or potential employees is needed!

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiding behind your desk! Do what's right! Feedback good or bad should be given!

    Reyes Beer Division2018-06-25
  10. "Operations Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reyes Beer Division full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company culture, internal growth and development, teamwork

    Cons

    Long hours, corporate infrastructure

    Advice to Management

    Continue to recognize your teams and there performance

    Reyes Beer Division2018-05-22
Found 53 reviews