Rhodia (US) Reviews | Glassdoor

Rhodia (US) Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Rhodia (US) CEO Jim Harton (no image)
Jim Harton
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Mid-sized company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analytical Chemist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rhodia (US) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with high level managers on a daily basis, challenging environment

    Cons

    Have to do a lot of work outside your core responsibilities (not too much support staff), but it can be useful to learn the intricacies of the company

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Rhodia (US)2014-01-06
  2. "Great Opportunity to Run a Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Business Director in Cranbury, NJ

    I worked at Rhodia (US) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked with a strong team both in North America and Europe. I was given autonomy to make decisions for my team. I learned a great deal about running a business. I enjoyed the global character of the company.

    Cons

    Top management changed often which meant frequent shifts in strategic direction.

    Rhodia (US)2017-02-17
  3. "Great place to work with many opportunities for advancements."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rhodia (US) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Provides opportunities for advancement. Salary is among the industry standards. Good values. Solid company foundation.

    Cons

    Fastpaced company. Expectations of the employees to take on and handle multiple roles at once.

    Rhodia (US)2014-03-19
  4. "learned a lot during my time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Bristol, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rhodia (US) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay, good hours, flexible scheule

    Cons

    not much work, very slow at times

    Advice to Management

    assign more work to interns

    Rhodia (US)2013-07-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rhodia (US)

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility at times

    Cons

    Poor performers are not held accountable

    Rhodia (US)2013-07-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Its okay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineer in Winder, GA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rhodia (US)

    Pros

    Low pressure. In good markets. Good co workers.

    Cons

    Spending money to fix problems is hard to get. Low paying. Low bonuses.

    Advice to Management

    Make your employees your number one asset. Pay better and people won't leave so much.

    Rhodia (US)2010-11-22
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Rhodia. Only for a while and just that."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Cranbury, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rhodia (US)

    Pros

    Only if you have to. Rhodia does not have a long term commitment to their folks. I can not give any good reasons to work for this company except if you are out of work and looking for something to tide you over. Most of the workers are nice and kind. Management is very strange and needs to learn people skills. They are hardly the brightest bunch I have ever encountered. There is little communication with management.... If you are a temp, and that is about 50% of the work force any day can be your last.

    Show More

    Cons

    Most of the employees are temps. There is a hiring freeze. Top management is French but OK. US management does not recognize talent and only rewards long term employees. It is very difficult to move from temp to permanent. Recent SAP implementation was not well done. Rhodia has substantial outstanding accounts. The price of the product has increased due to oil . There are serious problems with transportation and... multi plant operations that are not being addressed. The quality of the staff is non professional at best .

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change dictatorial style. Sack most of HR. Hire talent not temps.

    Rhodia (US)2008-09-28
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Dysfunctional Prototype. How not to run a division."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Laboratory 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rhodia (US)

    Pros

    You get a paycheck? Actually, the flexible time off from work is the single benefit. You can learn a lot about yourself in working with no leadership. Projects and production are all up to you, therefore the knowledge is yours to acquire and use elsewhere.

    Cons

    Management seems confused as to how to run efficient systems. Very high attrition rates. Male dominiate atmosphere with an affinity for female distractions. Interdeparmental relationships is the main source of unfair favortism and promotions. No room for upward mobility. Females get little or no respect with this organization, even though is very evident that the female personnel account for 90% of critical tasks... in the plant. There is only one female in management within the plan with over 150 employees. This place is what I would call boot camp training. If you had any other aspirations, forget it. Just get the knowledge and run. I have not been able to do this because I am changing careers and completing my education in another field.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Use the talent you have (females) and watch your organization grow to new heights. Get rid of the dead weight in management by following the high level of attrition in specific departments. Mandate rules for personal relationships how they benefit the participants. Follow a platform that works not every division of Rhodia resembles a failing model. Look to those divisions and... model their business practices. Keep communication open, and not leave people in the dark. Knowledge is power and not to the detriment of the whole. Give credit where it is due (front-line). Reward work based on tangible performance and not how well supervisors like you.

    Show More
    Rhodia (US)2008-06-30
  9. "Chemist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Rhodia (US) full-time

    Pros

    Good salary in the region, no two days are same

    Cons

    Shift pattern not that great

    Rhodia (US)2019-01-04
  10. "great for recent grad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rhodia (US)

    Pros

    good pay, the lab boss is great

    Cons

    the higher management suck horribily

    Advice to Management

    get it together

    Rhodia (US)2012-10-17
Found 16 reviews