RichRelevance Reviews

Updated Dec 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
RichRelevance President and Chief Product Officer  Sarath Jarugula
Sarath Jarugula
0 Rating
Pros
  • "Laid back atmosphere with great work life balance; generally lax (unlimited) paid time off and work from home policy(in 11 reviews)

  • "still one of the best (if the not the best) solution for personalization(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Loss of some good people in the last years(in 5 reviews)

  • "Lots of smart people let go without any safety net(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great people doing great work

      Dec 8, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great, hardworking colleagues on my team and throughout the company. Smart, good human beings who do their best to work collaboratively and get the job done. Despite being remote since March, everyone's really pulled together to stay connected with each other and focused on the right things. It's one of the few places I've worked where the company really lives its values. Products that have real world impact, especially during the COVID shutdowns when retail has had to rely much more heavily on their online channels. Good benefits and some creative perks. My favorite is the personalized bobbleheads everyone gets on their 1st anniversary.

      Cons

      We run lean. We could get even more done if we had a few more people.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Run, run away and never return

      Sep 5, 2019 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart co-workers. You get to learn a lot from them. Many were let go during the massive lay-offs.

      Cons

      - Benefits: Industry offers better benefits. Benefits offered at Richrelevance are just meh. Insurance is expensive. No commuter benefits such as Uber / Lyft credits. Many startups at San Mateo offers better benefits. - Company culture: The culture is to hire and fire. For once I thought the current CEO has a good vision but he is worst than the previous one. CPO is the worst thing that has ever happen to this company. He brags about what he has achieved so far but when it comes to product and hiring, he made some terrible choices causing 50% engineering layoffs. - Product: Many customers are building their own recommendation system, thus leaving rich relevance. Though the company adopted some ML/DL models strategy, their big customers (more than 3 I know) have already implemented those before they could and were/are performing A/B testing to replace them asap. The company is in survival mode. Even if they get more funding, funds will exhaust and another round of layoffs will happen.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      RichRelevance Response

      VP, Human Resources

      We appreciate your feedback. It's concerning to hear your opinion of our products and leadership. If you speak to the vast majority of the team, this is not their experience. The product is stronger than ever with investment realigned to focus on AI and on features that customers value. We are observing new customers being onboarded at a faster clip than ever before with these investments. The leadership team is committed to continuing to build the company and have this remain a great place for people to work and build their careers.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Direction is clear, product is growing; Revenue up, Morale up

      Jan 10, 2019 - Proudly One of the Team in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've seen this place dip and climb over my years here. But with the new leadership over the last 18-24 months its been climbing steadily and the boat has a clear direction that is proven and working. The sales team is enabled and strong as shown by multi year contracts & upsells both up. New customers, competitive steals and most importantly morale is up behind a strong product team and focus on accountability and stability through trust (customer and staff) and transparency. I am on a technical team but try to stay close to where we are as a company and not stay heads down. The communication here is good and gives me confidence in where we are going. Customers are happier (tickets are down), 100% uptime, with proven technology.

      Cons

      I'd sure like to see even more growth in client services. Support is really strong and we have great consultants - just need to get them out there and sell their services. When we do the customer shows big wins

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Do not recommend

      Sep 5, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good people who care. Some of the executives also seem to care. Tons of flexibility with work from home, flexible hours, PTO, etc. The company IS the leader in the personalization space.

      Cons

      Product is languishing and not good. It's become very difficult to sell it. The personalization space is commoditized. Deal size is pretty small (ask about it) Non-existent culture, and the company does not care about building one (there's no money anyways) Lack of transparency and flat-out untrue information from the CEO. Nastiness can occur within some teams and with some people who are not pleasant. As the other review says, the CFO is the real boss, and he's a brutal guy. Massive lay-offs occur every 1-2 years, more recently earlier this year, with no previous notice and minimal severance (40-50 people gone) Penny-pinching is the name of the game (you will be questioned on expenses) In general, the company is going nowhere pretty fast.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      RichRelevance Response

      VP, Human Resources

      Thank you for the feedback. We've worked hard over the years to earn that leadership position in the personalization space. And we totally agree that we have good people, a caring executive team, and a flexible work environment - all of which reflect our core values. I'd be interested in talking with you about your feedback on leadership communication. We strive to be as transparent as possible - with regular All Hands, company wide emails, team meetings, one-on-one with managers, etc., - so it would be helpful to understand specifically where you experienced the disconnects. I understand that organizational realignments are difficult, especially when you are personally affected by them, but we believe that the company and products are stronger for it and we're better positioned to move forward.

    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      It has its ups and downs, mostly downs of late

      Feb 19, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I work with some smart people and the PTO benefit is hard to beat (it's one of the few reasons I stay). I don't know about others but salary is industry standard for those outsides of sales and engineering (points at the cons section).

      Cons

      Other benefits are pretty abysmal, you can do better elsewhere. The management team is good but the HR team "suggested" that we post positive reviews on Glassdoor, to me, this is a bit "slimy", and that is the only word I could think of, to even suggest something like that. If you are not on the Sales team or in Engineering you are pretty much an afterthought as far as an employee goes. The work/life company line is what you might expect but is something completely different in practice. The "sure you can work from home" line is the same but completely different in practice. Some employees do it consistently, some employees hardly ever get the chance.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      RichRelevance Response

      VP, Human Resources

      Thanks for your thoughtful feedback and for your many contributions. You have seen a lot of change in your 5+ years, including the many positive changes we've made over the last 2 years. You have an open invitation to call me if you'd like to talk about your feedback in person. There are always things we could do better. I'm sorry to hear that the Glassdoor suggestion was not appreciated. We always remind people that it's completely optional and that they should only share what they are comfortable sharing.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture and vibe, hiring and retention problems

      Oct 7, 2018 - Engineering in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Laid back atmosphere with great work life balance; generally lax (unlimited) paid time off and work from home policy. I heard someone took multiple weeks off to raise a puppy at one point. The products and problems are generally interesting and worth working on. The leadership (executives) are charismatic and generally solid. Usual tech office perks; stocked bar, unlimited snacks/drinks, open floor plan, can request extra monitors/standing desk/ect...

      Cons

      The most pressing problems stem from hiring and retention. For starters, the gender diversity in tech/engineering roles is not good (like 20:1). Retaining any engineer for more than a few years is also difficult, as they get poached by the larger tech companies surrounding the office (eg; Amazon). The company struggles generally with recruiting, leaving important seats vacant for prolonged periods of time.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome

      Oct 3, 2019 - Senior Accountant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent work/life balance. Very hard working and fun group of people to work with.

      Cons

      No real cons to speak of.

      2 people found this review helpful

      RichRelevance Response

      VP, Human Resources

      Thank you for the feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed working with the team - they are terrific - and appreciated our work-life balance. Both reflect our core values.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Terrible Executive management, untrustworthy

      Aug 14, 2019 - Consulting 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employees are great people, smart, and clients are interesting

      Cons

      The executives think they are smarter than they are, constantly say everything is great, and that they are transparent, without actually being transparent. The CFO is essentially the CEO, with anything he says done without pushback. People who were there for 4+ years were given 1 week severance in a massive layoff, which was incredibly insulting. Pretty sure the rash of reviews over the last couple years were also fake/the executives and their buddies providing the reviews.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      RichRelevance Response

      VP, Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback. I can assure you that the reviews are neither fake nor artificially bolstered by the exec team. We encourage people to share their feedback and we take feedback seriously and continually work to improve every team member's experience. There have been many positive accomplishments over the past couple of years that leadership and the entire company are proud of - new products, new markets, and a strong roadmap that inspires our customers' confidence in us. Change is hard. Every company has points where they need to reset or reconfigure in order to move forward in a different way but we completely understand that it's never fun to be on the receiving end of that kind of change. We wish you the best and hope that this has helped you focus on moving forward.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Momentum

      Feb 13, 2019 - Sales in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      RichRelevance is taking personalization to the next level thanks to new advances in AI, which puts the company years ahead of the competition, The product suite and marquee client list is expanding. New team members are contributing. There is a real spirit of comradery among the various offices.

      Cons

      Hiring has been aggressive and thorough, but the company needs to onboard more.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great time to work at RichRelevance

      Oct 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company is using all latest tech stack i.e Machine learning Algo, AI , Big data and lot of open source code tools and technology. New Management is doing really good and transparent. Every employee is so great, supportive and ready to help you. They offer really good perks better then many 130+ employees startups.

      Cons

      Need to do more sales , failed to retain big client however new management is doing good from last one year. need to hire more engineers

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 99 Reviews

    Popular Careers with RichRelevance Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at RichRelevance? Share Your Experiences

    RichRelevance logo
    or