RichRelevance Reviews | Glassdoor

RichRelevance Reviews

Updated 5 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 98 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
RichRelevance CEO Carl Theobald (no image)
Carl Theobald
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Laid back atmosphere with great work life balance; generally lax (unlimited) paid time off and work from home policy(in 10 reviews)

  • "Incredibly smart people- some of the most brilliant you'll find(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Loss of some good people in the last years(in 5 reviews)

  • "Lots of smart people let go without any safety net(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Momentum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RichRelevance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    RichRelevance is taking personalization to the next level thanks to new advances in AI, which puts the company years ahead of the competition, The product suite and marquee client list is expanding. New team members are contributing. There is a real spirit of comradery among the various offices.

    Cons

    Hiring has been aggressive and thorough, but the company needs to onboard more.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    RichRelevance2019-02-13
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Run, run away and never return"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RichRelevance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart co-workers. You get to learn a lot from them. Many were let go during the massive lay-offs.

    Cons

    - Benefits: Industry offers better benefits. Benefits offered at Richrelevance are just meh. Insurance is expensive. No commuter benefits such as Uber / Lyft credits. Many startups at San Mateo offers better benefits. - Company culture: The culture is to hire and fire. For once I thought the current CEO has a good vision but he is worst than the previous one. CPO is the worst thing that has ever happen to this... company. He brags about what he has achieved so far but when it comes to product and hiring, he made some terrible choices causing 50% engineering layoffs. - Product: Many customers are building their own recommendation system, thus leaving rich relevance. Though the company adopted some ML/DL models strategy, their big customers (more than 3 I know) have already implemented those before they could and were/are performing A/B testing to replace them asap. The company is in survival mode. Even if they get more funding, funds will exhaust and another round of layoffs will happen.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To the board: you guys hoped the new CEO and CPO might revolutionize the whole company. In reality, it turned it into dark-side. Replace spineless CPO and product management team, if you want to increase the valuation of the company. please remove spineless CPO

    RichRelevance2019-09-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Do not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RichRelevance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good people who care. Some of the executives also seem to care. Tons of flexibility with work from home, flexible hours, PTO, etc. The company IS the leader in the personalization space.

    Cons

    Product is languishing and not good. It's become very difficult to sell it. The personalization space is commoditized. Deal size is pretty small (ask about it) Non-existent culture, and the company does not care about building one (there's no money anyways) Lack of transparency and flat-out untrue information from the CEO. Nastiness can occur within some teams and with some people who are not... pleasant. As the other review says, the CFO is the real boss, and he's a brutal guy. Massive lay-offs occur every 1-2 years, more recently earlier this year, with no previous notice and minimal severance (40-50 people gone) Penny-pinching is the name of the game (you will be questioned on expenses) In general, the company is going nowhere pretty fast.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be truthful. Let people know how the company is truly doing, and where it's really going. Consider not letting the CFO run the show. And, lastly: sell the company. It had a good run, but it's over.

    RichRelevance2019-09-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "small company with some smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RichRelevance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, good relay atmosphere

    Cons

    unstable funding leads to many layoffs

    RichRelevance2019-08-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible Executive management, untrustworthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RichRelevance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employees are great people, smart, and clients are interesting

    Cons

    The executives think they are smarter than they are, constantly say everything is great, and that they are transparent, without actually being transparent. The CFO is essentially the CEO, with anything he says done without pushback. People who were there for 4+ years were given 1 week severance in a massive layoff, which was incredibly insulting. Pretty sure the rash of reviews over the last couple years were also... fake/the executives and their buddies providing the reviews.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit. You have continued to flail in your 2+ years, hire your cronies, and save them during a massive layoff when there were more valuable people impacted. Now you're back hiring and claiming the company is stable.

    RichRelevance2019-08-14
  6. "Seeing the best in the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RichRelevance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The consulting team does a wonderful job of finding the hidden gems. They are willing to train and take on people that may not have direct field experience.

    Cons

    The market is quickly changing and retail customers are very demanding.

    RichRelevance2019-05-19

    RichRelevance Response

    August 8, 2019VP, Human Resources

    Thanks for your feedback. You are absolutely right about the Consulting team. They are awesome and are doing a stellar job - especially given how our customers rely on us to help them innovate larger parts of their customer facing experience. And you are also right that the market ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It has its ups and downs, mostly downs of late"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RichRelevance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I work with some smart people and the PTO benefit is hard to beat (it's one of the few reasons I stay). I don't know about others but salary is industry standard for those outsides of sales and engineering (points at the cons section).

    Cons

    Other benefits are pretty abysmal, you can do better elsewhere. The management team is good but the HR team "suggested" that we post positive reviews on Glassdoor, to me, this is a bit "slimy", and that is the only word I could think of, to even suggest something like that. If you are not on the Sales team or in Engineering you are pretty much an afterthought as far as an employee goes. The work/life company line... is what you might expect but is something completely different in practice. The "sure you can work from home" line is the same but completely different in practice. Some employees do it consistently, some employees hardly ever get the chance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have turned the company around from the "dark times" a good thing. It's not the RichRelevance of old culture-wise. The camaraderie that I once felt has been gone for a while and you need to work harder to get that back. The feeling is now these people are important and you support people are an afterthought.

    RichRelevance2019-02-19

    RichRelevance Response

    August 8, 2019VP, Human Resources

    Thanks for your thoughtful feedback and for your many contributions. You have seen a lot of change in your 5+ years, including the many positive changes we've made over the last 2 years. You have an open invitation to call me if you'd like to talk about your feedback in person. There ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Direction is clear, product is growing; Revenue up, Morale up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Proudly One of the Team in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RichRelevance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've seen this place dip and climb over my years here. But with the new leadership over the last 18-24 months its been climbing steadily and the boat has a clear direction that is proven and working. The sales team is enabled and strong as shown by multi year contracts & upsells both up. New customers, competitive steals and most importantly morale is up behind a strong product team and focus on accountability... and stability through trust (customer and staff) and transparency. I am on a technical team but try to stay close to where we are as a company and not stay heads down. The communication here is good and gives me confidence in where we are going. Customers are happier (tickets are down), 100% uptime, with proven technology.

    Show More

    Cons

    I'd sure like to see even more growth in client services. Support is really strong and we have great consultants - just need to get them out there and sell their services. When we do the customer shows big wins

    Advice to Management

    Keep the direction focused. Continue to stay away from the sirens of shiny objects or competitive lies on our capabilities. What you are doing is working and as the team further gels it will prove right.

    RichRelevance2019-01-10
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Crowed Space, Great People, Can't make any $$, deals just no big enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RichRelevance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people internally, knowledgeable and helpful

    Cons

    To many people have left the company red flag, not enough sales and sales strategy in North America,

    RichRelevance2019-01-28
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great time to work at RichRelevance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RichRelevance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company is using all latest tech stack i.e Machine learning Algo, AI , Big data and lot of open source code tools and technology. New Management is doing really good and transparent. Every employee is so great, supportive and ready to help you. They offer really good perks better then many 130+ employees startups.

    Cons

    Need to do more sales , failed to retain big client however new management is doing good from last one year. need to hire more engineers

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you doing, Hire more ... and plan for IPO soon..!!

    RichRelevance2018-10-18
Found 98 reviews