Richard Heath & Associates Reviews | Glassdoor

Richard Heath & Associates Reviews

Updated Nov 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
49%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Richard Heath & Associates Chief Executive Officer Cynthia Bruno  (no image)
Cynthia Bruno
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "A huge pro for me is the the work/life balance I have at RHA(in 12 reviews)

  • "Values family and work life balance(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Communication throughout the company needs to improve to elevate RHA to that corporate level feel(in 11 reviews)

  • "The work environment is extremely challenging(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for if you want to be part of helping others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Richard Heath & Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A huge pro for me is the the work/life balance I have at RHA. It is a very family friendly atmosphere where your well being as a person is valued. We work hard to get the job done but are awarded with flexible schedules, a good benefits package and generous time off. Another pro is that the work we do directly impacts and helps people. It is an amazing feeling knowing that we are directly helping our communities around us. Lastly, RHA gives you the opportunity to grow. If you are hardworking and dedicated you can continue to learn and progress in your career.

    Show More

    Cons

    Field positions can be hard.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your employees and supporting them to do their best work. It is paying off!

    Richard Heath & Associates2019-10-21
  2. "Just bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Administrator in Fresno, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Richard Heath & Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the people i work with are good people

    Cons

    ceo runs the company like a dictator, employees do not like her, poor leadership

    Advice to Management

    get a new ceo that has good people skills and experience running a company

    Richard Heath & Associates2019-11-02
  3. "Delivering Toxic Solutions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Richard Heath & Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Working on projects that optimize energy use, which may better a community or company - Benefits are good - Fresno (headquarters) appears professional - Some knowledgeable professionals throughout the company - Potential for growth through new programs

    Cons

    - Toxic cultures, political games and harassment to maintain leadership - Insecure middle management, there is a close eye on everything you're doing to ensure you're not encroaching on management - People who pride themselves on deceiving others - Herd mentality in order to keep your job and/or keep you from becoming a target - Gross manipulation

    Advice to Management

    - Remove questions like "What does integrity mean to you?" from the interview process. - Executive employees need a greater understanding of the social dynamics that exist throughout their offices. - Good character and ethics are important, and they shouldn't be evaluated by people who have neither. - Middle management needs an overhaul

    Richard Heath & Associates2019-06-13
  4. "Not recommended - Unless you have no other options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ros in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Richard Heath & Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Health premiums fully paid (Kaiser) - Good PTO (3 sick and 12 regular first-year employees) - Work independently - Not stuck in an office/out in the field - A sense of helping your community (low-income households throughout the county)

    Cons

    - Poor communication & professionalism by superiors - Lack of career advancement - Witnessed sexism towards women in this job title - Production over well-being - Using your car to carry a mountain of supplies and through the weekend - Working 6 days a week a lot of the time - No overtime pay, just standard hourly if you go over 40 in a week

    Advice to Management

    There is no trust, only animosity. Be more transparent instead of leading employees on or sending out mixed messages.

    Richard Heath & Associates2019-01-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not a place you would like to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Installation Technician in City of Industry, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Richard Heath & Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only good thing about this company is that the company does pay for your benefits.

    Cons

    Family members work in the same department, so there's no room for advancement, and be ready to work with favoritism! I do not recommend this job to anyone.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the family member's so the company's future employees can be treated equal!

    Richard Heath & Associates2019-01-17
  6. "A Company Worth Working For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chief Financial Officer in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Richard Heath & Associates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management and Owners with a heart

    Cons

    Time to participate in 401k plan is too long

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your employees. Happy employees = happy customers = overall growth and prosperity

    Richard Heath & Associates2018-07-02
  7. "Be Proactive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Richard Heath & Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Community based company looking to partner with larger companies to meet shared goals Opportunity to grow with the company if you're proactive and willing. Provides many learning opportunities

    Cons

    - Heavy work load at times - Under utilization of existing synergies between offices produces unnecessary work.

    Advice to Management

    Increase interactions between various offices when personnel work on same/similar programs. Eliminate the barriers to rewarding staff and creating an inclusive work environment.

    Richard Heath & Associates2018-03-08
  8. "Leader in Energy Efficiency, RHA Does Good and Does Well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Richard Heath & Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been working for RHA for over 4 years in the residential energy efficiency department. RHA is a company that encourages continuous training development for staff and an open-door policy. I enjoy working with a diverse, multi-faceted team in technical areas, on-site field issues and utility program management engagement. My manager is very encouraging and supportive and he ensures the department/team issues and concerns are addressed promptly.

    Show More

    Cons

    Communication throughout the company needs to improve to elevate RHA to that corporate level feel.

    Richard Heath & Associates2018-02-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Richard Heath & Associates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    • Supportive Leadership • Promoting Work Life Balance • Team oriented environment • Transparent Communication • Good Benefits Package • Friendly co-workers • Fresno Corporate office underwent renovation which makes the work-space brighter and reinvigorating • Opportunity to work in designing and implementing Energy, Engineering, Healthcare and Social services related programs that affect hard to reach community in California. • Supports the community through charitable giving and volunteering for local non-profit organizations • Effective and useful Training Programs (Leadership, Supervisor and Operations)

    Show More

    Cons

    • The work is fast paced and always moving forward, this makes for a fun and challenging environment! • But some may find this difficult to adopt but if you are creative and have a spirit to contribute you will thrive in this environment.

    Richard Heath & Associates2018-02-13
  10. "Good company with room to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Energy Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Richard Heath & Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Competitive team - Smart brains to pick from team - Human Resources department is very accommodating Loads of learning opportunity - Challenging work

    Cons

    Thermostat settings (should be locked) :)

    Advice to Management

    I have noticed a significant growth lately despite of being a harsh 2017, the company has made sensible moves to cut the unnecessary cost. Keep doing what you are doing.

    Richard Heath & Associates2018-01-26
Found 68 reviews