Right At School Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Right At School  Mark Rothschild (no image)
Mark Rothschild
76 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Due to the fact that a majority of the work for onsite staff is part time- it would be great to continue to add incentives(in 9 reviews)

  • "Especially in Educators and Coaches, which can feel chaotic(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "The Right Place for Children!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Puyallup, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Right At School full-time

    Pros

    The curriculum and activities that are developed for both before and after school as well as summer camps are genuinely amazing. It is easy to follow and the kids truly enjoy it!! I work with an amazing team, and never have to worry about not having enough support. There is always someone to step up and help out, and each person is striving to do what is best for the children in our care! My team believes in staff development and helping employees reach their full potential.

    Cons

    I wish I would have started with Right at School sooner!

    Right At School2019-08-05
  2. "Amazing & Supportive Upper Management"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Puyallup, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Right At School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Innovative, collaborative, staff development, and wants what is best for families, children and staff!

    Cons

    Covid temporary shut down some programs!

    Right At School2020-06-04
  3. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - After School Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Right At School part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    it has Flexible, Decent pay, kids,

    Cons

    It can be stressful depending on school

    Right At School2020-05-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Outstanding, communicative, people person who enjoys working with groups."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educator in Renton, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Right At School part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff Great hours Enjoy able families

    Cons

    Strict rules Not the best benefits High turnover

    Continue reading
    Right At School2020-04-24
  5. "Sad"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - School Site Coordinator in Spanaway, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Right At School part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some employees were paid on time (some were not)

    Cons

    Worked a "Summer Camp" preparing for opening a school program. Two families enrolled children who defined the term Bullies. All efforts to deal constructively with these children was futile and no management support due to the fact that these families paid full rate. After being told that I - we - were too restrictive in our efforts to reduce the behavior, but no management, and denied personal, intervention with the families/parents, I was threatened with termination - so I resigned. I have been a teacher for 33 years. I never experienced this level of non-support. Most upper managers that I met had no actual school experience. Only concerned with profits. I spite of my resignation, I understand that my credentials were utilized for their site state certification.

    Continue reading
    Right At School2020-05-30

    Right At School Response

    June 3, 2020VP of Human Resources

    Hi, this is Mina Patel, VP of HR. I was so sorry to read your review as it's so very different from what I usually hear. Please contact me directly at mina.patel@rightatschool.com and we can set up time to talk. I am very open to learning more about your comments and thoughts on how we can make things better. I can also set up time for you to speak to team members from our training and implementation team if you see gaps in our protocols and practices to support the unique needs of children in program. I know they would welcome the feedback! I hope this doesn’t come off defensively because we should all be open to criticism and see the opportunities to learn, but I was very confused by some of your comments. For example, we don’t have any summer camps operating at this time given COVID and are currently in the process of prepping for re-opening hopefully later this month or next. We haven’t provided staff paperwork to certify sites in WA for licensing purposes in a number of years, can you help me understand what you mean by that? In terms of support and tools provided to staff, we've received very positive reviews about training support and our blended training model and have a 97% training satisfaction rate from our educators and program managers. Earlier this year, we've added even more training as a result of feedback we received directly from staff, so if you see additional gaps, again, I would very much like to connect you with our training team. We know the safety of our students is paramount and we have many protocols and processes to ensure children remain safe under our care which covers topics including bullying. We know we can continue to get better here, and welcome new ideas. It sounds like we let you down in some places and I'd really like to learn more about your past experience with us. I hope you reach out me to directly at mina.patel@rightatschool.com. Thanks again, Mina.

  6. "Good company just need improvements"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Educator in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Right At School part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    That nagotate your pay. If gives you a chance to ask for what you want.

    Cons

    Lack of hours. You might have to be at a school that's far away

    Right At School2020-03-02
  7. "Get out while you can!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Right At School full-time

    Pros

    Children in programs Some of the people Good service to the community

    Cons

    Growing too fast People don't matter, and the raise you get don't even move the needle to pay for those very expensive benefits Didn't get much support from my Director with staffing challenges Management gets away with plotting and treating employees like they don't matter until the employee leave or is fired Lack of diversity in social, ethnic, and age background at their corporate office, often felt like I was a bother when calling corporate to help me solve a field problem Could not go to Human Resource for help, only a few in that group that I would trust anyway I had high hopes when joining this company but realized the Recruiter and Director were not truthful when they sold me on the day and life of being a team member at Right At School, got fooled big time, left a job to join Right At School who I personally feel don't care or invest in people

    Continue reading
    Right At School2020-02-12

    Right At School Response

    March 8, 2020VP of Human Resources

    Dear Former Team member, I am so saddened to read your note, and I hope you will call me right away. I am Mina Patel, VP of HR. Please email me directly at mina.patel@rightatschool.com and we can set up some time to talk. I am so open to learn more about your comments and overall experience with us as it is near and dear to my heart personally and professionally and goes against what we are all about as a diverse, open and hopefully trustworthy organization. We know that our staff are the most caring, gifted and passionate educators you’ll ever find. They are the reason parents trust us. They are the reason children love us. And they are the reason school administrators recommend us. I hope this doesn’t read defensively, because we need to be open to such criticism and learn and grow, but I want you to know that I am really proud of our diversity as 59% of our staff population is of minority and ~70% of our most highly compensated salaried employees are female and/or identified as minority. We have a long way to go, but I am generally pleased with our progress. I couldn't follow what you meant by “growing too fast.” We are VERY careful and mindful about where, when and how we expand and have dedicated team members who focus on making expansion as smooth as possible for all parties. We know we can continue to get better here, and welcome new ideas. I’m happy to set up time for you to speak with our implementation team if you see gaps in our systems and processes. I know they would welcome the feedback and additional recommendations! I am also super sorry to also hear about your central office team comments and would really like to learn more—please email me so we can set up a time to talk about your personal experience. I find our management to be thoughtful, open leaders. But if you’ve experienced anything else, I’d love to hear about it. We do have strict standards to be sure—we are entrusted with the well-being of children, so we can be sticklers for certain practices and policies, but again, I hope you’ll reach out so I can honestly and openly hear your thoughts. Thanks, Mina

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great concept."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Puyallup, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Right At School part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I live my school and the relationships I’ve built with school staff and families.

    Cons

    Split work shift and part time hours

    Continue reading
    Right At School2019-12-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "GREAT JOB"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Lynbrook, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Right At School part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule LOTS OF TRAINING & SUPPORT

    Cons

    no benefits no Pay on days off

    Right At School2019-10-18
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Right At School part-time

    Pros

    They listen to their employees. And make sure you have what you need to be successful.

    Cons

    Always opening new districts and you are only trained in their way in live training new sites do not make program managers see a working program first and see how that goes.

    Continue reading
    Right At School2019-09-22
Found 119 reviews