RightScale Reviews

Updated Oct 29, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
87%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
RightScale CEO and Founder Michael Crandell (no image)
Michael Crandell
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Cutting edge in Cloud Computing(in 12 reviews)

  • "Room for advancement, great corporate culture and work/life balance, and opportunities to improve yourself on a weekly basis(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Development Representative Intern"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RightScale

    Pros

    - Very accomodating to your schedule - Very friendly staff and atmosphere - Beers on tap! - Pretty much an open door policy - Open workspace

    Cons

    There are pretty much no cons (from my experience)

    RightScale2018-10-29
  2. "Challenging work, Amazing company culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior SDR in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RightScale full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Simply put, RightScale will provide you with a sales & technology education second to none. Working with bleeding edge technology and the most recognized F500 companies in the world will require you to bring your best everyday. I was encouraged and challenged professionally everyday to better myself and our services to customers. The leadership is experienced/respected and the culture is fantastic. If you have an opportunity to work here - take it.

    Cons

    Too many perks? Too close to the beach?

    Continue reading
    RightScale2018-05-10
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Stellar people, leading technologies, challenging market"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RightScale full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    As a technologist, coming to work was FUN almost every day. Working with NoSQL, message buses, and cloud services; doing server-side, client-side and front end development; building software that interacts with every facet of cloud computing (financial, management and orchestration) -- all of these experiences broadened my career tremendously. Another boon of working at RightScale was the supportive management team, who encouraged me to switch between the management and technical track to see where my strengths lay. Although I ultimately gravitated toward the technical, the organizational and leadership skills that I gained during my time as a team lead will serve me well for the rest of my career. Last but not least, RightScale's people culture is an asset: warm, genuine people are the norm; transparency and openness are embedded into the culture; the executive team deliver a monthly all-hands meeting to talk product development, finances, or anything else that the employees want to ask about. Coming from a job at a highly political company, it took me a few years to adjust and realize that if I ever wanted to know something, I simply had to ask. On a personal level, the friendships I forged at RightScale have endured after I left because good people are hard to find and this company is full of them.

    Cons

    The cloud computing market is very dynamic, which has required RightScale to change over the years both in terms of product offering and target market. The result is a big platform that's powerful, but which takes a lot of elbow grease to keep up and running. I was lucky enough to grow along with the platform, but newer engineers sometimes get daunted by the expansiveness of it all and it can take a full year before they're proficient with the whole platform. In the past, it was sometimes a struggle, as an engineer, to understand software requirements or iterate on already-released features; communication was sometimes lacking between product management, customer success, and the development teams, and customer feedback didn't always make its way to the right people. Thankfully, some recent changes have nipped most of these problems in the bud; RightScale has changed with the times and feels like a very different company than it did when I started.

    Continue reading
    RightScale2018-03-12
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Nice people and fun culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RightScale

    Pros

    Super smart people and an amazing company culture.

    Cons

    Company is still in start up phase and that can be challenging.

    RightScale2018-03-28
  5. "Good Startup"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at RightScale full-time

    Pros

    Good culture. Feels like family

    Cons

    growth not proportional to the market

    RightScale2018-02-16
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing Company to Work For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RightScale full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I'd like to start off by saying I love working at RightScale and have since I started (despite some very large changes in the company). The people that work here are not only amazing to work with on a personal level but are true professionals that excel in their function helping the company become a better place. The confidence that I have knowing I'm supported in my role by a large team of experts makes doing my job that much more enjoyable. Working in the industry that we do is also very exciting. Not only being in a rapidly changing and expanding industry but being a leader in the space is something not many people get to experience. Every day there is something new and we get the chance to find and provide solutions to problems that are affecting Enterprises and small companies alike, throughout the world.

    Cons

    Throughout my time here, I've been a witness to more than one set of layoffs and each time it is an unfortunate event. In the industry RightScale is in and the position we play in the market, there is and will be a continued level of uncertainty about what's next. The hope and goal, is that we continue to do what we can to minimize that uncertainty, expand the business, and continue to achieve a greater level of stability.

    Continue reading
    RightScale2018-01-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Best Software Engineering Company in Santa Barbara"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RightScale full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Constant interesting and challenging problems to solve Great people (RightScale is like a family) Great location Yearly employee meetups with employees from all over the world

    Cons

    We've faced several layoffs in order to adjust for finances, but even if that happens, RightScale is still a great place to have worked when moving on to a new job

    RightScale2018-01-30
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great company to work for outside of the yearly layoffs"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Barbara, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RightScale full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture is great, and the people are also great.

    Cons

    The management is not forward looking with the product, and the finances leave a lot to be desired. I went through three layoffs in the 4 years I worked there.

    Continue reading
    RightScale2018-01-25
  9. "Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RightScale full-time

    Pros

    Great work culture, reasonable hours, very smart people to learn from

    Cons

    Direction of automation changed quite a bit over my tenure. This is good in many respects, but would also wonder how a single direction would have been.

    RightScale2018-01-04
  10. "Account Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RightScale full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Room for advancement, great corporate culture and work/life balance, and opportunities to improve yourself on a weekly basis.

    Cons

    Some customers still need time to be mature enough to fully embrace Cloud Management Platforms.

    Continue reading
    RightScale2017-07-25
Found 67 reviews