KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Rimm Kaufman Group

Part of Merkle
Is this your company?

Rimm Kaufman Group

Add a Review

Rimm Kaufman Group Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 of over 26 reviews

3.9
85%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Rimm Kaufman Group CEO George Gallate (no image)
George Gallate
10 Ratings

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on

Advertising

1y

a 

Consultant

What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

3,038

254 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Paid Search Analyst

    Jan 5, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, great location, great training!

    Cons

    Due to the nature of the work, it can detract from your holidays

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    RKG offers a great location, sharp co-workers, but poor compensation

    Nov 9, 2014 - Paid Search Analyst in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The work-life balance is great. Few get in before 8 and most clock out around 5 (with the exception of Q4, when things naturally pick up a little bit) - You will pick up a marketable skill set while working in the rapidly growing internet advertising space - The people are for the most part all fairly intelligent. - Charlottesville residents generally enjoy a small-town pace of living with the amenities of a larger suburban area. RKG's central location on the downtown mall is within a few steps of the center of town where there are a number of decent restaurants. - The company culture is definitely a bonus. Teams do get pretty close and the company sponsors a number of outside sports leagues and other activities outside of work throughout the year. They Keep a pretty well stocked snack closet as well

    Cons

    - For the work you do, RKG simply does not pay employees enough to attract great talent. - While the work itself can be interesting, the reality is that it will be difficult to really advance your career at RKG (or anywhere in Charlottesville for that matter). - I Found Paid Search adverstising to be interesting, and the learning curve was certainly significant. However the day to day nature of the work can be a bit mundane and repetitive.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Fantastic Starter Job - Leave in 2-3 Years for Higher Salaries

    Aug 12, 2015 - Former Senior Analyst in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Great Starter Job with a competitive entry level salary. Excellent resume builder and a great place to make connections across the digital advertising industry. -Fantastic Training program to introduce you to the digital advertising space - especially SEM/Paid Search -After 2-3+ years of experience many companies will reach out to you offering to double or almost double your salary if you have proven experience in SEM/SEO/Digital Marketing - you can shop around for offers and locations this includes big name companies like Google/Microsoft/Amazon and even other companies within Charlottesville -The culture at RKG is fantastic and it's best feature. The people are friendly and no one is cutthroat. Everyone is supportive and looking to help each other out. -The snack closet is a great plus

    Cons

    -Your salary does not increase as the demands do and increased productivity does not lead to higher pay -If you demonstrate that you are a highly capable worker you get more work and a promotion that is a token increase in salary -No incentive to work harder/be more productive with limited room for pay increases and advancement -No real career path or room for development

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Four Stars as Stepping Stone, Two Stars as a Career

    Jun 23, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Good group of people to work with -Nice office -A few good perks -Some flexibility with hours and working remotely -A few thought leaders and industry experts in-house, though they are spread too thin -Good resume builder, you do real work for big name clients and people have been able to move on to good jobs with top companies

    Cons

    -Pay is really low for the workload and expectations -Bizarre and demotivating promotion schedule -Benefits have gotten worse and more expensive -Promised improvements have not materialized -Required to attend many pointless meanings and trainings, but still hit efficiency and utilization rates -Because of growth, attrition and only promoting from within, the majority of managers are in over their heads -Work loads have increased and quality of service to clients has decreased and definitely does not warrant the price tag

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A company in transition

    Jul 11, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work! The people are a smart, fun and dynamic bunch, and the Merkle acquisition has brought opportunities to work with large clients and national brands. Work environment is very relaxed and social, and you can definitely get exposure to the cutting edge of best practices in digital marketing. Professionally, there are a lot of resources directed at career enrichment and enhancing skills through certification.

    Cons

    This is definitely a transitional moment: pay is relatively low and the acquisition has sparked a brain drain, since the benefits are now less good and workloads have ramped up. A lot of experienced RKG employees are leaving for better pay at bigger companies. Also, there seem to be fewer opportunities for mid-career advancement.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Very well-managed, nurturing, and fun marketing services firm

    Aug 4, 2013 - Analyst, Search Marketing in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and excellent work-life balance, especially for a client services position. The leadership and mentoring was very strong, with more experienced employees always ready and willing to answer questions and be a source of support. Team leaders made a clear effort to show that they cared about employees, both personally and professionally. The office was open-plan for teams, in that each team had their own set of rooms with team members spread throughout. However, people were generally very respectful of other people working; it wasn't as stressful/distracting as open plan offices can often be. Great company culture - laid back, open, and honest.

    Cons

    The work wasn't a great fit for me, as it's mostly quantitative analysis, and I learned through my experience that I am more interested in qualitative. However, it was a great way to build up my quant skills.

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Pretty good place to work

    Dec 4, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good, competent people. Most everyone's pretty young (20's - 30's). Infinite snacks. Good training. Company swag.

    Cons

    My official offer was for 10K less than the range the recruiter and I confirmed in our first conversation. When I complained, they said, 'Sorry, that's all we can do'. I needed the job, so I took it. While working there, I got the feeling that most low-level employees are smart, but very replaceable (all their training is on-the-job), so the company didn't have to worry about paying them somewhat low, slow-growing salaries and expect them to fall in line with the way things were done. But for someone like me with prior experience and skills relevant to position, it was a bit jarring to be treated like an entry-level employee.

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Young, Smart, Friendly Atmosphere

    Aug 12, 2014 - Analyst in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is great having knowledge of department interactions The great work atmosphere helps with the work/life balance Team orientated extra curricular actives sponsored by the company help build inter-department relationships. I cannot wait for the benefits from the building renovations

    Cons

    I have found it hard to communicate with pod members and also other teams due to how cubicles were built, new building renovations should fix this. Have seen a growth in additional clients, which begs the questions where is the help? The training was more beneficial for one/few departments but not all.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Rimm Kaufman Group Response

    Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and your overall positive experience. As you probably now know, a class of new hires started this month. Once they are trained they should help to alleviate the increase in client work. We do our absolute best to continue to hire as we continue to grow. We appreciate your feedback on the training program and regarding building renovations: We can't wait either!

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great learning experienceof SEM in a fun culture

    Jul 25, 2014 - Paid Search Analyst in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - They care about your as a person, which I didn't realize how important it can be until I left for a bigger corporation that doesn't do nearly as well - very smart coworkers and managers who are subject matter expertise - Relatively fast promotional path as long as you do a great job, given the company is growing fast - Lots of training for new employees, as well as regular based ones for all; You'll be a real expert - People are young and energetic - Direct client interfacing opportunities

    Cons

    - Pay could be higher to match industry standard

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Rimm Kaufman Group Response

    Corporate Recruiter

    We are thrilled to hear about your positive experience. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Smart People & Cutting Edge Work

    Jul 6, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - great feedback and open communication with managers - exciting, ever-changing work landscape where you are constantly learning and stretching your knowledge - free parking and excellent location on the downtown mall - company pays for occasional beer socials, employee sports leagues, and snacks

    Cons

    - company growth at times seems fast and chaotic - growth paths are not very clear currently, but getting there slowly after the Merkle acquisition

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 Reviews

Rimm Kaufman Group Reviews FAQs

85% of Rimm Kaufman Group employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Rimm Kaufman Group 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Rimm Kaufman Group to be management, culture, career development and the cons to be benefits, compensation.

Popular Careers with Rimm Kaufman Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Rimm Kaufman Group? Share Your Experiences

or