Rio Tinto Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Engineer

Rio Tinto Engineer Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Rio Tinto CEO Jean-Sébastien Jacques
Jean-Sébastien Jacques
21 Ratings
  1. "No plans for graduates. Kennecott MANAGEMENT can't get on the same page."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Engineer in South Jordan, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rio Tinto has been great. excellent pay, Good career development and training. Good news, if you don't like your manager, you will always have a new one within a few months.

    Cons

    No plans for graduates. A lot of promises with no delivery. Upper management really doesn't have time to give to less senior employees. High turn over in upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Better chain of command when you contract your employees to different business units with clear dates and role descriptions.

    Rio Tinto2014-06-19
  2. "Electrical Engineer Student Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Electrical Engineer Student 

    I have been working at Rio Tinto

    Pros

    Was hands on experience and was a good working experience

    Cons

    Lots of employees work over hours,

    Rio Tinto2019-09-14
  3. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Graduate Mechanical Engineer in Ulaanbaatar
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full of challenges and learning about new technologies everyday.

    Cons

    Work hour is long for Oyu tolgoi in Mongolia. And roster is too long far from home.

    Rio Tinto2019-08-23
  4. "Great benefits, poor business architecture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer EIT 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Full benefits package available, very stable job

    Cons

    Mismanagement and politics plagues the company

    Rio Tinto2019-08-18
  5. "Global mining company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed office with diverse skills on offer

    Cons

    Lots of change and some politics

    Rio Tinto2019-08-05

    Rio Tinto Response

    August 6, 2019Senior Advisor, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for being a part of Rio Tinto for several years. We are always looking to improve the way we do things and this does sometimes result in change. We appreciate your comments.

  6. "Good salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Environmental Engineer 

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well paid and friendly colleagues

    Cons

    The environment working in the field is not quite good

    Rio Tinto2019-06-18
  7. "No issues but just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time

    Pros

    Good safety culture below average pay

    Cons

    Just a number basically just be a good little worker bee if that's your thing.

    Rio Tinto2019-06-04
  8. "Vacation Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Vacation Engineer in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto

    Pros

    Excellent company culture for vacation/graduate engineers Opportunities to work on impactful and complex projects Fantastic vac pay grade

    Cons

    Did not provide help with relocation/rent/transport Did not get as much site experience as I'd liked

    Advice to Management

    More support for vacation students would make the program much more competitive over other companies

    Rio Tinto2019-05-10
  9. "mining engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mine Engineer 

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time

    Pros

    Robust system, Safety critical,

    Cons

    Lots of Bureaucracy, Less pay

    Rio Tinto2019-05-10
  10. "Great workplace with few caveats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee perks are great People are good in general

    Cons

    Career growth opportunities are limited Workspace lacks modern outlook

    Rio Tinto2018-11-30
Found 84 reviews