Rio Tinto Reviews in London, England | Glassdoor

Rio Tinto London Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Rio Tinto CEO Jean-Sébastien Jacques
Jean-Sébastien Jacques
7 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Investigations Analyst in London, England
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto for more than a year

    Pros

    Money was great and interesting work

    Cons

    Lack of stability due to contractor status

    Rio Tinto2019-09-17
  2. "Lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chief of Staff in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Generous benefits package, lots of opportunity, multinational experience, cutting edge technology and opportunity to work with some of the brightest minds.

    Cons

    Politics and a propensity to focus on the short term.

    Rio Tinto2019-07-29

    Rio Tinto Response

    August 6, 2019Senior Advisor, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us and for your contribution as an employee for so many years! We will continue to work on strategy and forward thinking business practices and to provide our employees with great benefits and global opportunities.

  3. "finance manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    flexibility, salary and working working conditions

    Cons

    management and policy changes were badly communicated

    Rio Tinto2019-05-10
  4. "Treasury"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Treasury in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance and people respect

    Cons

    Small footprint in London and decreasing

    Rio Tinto2019-03-01
  5. "More to life than money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time

    Pros

    The renumeration package is good, but there needs to be more to a role than that

    Cons

    Work landscape constantly changing, middle management overload

    Advice to Management

    Maybe read the comments people leave on here

    Rio Tinto2018-09-16
  6. "Strengths and weaknesses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good industry and good positioning in sector to provide roles particularly in Brisbane, Perth (oz) and Montreal (Canada)

    Cons

    Huge change program underway creating uncertainty and low loyalty (both ways)

    Advice to Management

    Care more for your people.

    Rio Tinto2018-02-17
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Learnt a lot at Rio Tinto given the company's hard work ethics and excellent colleagues working alongside me.

    Cons

    Heavily male dominated and a real feeling it would be more difficult to climb as a woman.

    Rio Tinto2017-07-26
  8. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary and benefits which included free lunch was great. Some people were ok.

    Cons

    People are instiutionalised, due to redundancies people were miserable so made for a difficult work environment, easy to get siloed and things took forever to get done.

    Rio Tinto2017-05-02
  9. "Rio Tinto Exploration & Development 2005-2009"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Accountant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto

    Pros

    Good solid multi national company. Responsible miner from all stakeholder viewpoints. High health and safety focus and strong anti bribery & corruption stance.

    Cons

    No cons to employment at Rio Tinto which is interested in Win-Win situations for all stakeholders including market competitive rates for employees and contractors.

    Advice to Management

    My perception was that the Overseas Project Top Management Team communications, co-ordination and meetings frequency (My Africa operational level experience) could have been better, though not easy given that project team management are often not all in country at the same time.

    Rio Tinto2017-01-19
  10. "Miner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Miner in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company, great atmosphere to work in and there is always someone friendly to talk to and we all get along well that is to say really well.

    Cons

    The pay is not that great. Although the friendly atmosphere makes up for it because it does not even feel like work, it feels like getting to spend time with friends.

    Rio Tinto2016-11-30
Found 26 reviews