Rio Tinto Reviews | Glassdoor

Rio Tinto Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 728 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Rio Tinto CEO Jean-Sébastien Jacques
Jean-Sébastien Jacques
166 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A company that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in South Jordan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They want you home safe with your family They have a really cool workplace

    Cons

    They need to run 24/7 so you keep busy!

    Rio Tinto2019-04-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Life at Rio Tinto"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Diversified Miner with International Assignments

    Cons

    Constantly reorganizing. Very weak leadership. Focus on employing women and excluding qualified men. Onerous bureaucracy. Australians are treated way better than Americans-fair amount of discrimination.

    Advice to Management

    The company lost its way in 2016 and put some of the best talent in the industry out on the street in a panic. You should figure out by now that you kept the weak and got rid of the best.

    Rio Tinto2019-05-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good money terrible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Superintendent in South Jordan, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good pay for the most part, great medical benefits

    Cons

    Constantly changing the organization structure even when its working. It's all about who you know. The Senior leadership doesn't practice what they preach. Being a global company no one out of the US understands the culture and expect you to adapt theirs. Focus on safety is there but not on wellbeing. Salaried employees have an unsaid commitment to 50+ hour work weeks.

    Advice to Management

    Reorg the senior leadership. Bring some US employees into higher places in the organization. Care about the employees not the tonnage.

    Rio Tinto2019-05-17
  4. "Procurement Specialist Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Procurement Specialist 

      I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Good Salary, Excellent Medical Benefits

      Cons

      Extremely top heavy management structure

      Rio Tinto2019-04-21
    • "Good Compensation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        Compensation, Flexible Schedule, Gym, Close to the city,

        Cons

        Political, difficult to advance, cyclical

        Rio Tinto2019-02-13
      • "Overall par for the course"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Category Specialist 
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Great Benifits: Matching 401k and Stock option program. Good people to work with

        Cons

        Poor Management left hand didnt know where right hand was half the time and communication lacked. Also stress level was very bad at times.

        Advice to Management

        Better communication

        Rio Tinto2019-02-14
      • "Graduate Student Consultant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Rio Tinto part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - Supportive and collaborative culture - Forward thinking

        Cons

        - Limited career advice and guidance

        Rio Tinto2019-01-27
      • "Company review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Reliability Engineer in South Jordan, UT
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Global company, so lot of opportunities to learn other business processes through global mobility

        Cons

        Not the best competitive salary compared to competitors. No effort from leaders to retain excellent latent

        Rio Tinto2019-01-12
      • "Need salary insight"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        A tester to get access to salaries

        Cons

        I am sorry for how this information isn't helpful

        Advice to Management

        Keep it up

        Rio Tinto2019-01-07
      • Helpful (2)

        "Terrible working conditions"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boron, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Benefits are great. Some of the people are wonderful to work with.

        Cons

        I worked at the Borate mine and it would say it is the worst working conditions I have every worked in. Very high pressure and it consumes your life. They promote talking about your work experience but when you speak up, you find yourself in trouble. I would not recommend working at Rio Tinto to anyone.

        Rio Tinto2019-02-06
      Found 728 reviews