KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Riot Games

Is this your company?

Riot Games

Add a Review

Riot Games Engineering Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 771 reviews

4.4
94%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Riot Games CEO Nicolo  Laurent (no image)
Nicolo Laurent
2 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Riot Games and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Great Internship Program

    Aug 20, 2020 - Software Engineering Intern in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive Pay, Housing, Great People, Even continued internship program virtually through COVID-19

    Cons

    Not a lot of a

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Great internship, unfortunately remote due to COVID

    Feb 28, 2021 - Software Engineering Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good compensation, really good university programs team, and you get to do actual impactful work.

    Cons

    Sometimes it was hard to get responses from people on my team, but that was expected due to the internship moving online due to COVID-19

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A sexist environment driven by gender discrimination and inequality.

    Nov 20, 2018 - Engineering in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the best talent you’ll work with in the industry, amazing health insurance, and open PTO.

    Cons

    Riot hires talented individuals and fails to let them do their jobs. They discriminate against women and damage careers. Riot also terminates people when they speak out against incompetent management, and they have a track record of using the latter against employees by calling out “performance issues” with no documentation. If employees communicate feeling unsafe to HR (“Talent”), Talent will do whatever they can to out you. No one is “safe” and they’ll work hard to push you out.

    Continue reading
    37 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Career growth and gaming

    Jan 11, 2018 - Engineering Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Riot has grown a great deal in both scope and maturity since I started. It's been really nice to be able to continue to contribute to all of the above. Riot gives you a ton of individual freedom and you are encouraged to take ownership of things you care about from tech decisions to game design to people. Being a gamer among gamers is amazing, you are able to deeply understand and work on a shared passion together.

    Cons

    Work life balance has been a challenge at times, mostly since my peers end up doing it to ourselves - we choose to go the extra mile which has some costs. Hiring is also very slow. This is a deliberate decision to ensure that Riot hires people who will be successful here, however it has the side effect of frustrating teams and hiring managers. There is also a large disparity in the bench of senior leaders across the different disciplines which is frustrating. If you come from a larger or more mature organization you will be surprised and or frustrated. The pace of change is slow.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A Thrilling Company With True Character

    Dec 30, 2014 - Engineering Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Business values that are built on real, human virtues: I get to talk about thinks like humility, kindness, thoughtfulness, passion, curiosity, craftsmanship and emotional intelligence and these things resonate with those around me to the extent that I've watched Rioters grow faster as a direct result of focusing on these virtues. An unbelievable level of dedication to the player and the products / features that express that dedication: Working at Riot has made me realized the subtle ways in past work that I've compromised on the principle of being truly engaged with the things I was building. Individuals at Riot have more opportunity and scope to affect change than in any organization I've ever worked in (including a startup). In order to make this real every day, Rioters have to possess strong self-awareness, situational awareness, an upbeat sense of togetherness and an ever-present entrepreneurial streak. Reading some of Riot's reviews on here, some submitters appear to consider these things cons. They are, in fact, demands that grow individuals in ways they may never see in other parts of their career. As such, they are enormous pros. I'm surrounded by people with whom I can default to trust; people I know will have my back whenever I need it (not just when I ask for it). They possess extraordinary domain expertise but are most focused on what they don't know (as an expression of their humility and their drive to grow). They have a genuine determination to build things of value and to have fun while they do it. As a matter of determination, Riot is not a fairytale. Like anything worthwhile and enduring, it takes love, work and faith. One of the things I like most about Riot (and the way I know it's not a cult or some sort of fraternity) is the level of recognition it has collectively that 'getting it wrong' is a normal part of doing something of value. There is a notable persistence with which Rioters try to address shortcomings whenever they happen, whatever they are and whomever they involve. Sometimes problems will seem trivial, sometimes insurmountable, but there is always a resolve to reflect and move forward together. The fact that Riot has such a strong feedback culture and that Rioters take their duty of care to each others' development so seriously is what has allowed Riot to retain its soul as it has scaled. In summary, Rioters keep trying, with humility, to do better in the face of success and failure. They do this, overwhelmingly, without compromising their principles. This is the very definition of character and it is what makes me most proud to be a member of this family.

    Cons

    Riot continues to grow quickly. As a manager, some of the tools and systems I use to help care for people are a little behind the curve - which is both completely expected and being visibly addressed. For now, however, as Riot finds its feet with respect to some of the more 'run-of-the-mill' bits of operating a business with thousands of people, these shortfalls are noticeable and do have a drag coefficient. More broadly, Riot's culture is a self-directed one. It's a very flat organization and the tools in general for helping Rioters navigate, coalesce and self-organize also need to be leveled-up. Again, this is being visibly addressed but the use of social networks and tacit knowledge as a substitute for some of these tools is currently one of the more intimidating things about working at Riot. Not a deal breaker, but unnecessary friction to be sure.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Favorite Company Ever

    Apr 25, 2015 - Engineering Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone at Riot is a gamer. We care deeply about our players and our Rioters. Of all the places I've worked, Riot has helped me grow the most as a person.

    Cons

    I can't think of many. The one downside I see is that it's very easy to take on too much work. This can leave you overworked for a while until you think to get others to help you out.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Cultural Excellence

    Jan 10, 2014 - Software Engineering Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Aside from being surrounded by talented, fun people, at Riot you'll experience an all-encompassing culture that strives to breed significant, tangible improvement in all of its aspects. I feel I would be hard-pressed to find a single company across the nation, from 1-man shows to 10,000 employee super-giants, that seeks constant improvement with the ferocity that Riot Games does. The company quietly structures away hierarchy and false barriers like rank and position, anything that gets in the way of great ideas and great work bubbling up to improve player experience. I truly felt like this was a place where knowledge and good ideas reigned, and where the company cared about it's people. The atmosphere is loud and communicative, very energetic, and an extremely welcoming place to come work every morning.

    Cons

    Let me first qualify my statements by saying that I am only an intern, but one that was paying close attention to these matters. As scary as it may sound to some, Riot Games does not provide clear paths for upward mobility. Like all things at Riot, if you want it, you have to forge your own path. While succeeding at keeping the feel of an almost entirely flat hierarchy, they have not yet worked out great ways to reflect the tremendous personal growth that employees will undoubtedly experience there. The people who are here are already so qualified, and such a unique breed, that the horizontally free-flowing nature of their role and title is all but appealing in most cases. However, I think this is one area that will raise an eyebrow even from the most well-suited individuals.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Gamer + player focused; attempting to mature

    Jan 23, 2018 - Engineering in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Truly player focused. Revenue is not the basis of decisions and often isn't even part of the discussion. - Gamer culture. Gaming is part of everyday life at Riot, and not just League of Legends. Employees are encouraged to experience gaming across different genre and formats. - Feedback + mentoring + big challenges = explosive personal growth. You will be forced out of your comfort zone and there is a net to catch you when you stumble.

    Cons

    - League of Legends growth curve created tech, people, and organizational debt. Tribal knowledge and immature processes and systems make it hard to onboard, slow to modernize, and individuals that are single sources of knowledge. - Struggling to scale horizontally (new products) and vertically (not requiring active participation by executives in daily company operations). - Business core hours, particularly in LA, favor the young or single.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Solid Fundamentals hidden by Leadership Bloat, Inability to Make Decisions

    Jan 29, 2018 - Engineering Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Fantastic, highly competitive perks - Competitive pay (in Engineering) - The best teams practice great balance of autonomy, empowerment and direction - Huge fans of gaming, the most supportive, fun and exciting group of passionate industry professionals you'll ever work with - Huge breadth of experience, mentors are easy to find if you seek them out - The culture "bleeds" the manifesto, when it's working it is truly amazing, the strength of that manifesto allows even struggling teams to do reasonably well - If you follow the manifesto and have a good supportive manager, you can do very well here. - The people here are generally amazing, you really can "Default to Trust" for most people doing the work in the rank and file, everyone is well intentioned and trying to win. - Riot celebrates those who take accountability seriously - So much more than "just a game company", you'll likely learn more here in a few years than a decade at any other company

    Cons

    - "Old Guard" leaders protected by past successes and rarely held accountable without great effort, and risk - Feedback culture can be manipulated by those who want to retain power or squash criticism - Struggling to do too much, with an inability to focus means strategic decisions flip-flop and rarely last longer to 3-4 months - Senior Leaders have forgotten how to play a support leadership role - Product and Delivery disciplines have huge variances in competencies of individuals - Too Many "Chefs" in the kitchen in too many aspects of technical direction - Huge variances in pay between disciplines compound pay differences between those doing the work and those not contributing (you may find a QA/Release/Product/Delivery person working 5 times as hard as an engineering technical leader paid half what that leader is paid) - Huge variance in quality of managers/leaders means you roll the dice on whether you get a good or bad one, and bad ones can set your career back years - Vertical growth is all but dead, don't come here to move upwards. Someone has to quit, or be fired to create a vertical slot for growth and it's likely it'll be filled by a new hire, not an existing rioter - Horizontal (breadth) growth is difficult to achieve, there's a very large risk of getting stuck doing one thing for over 5 years and getting type cast into a role. As the company ages transfers between disciplines and product teams has ground to trickle - Attitude towards new product development has resulted in isolationist thinking, cultures are literally different, so are performance metrics and accountability, between large product groups at the company (esports, league, new games, central services) - Struggling to deal with the lack of diversity it's culture and focus on core gamers has created, mostly male management is blind and biased to the priority of the problem - Success requires being a member of the "bro culture/boys club" or working yourself to death to be visible, you need to play the "Cover Your A.. butt" game well here - Accountability culture can be used against you (your leaders will usually push fault down to the first person who claims fault, rather than take accountability themselves)

    Continue reading
    33 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Mostly Like They Promised

    Apr 1, 2018 - Engineering Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Excellent Team: Most people I work with are the best at their jobs I have worked with. Everyone from engineering leads to talent partners to recruiters to product owners to project managers - No jerks policy works: most engineers are smart AND easy to work with - Highly Collaborative: open culture of constructive feedback is truly in effect, and you are expected to contribute - People Read the Docs: If you write documentation for your work, people generally read it and give feedback on it - Truly a gamer culture: people are passionate about good games from top to bottom - Lap of Luxury: Working at Riot is an experience in luxury - great food, great coffee, amazing facilities. Its almost too much

    Cons

    - Large scale is stressing Traditional Riot Values: Riot is now a large-ish company, and its bottom-up, gamer-first culture is under stress. These growing pains are going to hit the long-timers pretty hard in the coming years - Innovators Dilemma: After years of focusing on an incredibly successful product, finding "what's next" is difficult and slow. Many Rioters want to do something new, but the culture and the structure of the company don't make it clear how to make that happen - No Clear Leadership: Highly collaborative culture is great, but its far too time consuming to create horizontal alignment for every decision, including massive strategic pivots. This is changing, and the internal management structure is starting to become more top-down/hierarchical. Most of Riot considers a Bad Thing, but in my judgement, its a necessary step to take the company to the next step. - Non-financial decision making: Riot pretty much NEVER considers money when making decisions. This leads to a lot of difficult to understand priorities. Again, the new leadership is starting too look at normal considerations like ROI and margin when making decisions. I think its a good idea, but talking dollars and cents is jarring to lots of long-time Rioters. - Not Invented Here (NIH): A lack of monetary accountability and some degree of engineering over-confidence allows engineers to re-invent the wheel a lot more often than than necessary

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Popular Careers with Riot Games Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Riot Games? Share Your Experiences

or