KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Riot Games

Is this your company?

Riot Games

Add a Review

Riot Games Game Designer Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 771 reviews

5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Riot Games CEO Nicolo  Laurent (no image)
Nicolo Laurent
2 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Riot Games and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Pretty good

    May 17, 2021 - Game Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    everything is fine. as you would expect from a company.

    Cons

    nothing too crazy in my opinion

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Overall Good Company

    Jul 29, 2021 - Unity Game Developer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Some of the most caring and thoughtful, passionate and skilled people I've ever worked with - Riot is built around a heavy focus on its people, it really cares about their comfort and does a lot to try to be a great working environment. (a lot of that isn't accessible during COVID-19, but the spirit is there. - Has made significant strides in addressing press-reported D&I challenges, but has more to do (as does everyone) - Really great products in League of Legends and VALORANT; some true world-class expertise. - If you're at Riot, you want to be on a game team: League of Legends, VALORANT, even Legends of Runeterra. Wild Rift is more painful potentially... IP/Creative is probably good too. You really want to heavily avoid anything relating to the central teams or "publishing". - This company has incredible potential, but see the cons section below as to why it's a problem

    Cons

    Riot is truly a place that struggles because it scaled too quickly and never figured out its leadership layer correctly. So, all the successes of the company are found in the part of the company that is valuable: GAMES. The current CEO, Nicolo is a good person, who ultimately cares a lot about the company and the employees, but doesn't have what it takes to lead. It's just a sad reality. He doesn't know how to create games (he never has done this), he doesn't know how to hold his publishing team accountable (he built it, it's pretty much all he's done in his career and so he doesn't know how truly terrible it is), he doesn't know how to prioritize or focus (his approach is always the biggest bets

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Incredible people, aspirational goals, bit of a sh*t show

    Mar 20, 2021 - Game Capture Artist in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - great benefits - amazing people - exciting projects

    Cons

    - growing pains - red tape - poor performance management and growth

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Benefits

    Dec 28, 2020 - Game Developer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote working is flexible and depends of your team.

    Cons

    It feels like you joined a college fraternity at times

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    High demand of excellence - hungry, engaging, and exciting.

    Jan 24, 2014 - Lead Game Designer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No shortage of interesting work, problems, or people. Challenging - you'll learn something meaningful every day. Great focus on strong values (merit, creative problem-solving, results, and people). Real atmosphere with real people. For the bold, few barriers to making things occur. A lot of momentum around people making change if they drive it and that being welcomed. While not as consistent (by department) as desired, extremely competitive compensation with great equity and benefits available. Allows one to thrive in LA.

    Cons

    Company growth outpaces learning regularly - easy to find yourself in the weeds only months after getting a handle on something. Mentorship culture still lacking as a result. "Alpha wolf" pressure can unintentionally make it feel unsafe to be weak or to fail unless you have context with a number of layers of management (to be clear, it's OK to mess up or have weakness, but the environment can make that feel dangerous due to high-performance teams). Resource management is extra difficult, even by other game development standards. As team resource funding (enough engineers/artists/designers/etc) has been blazed by growing scope and size, some teams well-funded, while others scrape hard - even important teams.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Game player support representative

    Dec 14, 2018 - Game Support in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Solid, steady full time employment

    Cons

    No possibility of cross training Understaffed

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome first 6 months

    Jan 11, 2018 - Game Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Impressed with Riot’s gamer cred overall. The focus on the player and the product through the lens of being a gamer and a player of LoL is astounding. I haven’t seen this dedication to the product since I joined the industry 15 years ago. -Rioters seem humble and willing to learn from their mistakes. Furthermore, I feel like I can trust my coworkers to do the right thing and be motivated to make the right decision for the players. -Great benefits package, especially if you are a gamer. -The campus resources (in LAX) are awesome and really inspire you to be your best.

    Cons

    -Things move a bit slower here, projects take a longer, decisions are drawn out. -Bottom up development means that sometimes communication isn’t as good as it should be and some redundant work happens.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best Place to Work, Ever.

    Apr 23, 2012 - Game Designer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Incredibly intelligent people. Fun atmosphere. Passion for League of Legends. Young workforce, both in real age and attitude. Gamer focused. I feel very empowered to do great work and make a big impact. Work I do gets out to millions of players very quickly and is hugely rewarding.

    Cons

    Santa Monica can be expensive, but the weather is awesome. A rapidly expanding workforce means that we have to work hard to keep the company culture intact.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Riot, a Fantastic Place to Grow

    Aug 18, 2015 - Technical Game Designer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Riot is extremely competitive Work with some of the best in the industry, developing friendships that last for decades The work is fun, intellectually stimulating and challenging Coworkers and management often support and advise you Constantly pushes people who aren't adapting well to grow or move on Learned more here from people who challenged me to grow than anywhere else I've been We had several areas where I needed to improve significantly to fill the role the company needed and Riot did a lot to provide resources to grow.

    Cons

    Half the programmers are fantastic, most are very good, while a few specific unforgiving or under-informed programmers taint the perception of the entire discipline. When we finally reached a point where I started to turn around, my manager became impatient and expected results that weren't achievable given the gap between my in-development skillset and the unforgiving personalities in play. The large teams are great, the small teams are highly political and if you're not universally accepted on one, your smartest move is to get out quickly to find a different team, rather than repair the situation.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Absolutely amazing and unforgettable experience!

    Nov 6, 2013 - Game Designer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There were a lot of systems present to make me feel like a full member of Riot. I was encouraged to take on my own projects and if risks didn't pan out, thy were treated as learning opportunities with a great deal of support. On top of all that, there were a ton of really fun bonding events as interns.

    Cons

    It would have been nice if there was some kind of company subsidized housing. It would have made it easier to bond a interns if we all lived together, plus housing in the area was fairly pricy.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Popular Careers with Riot Games Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Riot Games? Share Your Experiences

or