KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Riot Games

Is this your company?

Riot Games

Add a Review

Riot Games Producer Reviews

Updated Apr 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 771 reviews

4.3
65%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Riot Games CEO Nicolo  Laurent (no image)
Nicolo Laurent
2 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Riot Games and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Empowering place to work

    Mar 28, 2021 - Producer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Will caveat that I work on League which I hear is one of the best places in the company: * A lot of agency when it comes to the specifics of your work. * Coworkers genuinely invested in the success and player enjoyment of games. * Not an office politics environment. * Great perks & pay.

    Cons

    * Maturity can be lacking in process and individual behavior sometimes. * Work/life balance can be pretty bad if you're not structured about it. While the company does a great job of not requiring you to be plugged in at all times, it doesn't do much to dissuade the social example of people posting work updates on Slack at 11pm.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Freelancer

    Lots of opportunities

    Apr 28, 2021 - Producer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities available in various departments.

    Cons

    Managers don't always help you grow.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company that's evolving. May not be for everyone.

    Nov 6, 2020 - Senior Producer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Tons of talented people surrounding you Most of the people you work with are gamers, and they care about doing the best thing for players Most positions are well paid compared to comparable companies Campus is a huge win (though not one you can take advantage of during COVID)

    Cons

    Over the years, I've seen a number of changes that have resulted in - Lower autonomy for teams, and people, to do what they think is right for audiences - Executive power struggles to determine who makes decisions across a spectrum of areas - More and more marketing focus on decision making; there's a greater push to ensure the market will take your idea which tends to shut down more innovative explorations. - Open feedback culture is slowly being pushed aside in favor of less transparent feedback via managers. Both of these might be more standard in large organizations, but it's resulted in a notable drop of entrepreneurial spirit across the company. Many of the people I see join now are being hired to come in and do a specific job instead of being hired to level us up. Some things that could be cons depending on what you look for in an org (and have historically been true) - Riot is focused on executing in game spaces better than others, not necessarily innovating in games. -Its very easy to get type-cast in a specific role, making transitions hard. See a great job opportunity on another team that you think you could do? Well the first question will be, "have you ever done this role?" If not...Riot doesn't like to give chances. - Finance department is incredibly painful to work with. Have an opportunity you want to jump on...well too bad because it's going to take months to get money to make it happen, even if you have the authority and approved budget.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Fun Company, But Not A Place For A Career

    Sep 5, 2019 - Content Producer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Campus, free meals, coffee bar

    Cons

    Very long hours, boys club environment, ridiculous "red badge vs blue badge" hierarchy.

    Continue reading
    23 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great for Everyone

    Dec 1, 2019 - Producer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It has some of the best facilities and opportunities. Well rounded workplace and benefits.

    Cons

    Not able to appreciate hard work. Not for everyone.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Amazing Place to Work!

    Oct 28, 2014 - Producer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Player Focused: Every decision and detail at Riot is made from the perspective of the player. Everyone at Riot is a huge gamer and loves core games which I love. - Houses the best talent in the games industry: So fortunate to be surrounded by peers from every discipline that are best in class. I'm constantly learning from everyone around me. - Constantly getting better: Everyone here wants to constantly improve - we know we could always be better at what we do so pushing ourselves and stretching for difficult to achieve goals makes this a motivating place to work. - Great long term career: Many of my peers have been at Riot for 5+ years and I feel like we're still just beginning and have a long way to go. We're only one game in and it's already awesome.

    Cons

    - Company is scaling quickly: Not necessarily a con, but you'll need to be adaptable and interested in learning and growing to be successful at Riot. Growing from 60 people to 1500 comes with a lot of challenges, so understanding your own strengths and weaknesses, and having career goals goes a long way to adapting to the company as it matures.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A company devoted to learning...

    Jan 3, 2017 - Graphics Producer in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    One of the things I marvel at with the company is how devoted it is to allow it's talent to learn. From the minute you join the company, their culture wholly embraces a growth mindset. Rather than thinking that something can't be done because it's never been done before, they encourage you to just try and see what happens. They're not afraid to significantly challenge you and let you fail (and often times fail hard) because they believe it's in those moments you learn the most. This is especially true of the e-sports department. As a result, you grow, you learn, and you become better then where you were before. It's no surprise to me why a company is so successful having only made one game.

    Cons

    My only wish is that they're on-ramp program (DeNewb) for contractors is extensive as it is for full-timers. I believe the values they instill in the on-ramp program for full-timers is extremely valuable and can better set contractors on the right foot to contribute even more to the company.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A great place to work if you don't look too deeply into the future

    May 10, 2014 - Associate Producer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Riot Games is a place you can really grow both personally and professionally, taking on more complex responsibilities and owning whatever you can. People working here really do love their work and try their best to do what is best for the players in the long term, even when we don't succeed. Most managers do a great job of doing the small things right, from arranging celebratory dinners, to recognizing key contributors, to little things that acknowledge when you do a good job.

    Cons

    The truth is that your experiences at Riot will depend heavily on your manager, your team, and your discipline. Some teams are awesome with high levels of cohesion, while others don't have accountability or great work environments. It is really hard to call out any particular team or discipline as there are people in all disciplines who work selflessly, but the people who normally get ahead are those that are friends with senior management or who are directly hired into positions they aren't any more qualified for than people currently in the organization. It's a sad fact that people doing similar jobs in different parts of the organization get paid different amounts and many of the people brought in over the past year are paid more than the rest of us and aren't bringing any more value.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Company!

    Mar 5, 2016 - Senior Producer in Brentwood, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great creative, collaborative and positive atmosphere. They are the opposite of "corporate," in a very good way. I was amazed by the abundance of highly intelligent, fun, out of the box thinkers. There's definitely a high regard for their employees and the work/life balance. My contract assignment was about 8 months, but during that time I saw that they really take care of their people.

    Cons

    Like I said in the "Pros" section, I was there on an eight month assignment and honestly, I can't think of any cons. Oh, the parking situation, but that's it.

    11 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Associate Producer

    Dec 17, 2014 - Associate Producer in Rockville, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Caring and Thoughtful Company Culture - always finding new ways to make you feel like a part of a great team I am given autonomy and am allowed to take responsibility to make a real difference at this place. There are so many opportunities but you need to know how to take them. What I was hired for is not what I am doing today and that was my choice - I saw a gap and I filled it

    Cons

    Lack of mentorship. I'm able to grow but I have to do it on my own. Poop and swoop feedback is a real problem here and it's not just from the upper management.

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

Popular Careers with Riot Games Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Riot Games? Share Your Experiences

or