KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Riot Games

Is this your company?

Riot Games

Add a Review

Riot Games Production Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 771 reviews

1.9
31%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Riot Games CEO Nicolo  Laurent (no image)
Nicolo Laurent
2 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Riot Games and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Amazing environment and people

    Jan 23, 2021 - Production Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing staff to work with. Perks were good and pay was good

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Contracted for 1 year

    Jun 1, 2021 - Associate Production Artist in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Free food -free coffee -Relaxed work environment

    Cons

    -Female Boss was passive aggressive and manipulative

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    contractors are not treated fairly

    Mar 12, 2021 - Production 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible working schedule Laissez-faire management style Good compensation

    Cons

    1. Too many immature, single-minded, arrogant yet ambitious people managers without proper training and lack of managerial experience from a mature organization 2. Contractors are the second-class citizens. Lack of inclusiveness and access to the company resources and communications to do their job effectively. 3. Unfair recruiting process. 4. It's not a safe place to voice differences. They will retaliate.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Tons to learn, great high-achieving atmosphere. But also forces people out regularly.

    Oct 8, 2020 - Production 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to work alongside some of the smartest and most passionate people in the industry. Lots of real talent here, and lots to learn. Lots of high-achievers.

    Cons

    Constantly have to prove yourself. Contentious atmosphere. Used to be considered not good enough if you didn't play the right kind of hardcore games, but supposedly that has since changed.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Your Quality of Life Depends on Your Team

    Nov 20, 2019 - Production in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the smartest people I've ever worked with. It's nice you can just leave for the doctor or for a date whenever you want without needing to ask anyone. And best of all free food everywhere. Kombucha on tap!! Beer!! If you're on a good team, it's the best company in the world. When it's fun it's really really fun. Great parties.

    Cons

    Some of the most entitled people I've ever worked with and lots of people waste time playing games, but miss their deadlines. Terrible management in some teams, poor learning and development so those bosses never level up. Very low pay compared to the cost of living in Santa Monica. If you have college debt you're gonna be paycheck to paycheck. Everything depends on your team. God help you if you're stuck with one of the bad managers, you're career will be stonewalled forever. We reorg so often that I've known people who have had more managers than years they've been working here. We talk about accountability but few people are truly held accountable for anything from sexual harassment claims to product failures. Politics and backstabbing is getting depressingly high and people are leaving because managers let other people take credit for their direct report's work.

    Continue reading
    18 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Blue badge employees shouldn't get too comfortable

    Jul 19, 2019 - Production Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Campus is gorgeous and the facilities are top-notch.

    Cons

    The communication is severely lacking.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Greatest place on earth to work

    Apr 9, 2017 - Production in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am only a freelance camera operator currently serving Riot as Utility or P.A. as they need. Each day I get a call to work here makes me literally jump for joy. They really do take care of their own here. Culture, people, food, smiles, atmosphere.... It all rocks. My wish is to some day, done how be pulled in full time and grow with this fantastic company. Probably not possible in my position but I can still dream! :)

    Cons

    As with any company the will always be politics. Just show up with a smile, keep a great attitude, do your absolute best, and always strive to sorry your team. I come from fighting in the trenches over seas. If you die up and you strive to sorry your brothers and sisters, watch their backs, and do a great job... The cream always rises to the top.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Feels Like College

    Nov 15, 2016 - Production Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Riot has the physical space of a college campus full of friendly, talented nerds who adore games, film, TV, and other art. There is ample opportunity to work on projects you feel passionate about while managing your own time. The structure is very flat with open floor plans and almost no offices. On campus perks and benefits are top notch, and it's a place for those who are willing to pick their projects (classes), team members (partners), and work (major).

    Cons

    Akin to attending college, Riot can feel very, very ambiguous. It's really up to you to meet with the right people to learn what you lack. Everyone is eager to help, so that isn't a problem, but it's a space for those who are self-driven rather than being told what to do. Guidance may feel lacking, but if you ask, someone will jump to help.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    As Balance dictates...or doesn't.

    Aug 15, 2013 - Production Assistant in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    (+) Good pay. In my line of work, Riot paid above average compared to some of the other companies I've worked at. Also, as long as I notified them of work going into OT, it wasn't a big problem and for a single person like me, I didn't mind grinding a few extra hours for a time and a half. (+) Perks and benefits. Riot was the first job where I had full time benefits (I'm relatively young for my industry) and they were pretty good. Not only that, but there were a lot of perks that were given to employees to boost morale: A giant salad bar every week, a kitchen stocked with snacks and breakfast food, free stuff all the time (cookies, yoga mats, a stipend for video games, etc.). We even had a townhall every other Friday where we drank beer and watched presentations about new stuff for League and checked in on all areas of the company. Beer selection was good, too. (+) Enthusiastic employees. Pretty much everybody I worked with or knew in the company was excited to be there. Hell, I was too. Most people have a familiarity with the game and you can tell that they genuinely enjoy working at the company. (+) Office Equipment. I liked the computers and equipment I got to work with. Anything I needed for a particular project, I could send a request to IT and get it relatively soon. I had the best tech for my job and I was happy with it. (+) CEOs. Marc and Brandon, in my personal experiences with them, were very personable and down to earth. Even with the company growing exponentially, they knew what I was working on and seemed to take a genuine interest in my success. I never felt any of it was contrived. Although I can't say I worked with them directly on a lot of things (just small projects here and there), so my opinion is for the most part personal and not professional. (+) Interesting work projects. I mean, working at a video game company. It was really, really cool. I was doing something my friends were envious of and I actually liked what I was working on. Not a lot of people can genuinely say that.

    Cons

    (-) Office Location. At first, I thought it wouldn't be a big problem. But, as I got bogged down in work and the hours got longer, I was getting home at 8:30 PM on AVERAGE, which even for a young person like myself, was too much. You pretty much want to live in the general area of Santa Monica where Riot is if you want to have a more reasonable work/life balance. Coming from the east side of LA, it was just insane and the commute just took the wind out of me. Now, you might say, "Well, that's on you, not Riot" and you'd be absolutely correct. However, the company's location pretty much provides two options for an employee: 1.) You live close to the LAX office, which is extremely costly in terms of housing and some of the cheaper areas in the vicinity of Santa Monica might not be places where you'd like to live, especially with a family. 2.) Deal with a crummy commute to/from work living further out. Just be prepared for an hour plus commute if you're anywhere above or below the 405 or past downtown on the I-10. The 10 in the morning is just ridiculous. (-) Work/Life Balance. This started out okay, but as my department got busier and busier and made additional hires for an increasing number of projects, it slowly got a little out of control. As I said before, Riot has a lot of great/talented people and I enjoyed working with them, but I enjoy a life outside of work as well. They had a number of groups and company field trips which were fun, but I don't want to live at my work. It got to the point where a lot of my friends outside of work were concerned about the amount of time I was spending at work and it didn't slow down the entire time I was there. Sure, I got OT and plenty of it, but sometimes you need a rest, and having to work twelve days in a row is a bit much. By the end of it, I was just burnt out and I didn't want to see the office at all. (-) Narcissism/Lack of Hubris. Another poster already mentioned the embarrassing St. Patrick's Day event of 2012, but I agree wholeheartedly with him about it. The company trip to Vegas was outlandish as well. I remember walking through the penthouse of the Palms Hotel watching everybody go wild like it was college. It just seemed to reinforce this false sense of invincibility some in the company seemed to have due to the meteoric rise of League. I was wondering how Riot wasn't just hemorraging money left and right with all the things they were doing for employees, professional players, business ventures, etc. All the lavish expenditures by Riot reminded me of the 30 for 30 documentary on ESPN, "Broke", where professional athletes detailed how they spent/wasted their fortunes and advised viewers how this "invincibility" you feel won't last once the money stops coming in. Hopefully for them, they realize it sooner than later. (-) Confusing management hierarchy. I come from an industry where I might have multiple bosses, but I work with a relatively small number of people that report to one or two supervisors. Riot had a more corporate structure, which was to be expected, but I felt so much of what I did was being reviewed or questioned by those who had nothing to do with my department. So much unnecessary bureaucracy. No, Financal executive, I don't really care for your opinion on my work, as you lack the expertise to give me an informed opinion. Also, their opinions shouldn't factor in my performance reviews for the same reasons and yet they did because of this nonsense. I know Riot was hiring at a massive rate in 2012, but don't give employees authority that interferes with my work simply for the reason that they need something to do. That's ridiculous and inefficient. So many times I would read an e-mail giving an opinion where I just think, "Who is this person and why should I care what they have to say?" (-) Issues with the game. While Riot has hired the best and brightest, there's so many problems the game still has even after 3+ years of its release. Still no replay system on the live client, still having major problems with server downtime, releasing champions that just absurdly better than older champions, forcing the player into "buying power" because they simply cannot grind the IP to compete with people who can. Unacceptable for a game that wants to be the banner game of E-Sports. The thing is, Riot is on top right now and popular. But, without a sense of direction for the game (to make it have more replay value and not get stale) and a reckless spending of money, it will go downhill very fast unless they change course.

    Continue reading
    23 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Hard work, but super rewarding

    Sep 10, 2013 - Video Production Intern in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work hard play hard, great pay, fantastic coworkers who think even harder than I do, fantastic mentorships, great equipment to work with, and the coffee inside the Colorado center is top notch.

    Cons

    Food in the area is kind of pricey, work can be overwhelming at times, some may find the environment too intense to strive in.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Popular Careers with Riot Games Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Riot Games? Share Your Experiences

or