KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Riot Games

Is this your company?

Riot Games

Add a Review

Riot Games Recruiter Reviews

Updated Mar 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 771 reviews

4.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Riot Games CEO Nicolo  Laurent (no image)
Nicolo Laurent
0 Rating

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Riot Games and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Living the Dream

    Aug 7, 2015 - Recruiting Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Riot lives up to the Manifesto on its website. 1. Player experience first 2. Challenge convention 3. Focus on talent and team 4. Take play seriously 5. Stay hungry, stay humble The evidence of these pillar are seen in the people that work at Riot. It's truly a place that fosters growth.

    Cons

    Because of the desire to produce top-quality results, processes can be slowed to less-than-efficient speeds. This can be frustrating for those used to a faster workflow.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Rioters are the most passionate people you'll ever meet

    Mar 29, 2021 - Recruiter in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart, passionate people. Open approach to inter-disciplinary collaboration. Open feedback culture takes getting used to, but overall I've seen a lot of professional growth come from it.

    Cons

    Employer brand issues are hard to ignore, but Riot is also taking meaningful measures toward change and inclusivity.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Contractor

    Great Place to Work

    Feb 3, 2021 - Recruiting Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positive Team health, fun campus, and great perks

    Cons

    nothing to say right now

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    High Opportunity and Potential for Growth, but Lacking A Roadmap

    May 17, 2016 - Recruiter in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive pay for not only the game industry, but also the tech industry. In my opinion the perks of being a Rioter (gym subsidy, game fund, benefits, open PTO, etc) fill any compensation gaps because the company takes care of Rioters and seeks to ensure a productive environment that also caters to creativity, collaboration and cultivation of Rioter growth potential. Come to the table with ideas, passion for your craft and a fierce appetite for learning and you'll go far. Drive to do more is as important as having a base skill-set and passion for games.

    Cons

    Fostering growth is a priority at Riot as well as delivering value to players. Some disciplines lack a roadmap to guide development and cultivate craft. You're expected to map out your goals and create your own roadmap without proper mentorship from peers with a similar trajectory. While autonomy offers a ton of flexibility, the ambiguity around how to navigate your own growth can be daunting, especially for those more junior in their careers. On the flip side, I've seen Riot mature a great deal in the last few years as an organization and I'm seeing a focus on leveling up this aspect of our culture that still keeps us true to Riot values while ensuring we take a more structured approach to Rioter growth.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Workplace, Great Work, Great People

    Jun 17, 2013 - Recruiting in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    One of the best things about Riot is it doesn't change it's business model based on what would make money. Though it's an internationally facing company, they make what they make for the players, and don't grind out crap work for profit. Everyone here is immensely passionate about what they do, and if you aren't learning something every day, you must be in the wrong office. The company takes ridiculously good care of us, and tries every step of the way to make sure we're engaged culturally, intellectually and socially with the industry and each other. It's by far the best place I've ever worked.

    Cons

    Work/life is a little based on making friends at work, and late nights are a usual thing (though not encouraged.) I don't have a family myself, but can see it being tough for people with wives/husbands that aren't Rioters or with kids. Sometimes getting information you need for benefits, etc is difficult to get ahold of, also, but I think they're working on this.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Meeting my (very high) Expectations

    May 25, 2018 - Recruiting Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Open feedback culture has helped me grow tremendously. I love working with an organization that allows me to be transparent and open about my growth and development. I receive feedback in real time, and while that is jarring at first, I am so thankful and have grown so much. - Beautiful campus with excellent on-campus benefits (coffee bar, three meals a day at a fully-subsidized cafe, plenty of outside and community spaces to change the pace of day-to-day work - Talented people - this is echoed in a lot of reviews, but it's true. Everyone that works here is brilliant in their own right. Not only that, but everyone is kind, and goes out of their way to be kind. - Compensation - I can't speak for everyone, but my comp far exceeded my expectations upon being hired - Casual dress code (as long as you're covering what's required by law, you're good!) - Work-life balance - I actually have a great work-life balance, but I realize that can vary from team to team

    Cons

    - Growing pains - Riot has grown a lot in the past five years, and so there is some ambiguity around organization-wide priorities and expectations. As such, ambiguity is everywhere , all the time. Every company says they look for people that thrive in ambiguity, but Riot takes that to a whole new level. Essentially, if you're interviewing here, don't say you can handle ambiguity if it actually makes you uncomfortable, because you will be expected to face ambiguity every single day. - Confusion about career growth / pathing across disciplines, which is strange considering Riot boasts a focus on talent and team. People who have been here for a long time and have traversed multiple roles have had to do so with a sort of vagabond, pave your own way mentality.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The best company I have ever worked for.

    Jul 27, 2014 - Recruiter in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Riot is the best company I have ever worked for. The culture is really special and unique and it is this which makes working at Riot so great. Everyone is passionate and driven to achieve; we’re committed to delivering a fantastic player experience and we’re always looking to improve. The work environment is friendly and chilled out but at the same time you are expected to deliver. There’s no one is clock watching, you own your time and there’s always food in the kitchen so you never go hungry. You’re given a great deal of autonomy and expected to own and run with initiatives. You are likely to work hard but you will also play lots of LoL throughout the week. It’s refreshing to work with like minded people who come to work to impact the player experience. The company genuinely cares, Riot’s fully vested not only my career but my life. This refreshing and unique culture has helped my wife and I to feel settled in Sydney.

    Cons

    Everything is pretty amazing at Riot. Sure, we don’t have everything right; I believe we can do more in regards to challenging convention and supporting local Rioter growth in the Sydney Office. That said, we're eager to learn and improve and it is exciting to be on this upward learning curve together where we are trying to continuously improve so that we can enhance the LoL player experience.

    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Strong on Relations, Light on Processes - You have to own your career!

    Jan 9, 2018 - Recruiter in São Paulo, São Paulo, São Paulo
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working at Riot Games São Paulo Office for more than one year as a Rioter (it is a fact that I used to be a contractor for more than 2 and a half years for Recruiting). I was inspired by a review from another Rioters and I share his opinion so I will start with his statement: "I'm not sure how to break this down into a simple list of pros and cons. Everything about Riot is dual-edged and requires consistent grounding to maintain realistic perspectives. If I could summarize, Rioters are given great power. "And with great power comes great responsibility.""" - Flexible work hours ("We are worried if you are and can deliver, not in how are you going to do it"); - You are expected to be the best at what you do, that raises the bar for you and the team; - Great office structure and localization; - Very nice perks and swags; - Awesome special events (massage, afternoon coffee break, team outings for team building, Riot Rumble!); - Play LOL during the day; - Horizontal Structure, from an intern to the CEO, everyone have access to everyone, the is no politics in therms of with whom I can relate and talk; - Open feedback (from Global Surveys to special classes that help us consolidate and grow a true open/actionable feedback culture)!

    Cons

    Please do not see these all as negative points of the experience but maybe some that are challenging for people that work here. - Misuse of the Riot's Manifesto, sometime you can engage with people that use the Manifesto in a wrong way, either prioritizing their opinion above the players needs or stating something as an unbreakable truth. - Bro-culture, I believe there is still this bad legacy from a subject (games) that in the past we had a majority of man as main audience and public. IMO this had changed and we need to eliminate behaviors that are complacent to a Bro-culture. - Work-pace, I sometimes struggle with the pace on making decisions and "making the well spin". I think this is regarding a fear of risk taking or complacency...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Riot Games Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Riot Games? Share Your Experiences

or