Riot Games Employee Reviews about "gamers"

Updated Nov 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
78%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Riot Games CEO Nicolo  Laurent (no image)
Nicolo Laurent
124 Ratings
Pros
  • "Most of the people you work with are gamers, and they care about doing the best thing for players(in 81 reviews)

  • "Cares about Rioters: Riot has fantastic perks because they want to keep the talent (that's us) happy(in 69 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "work life balance depends on the which team you are in(in 66 reviews)

  • "I am so glad that I met with other Rioters and asked honest questions to receive honest answers(in 62 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Riot Games and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "gamers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company with performance anxiety

      Dec 10, 2019 - Product Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dedicated people Actual gamers Does everything for the player

      Cons

      Doesn't always do everything for employees Has a hard time getting code out to players Tends to over-value pedigree from ivy league and mbas

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company that's evolving. May not be for everyone.

      Nov 6, 2020 - Senior Producer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tons of talented people surrounding you Most of the people you work with are gamers, and they care about doing the best thing for players Most positions are well paid compared to comparable companies Campus is a huge win (though not one you can take advantage of during COVID)

      Cons

      Over the years, I've seen a number of changes that have resulted in - Lower autonomy for teams, and people, to do what they think is right for audiences - Executive power struggles to determine who makes decisions across a spectrum of areas - More and more marketing focus on decision making; there's a greater push to ensure the market will take your idea which tends to shut down more innovative explorations. - Open feedback culture is slowly being pushed aside in favor of less transparent feedback via managers. Both of these might be more standard in large organizations, but it's resulted in a notable drop of entrepreneurial spirit across the company. Many of the people I see join now are being hired to come in and do a specific job instead of being hired to level us up. Some things that could be cons depending on what you look for in an org (and have historically been true) - Riot is focused on executing in game spaces better than others, not necessarily innovating in games. -Its very easy to get type-cast in a specific role, making transitions hard. See a great job opportunity on another team that you think you could do? Well the first question will be, "have you ever done this role?" If not...Riot doesn't like to give chances. - Finance department is incredibly painful to work with. Have an opportunity you want to jump on...well too bad because it's going to take months to get money to make it happen, even if you have the authority and approved budget.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Beyond toxic - makes Uber look like child's play - stay away at all costs

      Jan 24, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Colleagues who really really care about what they're doing - The best campus and amenities you're going to see in LA - Being surrounded by other gamers/people of similar ages and hobbies - Cool products - a ton of R&D

      Cons

      - toxic, extremely harmful culture for women/nbs, poc and those who don't play the game with the ol' boys club - lawsuits galore - sexual harassment left and right, especially from executives and skip levels - work/life balance is non-existent, and the great amenities help keep you there. (Lots of divorces happen because of this place.) - don't expect a title that reflects your actual skillset unless you're sleeping with someone, or are a man who knows how to trade on social currency. Riot likes to hire people who are overqualified and make them battle to the death for promotions

      Continue reading
      36 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      good place for gamer

      Oct 16, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good gamer culture, work life balance, campus is very nice

      Cons

      leadership lack vision. not easy to get promoted

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work, Current Undergoing Significant Transformations/Growing Pains

      Oct 19, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Total Ownership - Individuals and teams are empowered to chart their own course. Whether it's the hours you work, the side projects you want to pursue, or the direction of your discipline or product group, there is very little red tape or bureaucracy to hamstring you (but you DO need to have strong communication skills to make an argument for it, and/or bring data to back it up) - Work With Smart, Talented People - Riot has a very high hiring bar (from both a craft and a culture perspective), and it shows. You'll work with some of the most talented and passionate people you've ever met here, and you'll likely be inspired to grow as a professional and as a person - Beautiful Campus, Great Benefits - All the material aspects of working at Riot (comp, location, benefits, facilities) are all pretty much best-in-class. Large open campus, subsidized (and unlimited) food that doesn't suck, unlimited PTO, annual allowance to spend on games, generous relocation assistance, can request any hardware/software you need to help you do your job, etc... - Gamer Culture - If you're passionate about gaming/nerd culture, enjoy playing games at work, and want to use games as a way to build personal and professional relationships, Riot is [currently] a place where you're going to flourish

      Cons

      Elitist vibe/standards can make getting a job (and building a team) here unnecessarily difficult, and can lead to people experiencing a persistent "outsider syndrome" (e.g. assuming they're the least smart/talented person in the room, and worrying about their future employment). Giving individuals ultimate responsibility (without rigid rules to guide + protect them) has downsides if you're not confident enough to fight for everything you want. For example, there's no real guide to when you can use your "unlimited" PTO, and asking leads to a sort of cryptic "I don't know, do YOU think you should go on PTO?" attitude from management. That can be pretty anxiety-inducing if you're a newer employee and don't know exactly where you stand (the same is true of work/life balance more generally). Recent negative publicity has highlighted [cultural] growing pains that the company has historically been slow to lean into as it's transitioned into a much larger/multi-game studio. They essentially need to tame the "Wild West" of their early startup days, and put stronger rules and processes in place that protect the small number of individuals who might be unintentional "victims" of that small town culture, and that punish the small number of individuals that exploit it. That's all well and good, and the vast majority of folks seem to be in support of these changes. Unfortunately, there are pockets of resistance (leaders and old guard who don't want to let go of their "kingdoms"), and pockets of activists (who are using this as an excuse to start a witch hunt/power-grab and transform the culture of the company entirely from one that is united by a love of games into one that is divided by resentful identity politics). The outlook remains hopeful though, as senior leadership has remained largely transparent, mature, and clear-headed throughout the changes.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I Hope I Never Leave

      Aug 11, 2012 - Artistic Content Developer in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Incredibly driven and talented co-workers. Some of the best people I've ever met. Gamers through and through. Very fun. - Fantastic product. Great game, incredibly fun, great business model, quickly becoming a world phenomenon. I play it daily. - More successful every day. Great pay, good (and improving) benefits, exciting new challenges. - Playful work atmosphere, great extracurricular activities and clubs, active social scene, a gamer's paradise. I nerd out about stuff going on at Riot every day.

      Cons

      - Long hours, often high-stress. There is a lot going on, and there is a collective feeling of "should," not "must" regarding overtime. Lots of people volunteer to stay late. I've stayed weekends maybe six times in two years. - Though there's a core-value of openness, this isn't always carried forward. Sometimes decisions are handed down rather suddenly, and I've heard the "just trust in management" argument more than once. - In response to a con in another review: they will fire you if you aren't performing. This is a results driven company, and this should be expected. That said, they will absolutely give you fair warning and work with you to see if they can correct the issue. Riot doesn't want needless turn over.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Player Support Manager

      Feb 4, 2014 - Player Support Manager in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Freedom to pursue projects that help players, even if they fall outside the scope of what would be considered your normal day-to-day duties. It's legitimately a company formed by gamers, consisting of gamers, for gamers. This shows through every aspect of Riot culture. If you're a gamer, you'll feel right at home. Benefits are great. Feedback is actually responded to. When we said 10 days of PTO wasn't enough, we got unlimited. When players let us know we're making a decision that isn't player focused, we respond and fix it. We don't always make the right choices initially, but we are quick to apologize and make it right.

      Cons

      If you're not a gamer, you'll probably feel very overwhelmed by most aspects of Riot culture. It's very fast paced, lots of young people, and while outliers do exist they're few and far between. We still struggle with our own growth. We often find parts of our infrastructure that are incapable of scaling with our headcount. This leads to processes and systems being built, then quickly needing to be revised/scrapped for new ones.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing Place to Work!

      Oct 28, 2014 - Producer in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Player Focused: Every decision and detail at Riot is made from the perspective of the player. Everyone at Riot is a huge gamer and loves core games which I love. - Houses the best talent in the games industry: So fortunate to be surrounded by peers from every discipline that are best in class. I'm constantly learning from everyone around me. - Constantly getting better: Everyone here wants to constantly improve - we know we could always be better at what we do so pushing ourselves and stretching for difficult to achieve goals makes this a motivating place to work. - Great long term career: Many of my peers have been at Riot for 5+ years and I feel like we're still just beginning and have a long way to go. We're only one game in and it's already awesome.

      Cons

      - Company is scaling quickly: Not necessarily a con, but you'll need to be adaptable and interested in learning and growing to be successful at Riot. Growing from 60 people to 1500 comes with a lot of challenges, so understanding your own strengths and weaknesses, and having career goals goes a long way to adapting to the company as it matures.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Intern, less than 1 year

      Latin American Publishing Team Intern

      Oct 24, 2014 - Latin American Publishing Team in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Don't be fooled by the playful, laid-back gamer attitude. This is a very smart company. For those who like to be challenged and surrounded by intelligent, passionate people, this place is AWESOME. I often found my conversations to be more intellectually rich than a lot of the classroom discussions I've had during my time at Harvard. This is also a place where independence is valued-- I was not given a specific, detailed task when I arrived but was turned loose to solve a previously identified problem in whatever way I thought best. This sort of trust felt amazing and lead me to do excellent work.

      Cons

      The cons are pretty easy to guess-- when you get a lot of smart people together and tell them to be independent and assert themselves, you get a lot of voices speaking at once. Most employees want to chip in with their opinions, sometimes when it is not useful, and this can come across as pretty arrogant at times. However, if you get people talking everyone usually DOES have real value to contribute-- they have experience you don't in some aspect of any given topic and can help round out the discussion.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Always changing, usually for the better

      May 12, 2015 - Somewhat Senior Management in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * People here live and breath games. As a gamer, this makes work here inherently rewarding. * Direct communication and feedback are usually easier to deal with, and result in higher quality outcomes. * People are really empowered to do their job and work around obstacles and assumptions. * High rate of growth has historically provided a lot of career advancement opportunity for people who work hard, are entrepreneurial, and have strong critical thinking skills * Tons of smart people * Major problems seldom persist for long periods of time. In every year I've been here, the major 'problems' rarely persist to the next year, except for those problems that are side effects of some of the positive things we do (empowered teams, player focus, etc)

      Cons

      * When we have weak managers or leaders on something, working here is rough - until they are replaced or get better. * We sometimes get stretched thin, and have trouble killing efforts that probably should be consolidated. * Things take a long time to do sometimes. A lot of this is related to the scale of the game. Sometimes it's related to a lack of clarity in decision making that results in too much effort to keep everyone on the same page.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 81 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Riot Games Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Riot Games? Share Your Experiences

    or