Ripple "fast paced" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ripple Employee Reviews about "fast paced"

Updated Oct 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
89%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Ripple Chief Executive Officer Brad Garlinghouse
Brad Garlinghouse
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "Experienced leadership team who are focused and transparent on the organisation's progress(in 7 reviews)

  • "Working at Ripple is fast-paced, exciting, and engaging(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fast paced"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A Great Culture Focused on Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ripple full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at Ripple is fast-paced, exciting, and engaging. Ripple is a startup with an audacious goal to enable the Internet of Value, and there is no shortage of work to do. We are led by a fantastic leadership team with. The culture is probably the most important part about the company - all Ripplers believe in the same 5 core values embodied in LEGGO: "Live it, Enjoy it, Get it done, Go for it, Own it". When I joined Ripple, the people team introduced me to the right people at the company and sent me a surprise gift of champagne and some swag in my first week, definitely making me feel special and appreciated. Part of the fun of being a blockchain company is the rapidly evolving market landscape, and being held responsible for your own success (or failure) as a company. The risk/reward profile is highly favorable, as Ripple is leading the way (hint: look up "network effects"). And yes, you can elect to get paid in XRP. There are also snacks in our office micro-kitchens and opportunities to travel around the world to our offices in New York, London, Sydney, India, Singapore and Luxembourg. There are people who are leaders in their field doing the work of their lives sitting right next to you, and it is incredibly rewarding work! Furthermore, Ripple is a company that is constantly in the media, and we are always proud to see positive news (fortunately, there is quite a lot). Internally, the leadership team is incredibly transparent and holds a weekly Q&A for any employees to ask questions. I would highly recommend working here, as all my experiences have been great.

    Show More

    Cons

    I see nearly all aspects of working at Ripple as a pro. With so many opportunities to learn and develop your career, it's hard to see any downside to working here.

    Ripple2018-09-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Recruiting Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ripple full-time

    Pros

    - Great Benefits - Positive Team Environment - A lot of opportunity growth - Fantastic Management - Fast Paced Enviroment - This company is going to do big things and change the world - The nicest and smartest people you could work with

    Cons

    - Somewhat of a quite office

    Ripple2017-12-05
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Very special company in a very special industry. Incredible momentum and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ripple full-time

    Pros

    Like another reviewer, I've been at some other top Silicon Valley companies and totally wowed by the talent and passion and Ripple. People are some of the smartest and most respected on the planet, particularly on the Eng side. I'm working on some of the most interesting challenges of my career in one of the hottest areas in tech right now and many of my peers say the same. The market opportunity is huge and Ripple seems to be ahead of any competitor so it's also great to be at a place that is winning. The culture is one of the most collaborative I've been at and very inclusive. As a female early in my career, I find it inspiring to see so many women in leadership positions. While some things still need to be figured out, I feel like the various leaders spend a lot of time updating everyone at the company meetings so I know what's going on. Unlike a lot of early stage startups, the senior leadership team is incredibly experienced. That experience and level of professionalism has reduced the pain points, lack of direction and general frustrations that I've experienced at other startups with young leaders who are learning how to lead or manage for the very first time. I've also enjoyed the various company and team outings and I've made a lot of good friends here! As other people have said, Ripple is a great place to be if you want to be the best at your game and work with world-class talent. Managers are very understanding about time off and personal commitments, but people are also super motivated about Ripple's mission and want to continue the amazing momentum so expectations are high to deliver great work product. Generally people who aren't motivated to win and can't adapt to the pace and expectations around high quality work product don't last too long.

    Show More

    Cons

    Definitely some growing pains like any startup. Some teams are more execution oriented than others and the rest of the company can feel it when someone isn't pulling their weight. Some teams need people with more experience in their specific role. Feels like the company is growing so quickly that it is outgrowing the skill set of some of the earlier or more junior hires. It's super fast paced and the expectations are high. It''s motivating for me and I'm still able to maintain a decent work-life balance but it may not be a fit for everyone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hire - we need more people! We are at the point where we need more processes as the company grows in more locations. We are scaling too quickly to not have streamlined communication or somewhere to reference on who to contact for various things or to get approvals or decisions made. Continue to focus. The market opportunity is so big and there are so many things we can pursue that I think we need to stay focused or there is risk of burn out. The company outings, the culture committees and various activities are really well done - keep them up!

    Show More
    Ripple2017-04-19
  4. Helpful (3)

    "A great place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ripple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely high caliber environment, you will work with some of the brightest minds across all departments. Our industry is fascinating and you will quickly realize Ripple is onto something extremely impactful for the world. I would say this really unites employees as we all work towards our common goal - Culture is work hard play hard, and we have several clubs and social committees (like Yoga, Wineclub, Cocktail Club, Board Game nights etc) I have made some great friends and colleagues in my time here and will continue to do so.

    Show More

    Cons

    Ripple is like I said a very fast paced environment, you must just stay on your toes! This isnt the place to be if you are looking for a ping pong table and a 11:00AM-4:00PM schedule.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be transparent on Objects/Goals for the company to all employees, we always appreciate knowing exactly what is happening and being up to date on Ripple's progress.

    Ripple2017-03-14
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Fast moving, technology first company with huge potential."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ripple

    Pros

    World class engineers tackling a global problem with brand new technology. It's a fast paced and incredibly exciting place to be. The demanding selection process makes sure only the best get in.

    Cons

    Very few cons. This is enterprise grade payments software, so the code has to work in every scenario. There's a focus on providing software that is robust and never fails. That process can be extremely demanding.

    Ripple2015-08-30
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ripple full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Interesting work * Great people * No bureaucracy - able to get things done quickly * Fast-paced

    Cons

    Very little structure that allows you to get involved in different projects but also makes it unclear who should make certain decisions

    Ripple2014-09-17
  7. "A dream"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ripple full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team is incredibly talented yet the culture is warm and humble. Like any startup, things can get a bit crazy, but the work is exciting/challenging/fulfilling and everyone believes in what they are doing and what the company is trying to achieve. Management is receptive/effective/supportive and employees are allowed to maximize their personal responsibility/autonomy. Everyone works together. Compensation is very fair. Cultures/values are excellent.

    Show More

    Cons

    Fast-paced growth in emerging space means things are changing. As much of the work being done is unprecedented and at the forefront of innovation, much of what is happening is trial by fire. That means that mistakes are inevitably made and short term strategies are constantly being re-assessed and honed. This can be a daunting and sometimes frustrating process. It's not for everyone, but if you can handle the uncertainty, it makes for an exciting ride.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Better communication and organization about granular developments between teams. Generally, management is great.

    Ripple2014-06-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic experience so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ripple full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ripple is one of the great FinTechs to work for, with an actual solution to a problem faced by many financial institutions. The company is growing fast so there are plenty of opportunities for people interested in joining a FinTech startup. Most of the employees come from software companies but there is also a far bit of folks with background in banking and similar. If you are making a switch from a larger company, be prepared to work in fast-paced environment where processes and structure have not yet been fully put in place.

    Show More

    Cons

    Interview process took a little longer than expected from a startup.

    Ripple2018-10-15
Found 8 reviews