Ripple "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ripple Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Mar 20, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
94%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Ripple CEO Brad Garlinghouse
Brad Garlinghouse
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "Experienced leadership team who are focused and transparent on the organisation's progress(in 7 reviews)

  • "Working at Ripple is fast-paced, exciting, and engaging(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Very special company in a very special industry. Incredible momentum and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ripple full-time

    Pros

    Like another reviewer, I've been at some other top Silicon Valley companies and totally wowed by the talent and passion and Ripple. People are some of the smartest and most respected on the planet, particularly on the Eng side. I'm working on some of the most interesting challenges of my career in one of the hottest areas in tech right now and many of my peers say the same. The market opportunity is huge and Ripple seems to be ahead of any competitor so it's also great to be at a place that is winning. The culture is one of the most collaborative I've been at and very inclusive. As a female early in my career, I find it inspiring to see so many women in leadership positions. While some things still need to be figured out, I feel like the various leaders spend a lot of time updating everyone at the company meetings so I know what's going on. Unlike a lot of early stage startups, the senior leadership team is incredibly experienced. That experience and level of professionalism has reduced the pain points, lack of direction and general frustrations that I've experienced at other startups with young leaders who are learning how to lead or manage for the very first time. I've also enjoyed the various company and team outings and I've made a lot of good friends here! As other people have said, Ripple is a great place to be if you want to be the best at your game and work with world-class talent. Managers are very understanding about time off and personal commitments, but people are also super motivated about Ripple's mission and want to continue the amazing momentum so expectations are high to deliver great work product. Generally people who aren't motivated to win and can't adapt to the pace and expectations around high quality work product don't last too long.

    Cons

    Definitely some growing pains like any startup. Some teams are more execution oriented than others and the rest of the company can feel it when someone isn't pulling their weight. Some teams need people with more experience in their specific role. Feels like the company is growing so quickly that it is outgrowing the skill set of some of the earlier or more junior hires. It's super fast paced and the expectations are high. It''s motivating for me and I'm still able to maintain a decent work-life balance but it may not be a fit for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Ripple2017-04-19
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Interesting technology with a need of culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ripple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fast pace - Unlimited PTO - Some snacks and weekly lunches - Some benefits

    Cons

    - Work/Life Balance isn't there for most Full Time Employees - Company culture reflects too closely to financial companies - Hiring only management with no experience - Hierarchy based company - No one wants to take initiative and pass tasks around like hot-potato - Hiring fast but just to fill seats, not for progressive work.

    Continue reading
    Ripple2018-03-09

    Ripple Response

    March 12, 2018HRBP

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and we are sorry to hear you feel your experience could be better. As Ripple scales and grows we are mindful to support a culture that’s accountable, balanced, inclusive and transparent. While it’s true we are hiring quickly, we thoughtfully assess each new candidate to hire the best fit for each team. We are excited to be developing programs and tools that not only support our people managers but all Ripplers. Employee engagement and development is something we are very passionate about and we want to hear from you as we roll out programs. Thank you again for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (15)

    "nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ripple full-time

    Pros

    Good technology and starting to hire the right people, but still not enough. Riding the blockchain hype right now.

    Cons

    Terrible overall culture. Backstabbing, politics and a policy to "fire quickly". Absolutely zero ramp up time for new employees, which makes everything feel rushed. Even the values indirectly hint at working all the time with zero breaks. ZERO WORK LIFE BALANCE HERE.

    Continue reading
    Ripple2018-03-20

    Ripple Response

    March 31, 2018VP People

    Thank you for posting your feedback. As we grow and scale we are mindful to maintain our culture of feedback and transparency. We know how important feedback, which is why we do quarterly check-ins that facilitate constructive conversations around development and career aspirations. If you have additional feedback please feel free to email hr@ripple.com.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (19)

    "Candidate beware... This place is a joke!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ripple

    Pros

    Free snacks, free lunch on Mondays, decent offices, close to BART and Lots of swag. Nothing else positive or worth mentioning.

    Cons

    This place is a joke! Very manual processes, they have no systems in place for automation, You spend more time in Excel doing things manually than using the pathetic systems they have in place! Beware! They lie to you and give promises when you are in the hiring negotiation stages, only to find out after you’ve come onboard that they can’t meet that promise. Too much like big brother, you’re constantly being watched of your comings and goings by management. No work life balance or WFH. They expect you to work long hours and could care less if you have family obligations, doctor appointments, late arrivals due to commuting issues beyond your control (i.e. Bart delay, traffic, etc.). Benefits are poor and outdated with minimal selections.

    Continue reading
    Ripple2018-02-13

    Ripple Response

    February 22, 2018VP People

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It is very important to us that every employee at Ripple has a positive experience. I’m sorry to hear that wasn’t the case for you. As we rapidly grow, we are putting in place new processes and systems to scale our business. And of course, the health and happiness of our team is paramount to our success so team managers are always working to meet employees' needs. We believe it's an exciting time to be part of Ripple as we scale and grow. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you would care to further share your thoughts about your time here. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I wish you success in the future!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (13)

    "New kid on the block"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ripple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, People, New Technologies and office

    Cons

    Senior Management, Work Life balance, Arrogant Management, Drunk by its own hype, Product weakness

    Continue reading
    Ripple2017-10-27
  6. Helpful (22)

    "Worst career move I ever made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ripple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with some great people but that's all I can really say.

    Cons

    It's a sink or swim mentality. Extremely long hours, any lack of work/life balance. Inconsistent management and insensitive leaders. You can only be promoted if you are a frat boy, good luck if you are not a white youngster. HR is aware, they whine about management all day too but they're scared. If you are not with the brotherhood, you can be fired for no reason so it's all command and control. Poor ethics.

    Continue reading
    Ripple2016-03-04
Found 6 reviews