Rising Sun Pictures Reviews | Glassdoor

Rising Sun Pictures Reviews

Updated May 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Who runs this place?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Rising Sun Pictures full-time

    Pros

    For the most part my fellow artists were great to work with. Kind, knowledgeable, patient. Some of the work that individuals create is amazing.

    Cons

    Doing low budget Chinese films that nobody will ever see. The production team are clueless! The management around production is terrible. Lots of politics. If you want to last, you need to make friends in high places, kiss butt and play along with the inane ideas of upper production management. They have lost A LOT of older staff. Very few people stick around at RSP. There is a high burnout rate.

    Advice to Management

    Wake up and do things differently. Get rid of these ego ridden production people and get people who know what they are doing. You have terrible people managing other people - that just causes a ripple down of pain and discontent.

    Rising Sun Pictures2018-09-12
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Sweat shop of note, hierarchical, politics!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compositor in Adelaide
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Rising Sun Pictures for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing pay. Excellent recruitment staff, but still waiting for tax return a year later. Left me high and dry.

    Cons

    Brutal, nasty HOD in 2D & comp. RSP will work you to death, 6 times a week, 15 hours a day. The former head of 2D (now at a nearby studio) especially, was cold, robotic and manipulative. The fact that he had clear favourites didn't help my motivation either. Still waiting for tax return a year later. I had to pay double tax in my country!

    Advice to Management

    Kudos to humane recruiters, but HOD's in 2D and comp made my life at RSP a nightmare that I want to forget forever. If you make your producers and HODs more humane, artists would WANT to push for you. Until then, you can never reach the heights of a studio such as Double Negative, who are dynamic and can adapt to stressful situations very easily.

    Rising Sun Pictures2019-05-29
  3. "Excellent work life balance and salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Production Manager in Coimbatore

      I worked at Rising Sun Pictures full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Excellent work life balance and salary

      Cons

      Too many managers and too many changes

      Rising Sun Pictures2019-03-04
    • "Lovely team, high quality work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Rising Sun Pictures

      Pros

      RSP has a great team of people on the floor. Everybody is friendly and welcoming. Because of it's size you will get more responsibility at RSP than at one of the larger vfx studios.

      Cons

      Stuated in Adelaide, can be too quiet, small for some people's taste.

      Rising Sun Pictures2018-07-22
    • Helpful (2)

      "Supervisors and management are confusing, lack of communication, lots of politics"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Rising Sun Pictures full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - Very stress free environment - Very peaciful atmosphere all around

      Cons

      - Lack of communication between management - Too much comitees and rules for everything which slows things down! - There is a lot of politics involved, people are not judged by their skills but by their friendship with leads and supervisors

      Advice to Management

      If you are traveling half a world, leaving your family and relatives behind you, you need a clear picture of what your boss is looking for. RSP doesn't provide that, they pick people to keep at random, there are no clear rules on who is going to or not going to be extended, there are no underlying concepts on how that works. I can say, that out of all the companies I have worked for, Rising Sun is the worst because of...

      Show More
      Rising Sun Pictures2018-07-08
    • "3D Texture Artist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at Rising Sun Pictures

        Pros

        -Talented artists -Generally stress free environment -Adelaide is lovely and low key--or dull depending on your preferred pace of life. -Management were amazing (see below) -When I worked there, our team felt like a team, and not like a bunch of artists working solo next to each other. Some of the people I worked with I still speak to almost every day, and it has been several years since the contract. -They have...

        Show More

        Cons

        Honestly, my time at RSP was very positive, though I will admit I was only there briefly. At the time it was a smallish shop (and likely still is), but the shows were good and the people talented. I suppose the hardest part is that if there was a shortage of work (something I did not experience myself) there is not much else in Adelaide for high level VFX for feature film. That's more a reality of Adelaide than anything...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Management was great to me. Kind, considerate people who treated me like a human being and not just a hand to make pretty pictures for them. My only advice is to keep that up!

        Rising Sun Pictures2018-04-26
      • "Pretty Bad Work Environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Layout Artist in Adelaide
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Rising Sun Pictures for more than a year

        Pros

        - Pay is decent - Rent is cheap in Adelaide - Adelaide is an amazing place to live - RSP pay 1.5 x more during weekends. (You don't get paid to work after 6pm weeknights, instead additional hours are added as TIOL but you do get provided with dinner.) - HR department are very friendly. - Company is very transparent and keeps employees well informed.

        Cons

        - Production management needs alot of improvement. Most of them lack a friendly personality and constantly bother artists about getting shots done. Making shots a high priority when they are not. - There is no training, documentation or period of training what so ever. You get thrown in the deep end not knowing what to do. - There are no leads in the department. Instead just HODs which causes problems when working...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Read all your exit interviews and do something to improve your company.

        Rising Sun Pictures2018-03-09
      • "RSP overview"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Rising Sun Pictures full-time

        Pros

        Awesome culture and very friendly people, you will make life time friends there. Some really good projects and the future looks very bright.

        Cons

        Schedules and aggressive timeframes meant a lot of projects were made more difficult that they needed to be. Communication between departments could be better. Pay raises were few and far between.

        Advice to Management

        Look after the full time staff. They are the life blood of the company. Better scheduling and pipeline is needed. Things were often way more difficult than they needed to be. Keep up the awesome culture and friendly atmosphere, its what makes the place special.

        Rising Sun Pictures2017-08-05
      • "Great place on the up and up!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Rising Sun Pictures

        Pros

        Great people, projects, and city to live in.

        Cons

        A bit disorganised in production, tiny kitchen space.

        Advice to Management

        Keep going. Build more culture and community.

        Rising Sun Pictures2017-07-17
      • Helpful (1)

        "Nice company to live and grow"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - FX Technical Director in Adelaide
        Recommends

        I worked at Rising Sun Pictures

        Pros

        - I found that with those people very easy to find common ground. - Really nice people in management side especially on the top.

        Cons

        I don't like open space, but there it everywhere. Office is not the best in the technical side.

        Rising Sun Pictures2017-03-03
      Found 16 reviews